The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2012, 10:13 PM
droflim droflim is offline
Registered User
droflim's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 591227
droflim Reputation: 10
Default Force 3 120 GB 5.02 BSOD

so i came here after having a number of problems with my force3. seems the issue is not rare, but i thought i would make a new post because i am using the 5.02 firmware and don't see many posts relating to that version.

the drive is only a week old, came with 5.02 firmware on it.

install windows 7 professional x64. seem to be able to get as far as installing SP1, then after that, BSOD is very frequent.

mobo is asus p5q-e with intel ich10-r sata controller.

i have also tried the mobo's marvell controller and various ports.

have tried intel and ms sata drivers.

have tried various sata cables.

am fairly sure its the drive as other components test out ok.

please help? am very frustrated as i have gone through the post of suggestions for force drives and BSOD but found none of the solutions worked

also, i likely dont have time to test this hypothesis, but the system seemed ok PRE-sp1. (since it takes like an hour to download and install all the updates.. which i was able to do. but now, i will get a BSOD or a freeze after anywhere from 5-30 minutes of use)

cheers
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-19-2012, 10:29 PM
droflim droflim is offline
Registered User
droflim's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 591229
droflim Reputation: 10
Default

i posted this elsewhere too (http://forum.corsair.com/forums/show...228#post591228)

some believe the P45 chipset drivers caused these problems. so im going to try installing the latest intel inf update after a fresh windows install, then proceed with sp1. ill post results here
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-20-2012, 02:33 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 591411
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

If that persists I would try and $30.00 PCI-E controller card I think you will get better performance as well as this chipset was only S-ATA 2
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-29-2012, 12:49 AM
droflim droflim is offline
Registered User
droflim's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 599472
droflim Reputation: 10
Default

well, i zeroed the drive and tried the intel update, no dice. i did also try the marvell as i stated previously which had same problem.

so i had a dell machine kicking around and tried the drive in there. same issue :(

for fun i tried to install linux instead of windows. oddly, linux seems more stable, but on occassion the system will not boot (instead going into a loop of reboots) -- even after a fresh install :/

requested a second RMA...
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-29-2012, 12:54 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 599473
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by droflim View Post
well, i zeroed the drive .
What do you mean you say you "zeroed" the drive? Zeroing a drive is not the same as a secure erase and is terrible for an SSD. If you have not done it, secure erase the drive with Parted Magic.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-29-2012, 06:34 PM
droflim droflim is offline
Registered User
droflim's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 599614
droflim Reputation: 10
Default

yes, i used parted magic to secure erase the drive via internal secure erase command. however note that if you use parted magic to secure erase, it reads:

"Internal: Secure Erase command writes zeroes to entire data area."

ie:
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-29-2012, 06:51 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 599615
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
What do you mean you say you "zeroed" the drive? Zeroing a drive is not the same as a secure erase and is terrible for an SSD.


Quote:
Originally Posted by droflim View Post
yes, i used parted magic to secure erase the drive via internal secure erase command. however note that if you use parted magic to secure erase, it reads:

"Internal: Secure Erase command writes zeroes to entire data area."

ie:
That terminology is incorrect when referring to SSDs. It is correct when referring to a HDD and the secure erase command as it applies to HDDs. "Zeroing" a HDD and secure erasing an SSD are 2 different things.

SSDs internal secure erase command initiates a voltage spike which flushes ALL data from the writable area of the SSD. This means each cell is restored to a completely unwritten state.

Zeroing an SSD the same way you zero a HDD will write 0s to the entire writable area which is not an unwritten state. This will bring your drive performance to a crawl until TRIM, garbage collection, or a secure erase restores it.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bsod, force 3 120gb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.