Corsair Community

Feedback

wemdee

I just installed the Link and Lighting Kit with an extra Lighting node. I really like the system now that it is installed. I have to agree with some of the other feedback here about the lack of documentation and general confusion that comes along with the link system.

I am not a novice. I have over 20 years of experience in IT hardware and software. I was able to figure out the install eventually, but Corsair could have saved me a few hours of unnecessary trouble-shooting and research by just including a one page install document.

First issue was with the cables. There is nothing to indicate what is supposed to connect to what. While it is simple enough to separate the cables into groups and compare connectors, a simple diagram showing the cables would have helped. I spent probably an hour trying to "locate the commander" because I had accidentally picked one of the short link cables and couldn't reach the h100. There is nothing to indicate that there is one cable that is longer and it is not that obvious when it is still secured by the twist tie.

Second issue was the firmware. I spent several iterations of installing and removing the software trying to get it to recognize the commander module. At first, I thought maybe it didn't install correctly due to permission issues. Then I thought maybe it was because the USB driver didn't install correctly. Then I thought maybe I should re-seat everything and reinstall. I finally did a system restore and tried everything new again. When that didn't work, I assumed it was a faulty module and submitted an RMA request. Luckily, I decided to give it one more try and discovered that the 2.x software that is on the web site is not compatible with the 1.x/0.x firmware that the units ship with. After going through the whole cycle of uninstall 2.x/ reboot / install 1.x/ upgrade firmware on the commander / uninstall 1.x / reboot / install 2.x, it finally worked and I cancelled the RMA.