The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2018, 02:03 AM
Joseeeph Joseeeph is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 983704
Joseeeph Reputation: 10
Default Ax1500i ac power plug question

Just wondering if having this plug type is normal as all the photos I’ve seen are of square input on the ax1500i.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg EAC273B6-1A32-4C9A-B477-1E87535D8F48.jpeg (2.48 MB, 71 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-05-2018, 05:24 PM
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 782
POST ID # = 983840
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

Hi there, it would use this plug type for the China region.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-24-2018, 01:38 AM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 986766
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Joseeeph,

Let me explain what you're looking at from an electrician's standpoint.

The connection in your picture is a standard C13/14 power cord connection on the other end of the power cord you will most likely find a Nema 5-15p.
This type of power cord is capable of handling a max amperage of 15 amps†.


The square connection you are talking about from AX1500i pictures on corsair's product page, is a C19/20 style connection. With a C19/20 cord you will find either a Nema 5-15p or a Nema 5-20p plug on the end.
This type of cord is capable of handling a max amperage of 20 amps†.


Now lets look at the AX1500i Psu, if you max it out at ~1500 watts you would be pulling ~12.5 @ 120Volts if your home/business is only getting ~110 volts you will be pulling ~13.5 amps. This is still within the capability of a C13 to Nema 5-15p cord.


So... the connection on your psu is fine you shouldn't have any issues.

On a side note for you to be aware of, at 12 amps and up there is possibility of tripping a 15amp circuit breaker due to heat build up, just something to keep in mind.

best of luck,
Jrcobb

† - the wire size of power cord should be #14 awg for 15 amps and #12awg for 20 amps.
If you live in a country that doesn't use nema style plugs and receptacles you will use a C13 to (your standard) cord most likely 250v which in turn you will have lower amperage
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.