The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2019, 06:30 AM
R1DD$ R1DD$ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 993817
R1DD$ Reputation: 10
Default Connecting fans

Morning everyone, im new here so please be gentle

I have the following

x2 ML140 INTAKE FRONT
H115i Platinum RADIATOR
x2 LL140 INTAKE ON BACK OF RADIATOR
x2 LL120 EXHAUST TOP
x1 LL120 EXHAUST BACK

I have the x2 ML140s connected to my H115I Platinum, the rest are connected to my commander pro.

When the x2 ML140s are connected to the fan headers that come on the pump i can only get 900rpm on extreme, when i connect them to the commander pro i can get 1300 on extreme.

As you can see, i have 7 fans but only 6 ports on the commander pro, i have included a picture, can some one please advise me the best way to connect these up, I suppose what im asking is... should i connect the back exhaust fan to the board (cha fan2) and the rest of the fans to the commander pro??

Thank you so much

Attached Images
File Type: jpg image0.jpg (211.7 KB, 35 views)

Last edited by R1DD$; 02-12-2019 at 06:36 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:39 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,143
POST ID # = 993821
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

For the fan connected to the cooler - the fan speed is dependent on the coolant temperature. If your coolant temp is low, they won't spin fast ... so I'm going to guess that your coolant temp is low - under 30C. That's a good thing.

On the Commander Pro, you can use a couple of 2 way splitters. Do not use 3-way splitters (that seems to break the fan header). That way you can control all of the fans on the Commander Pro. And I'd put either the second radiator fans or the top fans on that splitter.

Finally ... on fan speeds, consider the airflow more than the raw speed. You don't have much intake in that configuration and a lot of exhaust. That will lead you into a negative pressure situation - and this can cause dust issues. Instead, use fan speeds to moderate the flow and provide positive pressure. This helps keep dust out of the case.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:45 AM
R1DD$ R1DD$ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 993825
R1DD$ Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you so much mate, i also thought doing push/pull on the front fans would be enough intake, would you suggest i keep the 2 ML140 fans connected to the pump headers or use the splitter with the commander pro?

Can you suggest another way to put all the fans?

Also would this be suffice for the splitter.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Splitter-Co...tter+fan&psc=1
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:50 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,143
POST ID # = 993826
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

I would keep them connected to the pump headers. And for the other fans on the radiator, have them linked to the coolant temperature as well. You'll want a custom fan curve to balance them.

And push/pull won't really increase your intake. It does make the flow through the radiator a little more efficient and they don't have to spin as fast (so quieter) but from an air volume perspective, it doesn't increase the volume.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:53 AM
R1DD$ R1DD$ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 993830
R1DD$ Reputation: 10
Default

So i dont really need a splitter then as i can connect the 5 fans to the commander pro, how would i have the 2 ll140 fans linked to the coolant temp as well mate? use a splitter on the pump headers?

thank you again mate
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-12-2019, 08:32 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,492
POST ID # = 993836
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

On the Commander Pro, go to Performace and then click the + symbol below. That will create a new “cooling mode”. This is your custom curve. Set the points to match your cooler’s curve. At the top of the graph is a sensor drop down menu. Find Coolant temp (H115i Platinum temperature). The last bit is the trick: click on your new cooling mode curve. It will highlight yellow. Then click the two fans on the right you want to run that curve. They will ring yellow. Now the curve is applied. iCUE has to be running for it to take the coolant temp data from the cooler.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.