The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2018, 06:52 PM
DangerClose DangerClose is offline
Registered User
DangerClose's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 935127
DangerClose Reputation: 10
Default Is my HX1000 enough for my RVIE w SLI 1080Ti

I will be building up my system this week:

7900X
Rampage VI Extreme
SLI 1080Ti
NVME 960 evo
32GB Dom Plat 2800 mem

I will not be overclocking, just letting the board ramp as it will automatically (for now).

Will my HX1000 PSU be enough for this? I can't find an AX1200i or 1500i or 1600i in stock anywhere to buy....nowhere online or at any local microcenter.

Once I find an AX1600i in stock I'll replace this thing, but who knows how long that will take? I just don't want to damage anything until then, it could be months.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-18-2018, 12:37 AM
teshreve teshreve is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 35
POST ID # = 936025
teshreve Reputation: 10
Default

If it helps, a 1080 ti card draws about 270-280 watts at factory clocks. This figure includes power delivered via the PCIe slot. Full-tilt-boogie overclocks bring the figure close to 330 watts.
A 1kw PS should be fine, even with some OC action, waka waka
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 01-18-2018, 02:16 AM
jmike jmike is offline
Registered User
jmike's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 936033
jmike Reputation: 10
Default

I'm going to say yes but only just. Here's my former build who's motherboard died back in Oct and I'm currently waiting on 1200w availability so I can put together my Coffee lake build.

i7 4790k@4.6
16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3@2133
Asus Maximus VII Formula
2x EVGA 1080ti FTW3s
2x Samsung 840 Evo 500gb
2x WD Black 4tb
EVGA G3 1000w
Corsair H100i
Corsair Air 540 w/ 6 Corsair HD Fans
EVGA G3 1000w
Various USB Devices(KB/Mouse/Headset/Etc)

On a few newer, hardware intensive games like AC:Origins, Witcher 3, etc I'd see my UPS report 870-900w load. I could synthetic bench it to a hair over 900w. For me I prefer to have a bit more than 100w headroom which is why I'm waiting for Corsair or EVGA to restock retailers with 1200w models.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #4  
Old 01-18-2018, 08:23 AM
teshreve teshreve is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 35
POST ID # = 936061
teshreve Reputation: 10
Default

900w on the AC side @ 90% efficiency (best case) = 810w on the DC side.
So your EVGA G3 was running at 81%

I'd do that all day long vs. spending bucks to get 13.5% less utilization w/ a 1200w PS.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-18-2018, 06:57 PM
DangerClose DangerClose is offline
Registered User
DangerClose's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 936168
DangerClose Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the response guys. I'm using it now and so far everything has been fine, but I do have an AX1600i on order. It should arrive in a few days.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.