The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 29 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2011, 11:33 PM
mothman07 mothman07 is offline
Registered User
mothman07's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 527654
mothman07 Reputation: 10
Default New 400R. Need fan screws for top and side panel fan mounting

Hello,

Just got a 400R and noticed that there is several long fan screws like those that mount the front fans.
I want to mount fans in the top and side panel and would like to get some screws like the ones used to mount the rear exhaust fan.
The long screws are useless for mounting fans in the top or side panels. If there's a request to fill out to get these screws, please direct me. I'd like to get 20 of these.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-15-2011, 02:18 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,350
POST ID # = 527669
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Don't screws come with fans when you buy them?.
I'm not sure but try and call Corsair Support or Submit a RMA asking for screws.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-15-2011, 04:19 AM
mothman07 mothman07 is offline
Registered User
mothman07's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 527684
mothman07 Reputation: 10
Default

No, the screws that Corsair uses are custom to use with the fan mount grommets.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-16-2011, 12:30 AM
Corsair George's Avatar
Corsair George Corsair George is offline
Everything Guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 92
POST ID # = 527895
Corsair George Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mothman07 View Post
No, the screws that Corsair uses are custom to use with the fan mount grommets.
Actually, the top and side panel work with regular fan screws. The longer screws are only required for the hdd cages and bottom fan if installing from on top.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-18-2011, 08:14 AM
madnisman madnisman is offline
Registered User
madnisman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 528402
madnisman Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair George View Post
Actually, the top and side panel work with regular fan screws.
They work, but they wouldn't fit very well. There are two reasons for that:

1. The head of normal fan screws is too small, so the screw could went through the hole. Actually this happened when I tried to unscrew the fan. The head of your custom screws have a wider diameter, perfectly sitting on top of the rubber grommets.

2. The normal fan screws would sit uneven in the mounting hole, because it has a thread from top to bottom. In contrast to that only 2/3 of your custom screw has a thread, the part beneath the head is plain. This is the part which sits inside the rubber grommet.

Here are some pictures to illustrate my words:

The screw i need:




This is what it should look like (custom screw):



This is what normal fan screws look like:








I contacted the Technical Support (8/30/2011) and requested those custom screws. And guess what? They sent me a completely new Carbide 400R (9/14/2011)! That's very nice Corsair, great support, but that wouldn't help me solving the problem. All I need are those screws, there is no need to replace the whole case. What am I supposed to do with the case? Shall I send it back to Corsair? I already asked the Technical Support what to do, but the didn't answered yet. Tech Support Case #2235376.

Last edited by madnisman; 09-19-2011 at 09:58 AM. Reason: Added Tech Support Case #
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-18-2011, 08:53 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,350
POST ID # = 528408
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

So the regular fan screw holes don't fit and when you try and screw it on you need to add a washer or else they fall in the case. I get your point, what size is the hole, use a ruler and post the millimeter.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-18-2011, 09:36 AM
madnisman madnisman is offline
Registered User
madnisman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 528417
madnisman Reputation: 10
Default

- Fan mounting hole: 0,7 mm
- Rubber grommet: 0,4 mm (inside) | 1,0 mm (outside)

- Corsair's custom fan screw: 1,3 mm (length) | 0,8 mm (head width)
- Normal fan screw: 1,0 mm (lentgh) | 0,6 mm (head width)

I should mention that I use Alumino fan filters installed between side/front panel and fan. The normal fan screw is 0,3 mm shorter compared to the custom one. If I use a washer, then the normal screw may be too short to fix both fan filter and fan (didn't tried that).

I may have a solution for that, I have some UNC 6-32 screws (35 mm lentgh) that I ordered for my H60 but actually don't use them. The head has the same diameter like the custom screws (0,8 mm). The problem is, I don't have the appropriate nuts and I would need to import them from UK. So I thought I will first ask Corsair, whether they can provide me with the custom screw. Never thought they could send me a new case!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-19-2011, 02:36 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,350
POST ID # = 528612
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

If you have tried the Custom screw from Corsair and it fits perfectly with the filter. Then give the link to this thread, so they have an idea on what you are talking about.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-19-2011, 06:58 AM
madnisman madnisman is offline
Registered User
madnisman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 528647
madnisman Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
If you have tried the Custom screw from Corsair and it fits perfectly with the filter.
Yes, it fits perfectly as you can see in this picture. It shows a custom screw holding a fan filter and case fan.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Then give the link to this thread, so they have an idea on what you are talking about.
When I opened a support ticket and talked to the Technical Support, I was asked to explain the problem, so they can try out in their lab. I explained the problem exactly and provided them with the pictures you can see here in this thread (post #5). I don't know if this helps but I will post a link to this thread in my support ticket.

I hope one of the Corsair officials will reply to this thread soon as I don't know what to do with the replacement case.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-19-2011, 08:17 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,350
POST ID # = 528663
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

I would ask what to do with the replacement case.
Just tell them that you received a replacement case when you were only asking for screws. and what should you do with the case.

Post your RMA number so RAM GUY can email the tech support guys.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-19-2011, 09:57 AM
madnisman madnisman is offline
Registered User
madnisman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 528685
madnisman Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
I would ask what to do with the replacement case.
Already did that, here in this thread and in my support ticket on 09/14/2011. Still got no answer from Tech Support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Post your RMA number so RAM GUY can email the tech support guys.
I've got no RMA number assigned, apparently they didn't want me to send them anything. Added the Tech Support Case # to post 5.

Anyway, thanks for your help, Toasted!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-21-2011, 08:30 PM
madnisman madnisman is offline
Registered User
madnisman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 529326
madnisman Reputation: 10
Default

Someone from the Corsair Support got in touch with me. Problem should soon be solved. Thanks for your help RAM GUY!
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-01-2011, 08:39 PM
Nahaz Nahaz is offline
Registered User
Nahaz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 56
POST ID # = 531524
Nahaz Reputation: 10
Default

I've also contacted Corsair about the lack of fan mounting screws too. Hoping to hear from them soon.

EDIT - Would also need about 16-20. Same amount as OP (2 top fans and 2 side mount fans)

Last edited by Nahaz; 10-01-2011 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-02-2011, 06:15 AM
madnisman madnisman is offline
Registered User
madnisman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 531582
madnisman Reputation: 10
Default

Just a small update: I received the screws two days ago.
The bad news: The ones I received are not the ones I was asking for, they are not included with the 400R, so I guess they originally belong to a different type of case, maybe 600T or 650D.
The good news: it's working!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nahaz View Post
I've also contacted Corsair about the lack of fan mounting screws too. Hoping to hear from them soon.
Send them a link to the picture of the screw, so they can clearly see what type of screw you requested:





@Corsair: I think it would be a great idea, if you could provide the case with a sufficient amount of fan mounting screws. Everyone who has bought this case and wants to install fans on top or at the side panel will run into the same problem.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-02-2011, 07:46 AM
Nahaz Nahaz is offline
Registered User
Nahaz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 56
POST ID # = 531592
Nahaz Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by madnisman View Post
Send them a link to the picture of the screw, so they can clearly see what type of screw you requested:




@Corsair: I think it would be a great idea, if you could provide the case with a sufficient amount of fan mounting screws. Everyone who has bought this case and wants to install fans on top or at the side panel will run into the same problem.
I agree 100%

Even the Quick Start Guide shows screws similar to the above picture, but there are none to be found. It even says in the guide - "Can Be Used On All Fan Locations"

@OP - Yes I have sent in a RMA and a link to this thread. Hopefully I can get a similar result from Corsair.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.