The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2012, 02:37 PM
hscsd hscsd is offline
Registered User
hscsd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 556166
hscsd Reputation: 10
Default Performance3 64GB BSOD issue

Hello,

I've got some issues with the drive mentioned in the title. It has run just fine untill now(6 months or so). Initially the system would crash if let to idle (garbage collection causing the hang?) and the drive would not be found by the bios afterwards. A full power down however would reset things to as usual.

I cleared up some stuff even though the drive had 15GB of free space. The issues went away due to TRIM maybe? Now scanning the windows/system32 folder with Microsoft Security Essentials will crash the system and make the drive not show up. So the question is can windows cause the drive to not show up after reset or is the drive bad.

All power saving features are disabled (including hdd power down, pcie link state). The drive is connected via Asus u3s6 card.

Here is a YouTube clip of what is happening:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61tyWnxhGMA

Any ideas guys?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-21-2012, 07:16 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,337
POST ID # = 556305
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

-Plug the SSD into the Intel SATA ports on the motherboard. Then try again.

Your motherboard's product page does not specify any Marvell Controllers. Are you using a addon card?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-21-2012, 10:45 AM
hscsd hscsd is offline
Registered User
hscsd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 556326
hscsd Reputation: 10
Default

Yes I am a Asus u3s6 card and yes it has Marvell controller(with latest drivers I could find).
Quote:
The drive is connected via Asus u3s6 card.
Sure I can try that, but why does it behave like this?
Nothing else I do will crash the SSD for now...

There's no new fw I could try?

Last edited by hscsd; 01-21-2012 at 10:53 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-22-2012, 07:55 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,337
POST ID # = 556461
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Marvell Controllers are not good. They don't provide support/driver updates to the public.

-Try turning off Link State Power management.

Control Panel\Hardware and Sound\Power Options\Edit Plan Settings\Change advanced power settings>PCI Express>Link State Power management>Off.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-23-2012, 04:53 AM
hscsd hscsd is offline
Registered User
hscsd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 556599
hscsd Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
All power saving features are disabled (including hdd power down, pcie link state)
It is already disabled!


I have the latest driver from (stock FW though)
http://www.station-drivers.com/page/marvell.htm

There's just no logic in everyone's claims(ohter forums aswell) that this is happening because of a crappy Marvell controller

Last edited by hscsd; 01-23-2012 at 05:14 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:18 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,337
POST ID # = 556665
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Have you tried it on the Intel SATA port?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-26-2012, 09:29 PM
hscsd hscsd is offline
Registered User
hscsd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 557757
hscsd Reputation: 10
Default

Yes I have now tried the native sata ports. Not much help. Running the virus scanner from different installation of windows 7 (another drive) the machine won't BSOD but the process hangs. The drive won't disappear though!

Why does BSOD turn off the drive? Is Windows instructing it to do that?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-29-2012, 06:02 AM
hscsd hscsd is offline
Registered User
hscsd's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 558244
hscsd Reputation: 10
Default

Do you think the fact that I cannot leave the computer running overnight is basis for RMA ?
BSOD doesn't occur at fixed intervals. So most mornings the system is reporting disk boot failure and on a good day everything is just fine.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-29-2012, 11:34 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,337
POST ID # = 558386
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

-Have you tried secure erasing the SSD and reinstalling Windows?

If yes, And it still does the same thing, Submit an RMA

Last edited by Toasted; 01-29-2012 at 11:37 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bsod, performance3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.