The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2009, 03:09 PM
dk2463 dk2463 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 396332
dk2463 Reputation: 10
Default hardware needed to install in desktop

So what do I need hardware wise to get this 128gb SSD installed in my desktop HDD bay? Will it fit without modification or do I need a box like I've to put the SSD in?

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-31-2009, 04:30 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,184
POST ID # = 396345
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

http://www.corsair.com/products/ssd/default.aspx

SSD drives are 2.5" in size, so you would need a standard 2.5" to 3.5" converter in order to place it into a 3.5" drive bay.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:32 AM
Exillis Exillis is offline
Exillis
Exillis's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 396883
Exillis Reputation: 10
Important Use ICY-DOCK 2.5" to 3.5" converter

Quote:
Originally Posted by dk2463 View Post
So what do I need hardware wise to get this 128gb SSD installed in my desktop HDD bay? Will it fit without modification or do I need a box like I've to put the SSD in?

thanks in advance
I'm using ICY-DOCK 2.5" to 3.5" converters. You can get these for under $25 at several places online. It takes about 10 seconds to install the Corsair SSD in this product.

Last edited by Exillis; 04-05-2009 at 09:32 AM. Reason: Typo fix
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-05-2009, 06:31 PM
Garvin Garvin is offline
Registered User
Garvin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leominster, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,035
POST ID # = 396911
Garvin Reputation: 10
Default

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=HD-108&cat=HDD
__________________
temp. sig: standard RAM module timings example list, ala
4-4-4-12 =
CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS=
CAS latency - RAS to CAS Delay - RAS Precharge - Active to Precharge Delay(also called Active Precharge delay and RAS Active time)
http://www.memtest.org/
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.