The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2018, 05:54 PM
jphelps23 jphelps23 is offline
Registered User
jphelps23's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 957042
jphelps23 Reputation: 10
Default 500d front i/o but no gen 2 header on mobo

Can I use all the front i/o ports including the type c if my mobo doesn't have a gen 2 header? Obviously I'd get the reduced speeds but as long as I can still use the ports it'll be fine until I upgrade my mobo
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-01-2018, 05:56 PM
jphelps23 jphelps23 is offline
Registered User
jphelps23's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 957043
jphelps23 Reputation: 10
Default

Also the specs for my mobo state it has 3.1 type-A + Type-C at the rear so why wouldn't it have the gen 2 header on the board to connect with case front i/os?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-01-2018, 06:09 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 599
POST ID # = 957047
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

If there is an adapter, I think most boards have only one usb 3.0 header, so I would use that for the usb 3.0 type-a. Only newer higher end boards have type-c headers. Type-c isn't used a lot on cases. This will change.
__________________
Open Source Project: Sync Gigabyte MB w/ Corsair iCue
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-01-2018, 06:18 PM
jphelps23 jphelps23 is offline
Registered User
jphelps23's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 957050
jphelps23 Reputation: 10
Default

the header doesn't change regardless if it's type A or C but I figure if I'd be getting slower speeds anyway then maybe I'd rather ditch the 500d and go with a 460x
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-01-2018, 09:25 PM
jphelps23 jphelps23 is offline
Registered User
jphelps23's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 957072
jphelps23 Reputation: 10
Default

the specs sheet for my mobo state i have:
1x 19 pin usb 3.0/2.0 connector support additional 2 usb 3.0/2.0 ports
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-02-2018, 11:13 AM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 599
POST ID # = 957130
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

USB3.1 uses a type-c connector and has a really wierd looking headers.
USB3.0 normally uses a usb type-a connector that is blue and has a 19 pin header
USB2.0 normally uses a usb type-a connector that is black and has a 9 pin header

There are adapters, though you will be limited by the header it is plugged into
__________________
Open Source Project: Sync Gigabyte MB w/ Corsair iCue
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
3.1 gen 2, 500d, front i/o, usb, usb gen 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.