The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2011, 10:24 AM
TheAbbot TheAbbot is offline
Registered User
TheAbbot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 544605
TheAbbot Reputation: 10
Sad Memory errors: fault or incompatibility?

According to the Corsair compatibility list my MSI P35 Neo2 should work fine with my TWIN2X4096-6400C5. However, I've been having problems which I think I've narrowed down to the memory (which is a replacement I bought a few months ago). The issues are:
  • BSODs in Windows (maybe once or twice a day) of varying natures
  • Occasional non booting (usually after a BSOD) unless left off for a while
  • Memtest86+ hasn't reported any faults, but the actual computer can hang during running
Because the faults are random, it's time consuming pinpointing the problem and I know I need to run one stick at a time to see if just one of them is causing the issue (I'm currently trying different memory to double check my memory diagnosis). But I'm wondering if anyone can suggest whether the memory is likely to be faulty or whether I should try relaxing the timings a bit (I'm using the SPD timings at the moment), even though the SPD 5-5-5-18 should be okay? If so, what should I change?

I should point out that I updated my BIOS - there was apparently a known issue with 4GB memory, but it was addressed in the version I now have.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-01-2011, 02:15 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,272
POST ID # = 544664
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would load setup defaults and set the memory Voltage to 1.9-2.0 Volts and test them with www.memtest.org. If its still not stable then test them one at a time.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-01-2011, 03:17 PM
TheAbbot TheAbbot is offline
Registered User
TheAbbot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 544689
TheAbbot Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for your response, Ram Guy.

By "setup defaults", you mean reset the CMOS settings to factory defaults, I assume? I'll do that and try increasing the voltage as you suggest.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-01-2011, 09:18 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,272
POST ID # = 544772
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes go to BIOS setup and Load setup/optimal defaults then set the settings for Voltage and what not.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-12-2011, 08:05 AM
TheAbbot TheAbbot is offline
Registered User
TheAbbot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 547180
TheAbbot Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Just wanted to say "Thanks!", Ram Guy.

I've been running my machine for about a week now with the memory at 1.9V instead of the rated 1.8V and so far, it seems to have fixed the problem.

I have mixed feelings about having to do this for memory supposedly rated at 1.8V (and my previous 2GB Corsair memory ran fine on this MB at the lower voltage), mainly from a heating point of view (back of an envelope calcs suggest an 11% rise in power use). However, it seems like the best solution. I may try dropping it to 1.85V and see how it goes on that.

For reference (for anyone with similar problems on an MSI Neo2 motherboard), the memory voltage selector in the BIOS is greyed and the help text / manual suggest this is a read-only value. It's not: you can change it with the "+" and "-" keys on the keypad.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:50 AM
TheAbbot TheAbbot is offline
Registered User
TheAbbot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 557102
TheAbbot Reputation: 10
Default

Okay... this hasn't worked.

I've done some more experimentation and determined that it is a fault and it lies within one of the two modules. I've requested an RMA from the place I bought it, but:
  • They want to charge me postage both ways as it's more than 14 days since I bought it
  • They are threatening me with an additional £10 charge if they can't find a fault. As the computer sometimes runs for a week or more between incidents, I'm not confident they'll find the problem
As the product was faulty when I bought it, I don't really think this is fair. If I return the memory back to Corsair directly, what are their policies on postage costs? I'm in the UK, so information relevant to the UK market (if any different from elsewhere) is most appropriate for me. I've looked, but can't find any info on this on their website.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-24-2012, 10:31 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,179
POST ID # = 557111
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

You pay for shipping to Corsair, they pay for shipping back, no extra charges or anything. Note that their EU RMA Depot is in NL.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-27-2012, 02:02 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,272
POST ID # = 557813
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

This chipset was lets say picky with 1333FSB CPU's and if the memory Voltage seemed to help I would add a bit more to it and set it to 2.0 Volts, and or set the NB Voltage +.1 Volts as well.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bsod, ddr2, timings

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.