The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2017, 01:26 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 907166
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default Please be aware of how long your PSU mounting screws are!!

At Corsair, we've seen a number of "dead" PSUs returned to us that have been mounted to the chassis using screws that are much longer than what's included with the PSU. This has either caused damage to internal components of the PSU or a short against the heatsink inside the PSU.

We're still investigating which recent chassis are shipping with unusually long screws, including Corsair's own product. In the meantime, we ask that only the screws included with the PSU are used, or, use special attention to make sure the non-Corsair PSU mounting screws you plan to use are not longer than the screws that come with your PSU.

Attached are some pictures of PSUs damaged by longer mounting screws.



Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0612_RMA#20161005(W43)s.jpg (36.1 KB, 6043 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_0664_RMA#20161201(W48)s.jpg (36.3 KB, 5981 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_1069_RMA#20170502(W19)s.jpg (43.3 KB, 5974 views)

Last edited by jonnyguru; 06-08-2017 at 01:34 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-01-2017, 07:16 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 125
POST ID # = 921847
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

I suggest 6-32 3/16" toothed hex is the best choice for a desktop machine generally. These are low cost on ebay in lots of 50 or 100 for a few dollars.

I use them widely as they fit all PSU properly and also also desktop hard disks. DVD drives use the M3 type screws which are a smaller size.

the cheapest screws are philips head and they are common with chassis construction screws

be more careful as the 3/16" are 5mm, some are 6mm which are longer, use the shorter screws
__________________


Hardcore Games - Legenday of the Only Way to Play

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.

Last edited by Vegan; 01-31-2019 at 12:58 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-10-2017, 06:58 AM
cplifj cplifj is offline
Registered User
cplifj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 65
POST ID # = 925895
cplifj Reputation: 10
Default

maybe this is the reason why my case used to feel under electrical tension with my hx650 that got installed with included corsair screws no less...
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-11-2017, 08:26 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 926028
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cplifj View Post
maybe this is the reason why my case used to feel under electrical tension with my hx650 that got installed with included corsair screws no less...
No. That would be an incorrect assumption.

That's either because:

* You have a short somewhere
* Your AC outlet isn't actually grounded
* Your hot and neutral are reversed
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-08-2019, 02:25 AM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 988783
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

After looking over my AX760i that just recently failed i would say some of the screws you are shipping with the PSUs are already too long and i have picture for proof if any one wants them.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-08-2019, 11:19 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 988831
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcobb1994 View Post
After looking over my AX760i that just recently failed i would say some of the screws you are shipping with the PSUs are already too long and i have picture for proof if any one wants them.
Ok. Show us the pictures.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-09-2019, 12:58 AM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 988928
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

I would have posted these last night i just didn't want to upset anyone for filling this topic with pictures.

When i first installed this PSU One screw seemed to not tighten all the way down but i didn't force it cause i didn't want to strip the threads, i thought maybe the hole hadn't been tapped fully. Had no idea that it was touching the circuit board. it ran like this for a more than 5 years.

A week ago i started having issues, it started randomly shutting down till it wouldn't power up anymore. I unplugged all modular cables and tried to use the test button no lights and no fan spin up, i then pulled the unit out and tried to test it outside the case. this time i got a green light for a few seconds then it went out same for the fan, i was still holding the test button when the light and fan would turn back off. I reinstalled the unit and tried the testing again. I noticed it wouldn't give the green light if i had the screws in.

Even though it was giving me the Green led for a few seconds i still could not get the unit to post the system,I even tried the paper clip test.

I looked closely at all the screw holes and noticed that the screw i was having issues with not tightening down was chafing the circuit board.



I checked the depth of the screw hole with a cut toothpick



I then marked the toothpick with a sharp black pen.



I compared the screw to the depth gauge toothpick.



Here is a picture of the screw fully bottomed out



I could almost fit the toothpick between the psu and the head of the screw, the case im using is the Vengance C70 and the sheet metal its made of is less than the thickness of the toothpick.

I have RMA the PSU and it should be arriving at the RMA center on friday, I have included three of the four original screws that came with the AX760i.
I had to use the fourth screw on the temporary CX750M because i dropped one of the screws that came with the new/temp PSU and couldnt find it.

On a side note the CX PSU i purchased, the screws are exactly the same length as the AXi ones.

Last edited by jrcobb1994; 01-09-2019 at 01:15 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-09-2019, 11:08 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 988979
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Those screws are the standard depth. So if your toothpick isn't going into the PSU as deep as that toothpick, the the problem is PCB layout and something obstructing the screw.

I'll open a AX760i and see what's located there by that screw hole.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-09-2019, 02:46 PM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 989010
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

The pcb board is right there, it’s way easier to see in person but that is what I’m touching with the cut end of toothpick in the second picture

Last edited by jrcobb1994; 01-09-2019 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-12-2019, 02:29 PM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 989506
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
Those screws are the standard depth. So if your toothpick isn't going into the PSU as deep as that toothpick, the the problem is PCB layout and something obstructing the screw.

I'll open a AX760i and see what's located there by that screw hole.
Is it possible that once Corsair receives my RMAd PSU that they can look it over and tell me if the screws are the cause?
The Shipment went to <USA RMA Depot> and arrived on friday. I know you dont work for corsair but you seem close nit with them.

Last edited by Technobeard; 01-12-2019 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-12-2019, 03:25 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 989513
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcobb1994 View Post
Is it possible that once Corsair receives my RMAd PSU that they can look it over and tell me if the screws are the cause?
The Shipment went to 675 Sycamore Dr, Milpitas, CA 95035 and arrived on friday. I know you dont work for corsair but you seem close nit with them.
You would have had to ask for a failure analysis prior to shipping the PSU. Otherwise, it just gets processed as per SOP.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-12-2019, 05:09 PM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 989532
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
You would have had to ask for a failure analysis prior to shipping the PSU. Otherwise, it just gets processed as per SOP.
Well i can give you the lot code of my PSU you did say that you might open an AX760i, If the AX760i are based on the same design as the AX860i maybe the small number of failures that people are having are from the screws they are using and how thick the case's PSU mounting plate is.

I will definitely be checking the New PSU they send me before i mount it, and if need be i can cut the screws to avoid this problem
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-11-2019, 11:56 PM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 993794
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

Jonny did you get a chance to open a AX760i yet? I firmly believe this issue effects AX860i PSUs as well. After talking to a tech he said it should have been revised in later batches.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 02-12-2019, 06:50 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 993912
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

I did! So sorry I failed to respond.

You are absolutely correct. There is a row of four x capacitors right inside one of the mounting screw holes. No screw is short enough to not hit this.

Here are some pics I took.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190212_132424.jpg (2.29 MB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 20190212_132358.jpg (1.93 MB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 02-13-2019, 10:20 PM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 994153
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

I received a Refurb AX860i for temporary use till new ax860i's are in.
This ax860i has the same problem. Would you be able to get word from your buddies at corsair on maybe what lot codes would be affected on both the AX760i and AX860i.

here is my post with pictures of the 860i with the damaged substrate.

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=185101
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.