The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2019, 01:29 PM
kasutaja kasutaja is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 988406
kasutaja Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Vengeance memory combatibility with Ryzen B350 system

Hi,

Since I have a lot of compatibility issues with my ryzen system with installed ram (corsair, posted a thread here, version number says its not compatible) I thought that I need to get a new ram kit. And before I buy anything I would like to be sure its compatible with my system.

The system is - > Ryzen 1600, Asus B350 -F Gaming (latest bios), Seasonic Focus 650fx psu, GTX 980 MSI, Samsung 850 Evo.

The ram that I was looking into was these -> https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...2GX4M2D3000C16

This memory had, i think, best price to performance ratio that are available in my local retail shop.

The motherboard memory support list has 3000MHz ram listed but not this exact model. And I can't seem to find any reviews or test regarding this ram kit. Corsair page says that its compatible with ryzen 300 and 400 series chipset and ryzen cpu.

I just want to be sure that I'm buying the right memory for my system.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-06-2019, 03:44 PM
frekwalda frekwalda is offline
Registered User
frekwalda's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 988536
frekwalda Reputation: 10
Default

So had a look at your MB first and saw your CPU there.
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/
Next look here for the RAM that matches your Ryzen processor with MB.
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_QVL/

Everything has to match (compatible) or you will run into problems.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-07-2019, 09:14 AM
kasutaja kasutaja is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 988655
kasutaja Reputation: 10
Sigh..

Quote:
Originally Posted by frekwalda View Post
So had a look at your MB first and saw your CPU there.
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/
Next look here for the RAM that matches your Ryzen processor with MB.
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_QVL/

Everything has to match (compatible) or you will run into problems.
The system is up and running about a year and only problem is memory incompatibility. I think it has something to do with using 4 sticks of ram (4x4gb). It runs but with higer voltage and little bit higher timings.

My motherboard is B350-F Gaming, not Plus. And yes, these ram sticks are not in the compatibility list. With this list in hand I can't buy any ram, because most of the Corsair ram that's good or available here, where I live, aren't in the list.

Usually I don't take these lists to seriously because my Intel Z170 - Pro Gaming system uses corsair ram witch is not in the supported memory list and it works fine over 3 years now. The ram that I use in the intel system is different version that is in the supported ram list ( I have v.3.32 but supported is v4.31) . And yes it seems to make a difference what version of ram you have because right now the Ryzen system has ram thats in the supported memory list but its different version. And it seems that the version I have doesn't work.

I just wanted to ask if any users have any experience with these ram sticks.

But oh well... will soon find out, I ordered these sticks and will c how it goes.

Actually I looked three Asus newest high end motherboard supported memory lists and didn't find the exact ram code in any of these lists. So the Corsair ram is Ryzen ready but not compatible with any asus B350/X470/B450 motherboards.

-edit- it works, with newest biosi and manual settings, auto "xmp" messes something up.

Last edited by kasutaja; 01-18-2019 at 01:53 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-26-2019, 01:30 AM
Rajat Kumar Rajat Kumar is offline
FreeJobalertPro
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: India
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 991390
Rajat Kumar Reputation: 10
Default

Good!! """The system is up and running about a year and only problem is memory incompatibility. I think it has something to do with using 4 sticks of ram (4x4gb). It runs but with higer voltage and little bit higher timings.""
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.