Corsair Community

F120 with Ubuntu 10.10 - getting slow read and write speeds

PeterM

Hi, I'm wondering how to improve performance of the ssd using ubuntu. I have the ssd installed on my laptop, its old so I think its running on SATA1 so I don't expect the ssd to reach its optimal performance.

Im new to using ubuntu so not sure what I can use the benchmark it properly. But From what I found out it has 140Mbs read speed and when transferring large files to a different folder of the drive it was monitoring a write speed of 25Mbs estimated 7mins to transfer a 10Gb file. Ran a test using SMART data and it has 832 bad sectors (don't know if that is a serious problem).

The write speed is what I'm most concerned with. Is it simply an issue with SATA1 or has it got something to do with the way its been configured when installing linux ubuntu? Trim support?

Thanks.

Just from those numbers, I'd say that your hardware is SATA Gen 1 (150Mbps - confirmed when I took a quick look around the internet as well). ATTO Disk Bench is the tool of choice for benchmarking an SSD. Problem is, it's a Windows app. You'll have to either boot into Windows or try running it in WINE.

For setting up/checking TRIM - http://askubuntu.com/questions/18903/how-to-enable-trim

Quick question before I forget: Did you setup/partition the drive in Ubuntu's setup program? If you did, I don't think the drive is properly aligned.

Hi, thanks for the reply.

I used virtualbox to run xp and tried out Atto, that worked but not sure if results are accurate as it was running on an emulator. Atto results were reaching round 140-155mbs read speed and write speed 60-70mbs. Is that the best write speed I can get from an ssd on sata1?

Didn't know I could check for trim, il be looking into that.