Corsair Community

Custom PC Build H115 Cooler fan/Motherboard connection

tm3072

Newbie here. First time attempting to build a PC. Beginning to think I’m in way over my head. I’m comfortable inside a PC case. Replaced hard drives, video cards, memory, network cards etc. Just never built a PC from scratch before. Thought I’d give it a try.

Components:

Corsair Crystal 570 Case

Gigabyte X299 Designaire MB

Intel i7-7820X CPU

Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD

Samsung 969 EVO SSD

Corsair H115i Pro Cooler

EVGA G3 750W power supply

32GB DDR4-3200 Memory

Case comes with 3 fans on the front but I bought the Corsair 115i to keep the CPU cool. One of the issues is that with the radiator and fans mounted to the top of the case (the only available place to put it) it blocks access to some of the power connections at the top of the motherboard. Hopefully I either won’t need access to those or I can hook up the ones I do need and then mount the H115i back in place.

My main issue is that the MB cooling fan header (as it’s called in the manual) is 4 pin whereas the power cable coming out of the Corsair H115i is 3 pin. In that case, can I plug the 3 pin connector into a 4 pin receptacle on the MB and if so, which 3? IOW, which one do I omit?

My main issue is that the MB cooling fan header (as it’s called in the manual) is 4 pin whereas the power cable coming out of the Corsair H115i is 3 pin. In that case, can I plug the 3 pin connector into a 4 pin receptacle on the MB and if so, which 3? IOW, which one do I omit?

Yes, it can be plugged in to a 4-pin header. You should plug it into CPU_FAN. This header is only there to provide a tach signal to the motherboard so you don't have a CPU_FAN warning on boot.

No, you almost inevitably run into plug/VRM/RAM collision issues up top. This almost never works on the 570.

1) send it back and get the H150i for the front intake mount.