The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2017, 11:38 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,462
POST ID # = 898912
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default CUE 2.11 & K95 Plat. HW Profile "conflict"

Each time I bring CUE to the foreground from the system tray after boot (or wake from sleep) I am presented with a CUE error message stating:

Profiles Conflict: The stored profile saved to device HW1 does not match the version stored in CUE. To resolve this conflict, select Save or Cancel... etc.


It does this three times, once for each profile. I have saved. I have cancelled. I have never modified or used the HW profiles, either with the keyboard mode or in CUE. The keyboard is relatively new, but this did not happen the first week or so. I tried to solve the issue yesterday by wiping the HW profiles from the device under settings, then saving the existing CUE HW profiles back to the three slots. This did not work and the problem remains. They keyboard is fully functional and all my CUE advanced and basic profiles work. However, I am not sure the HW profiles do. When completely exiting CUE, none of the HW profiles become active as a cycle through using the profile button on the keyboard.

Can anyone offer any insight?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-11-2017, 01:14 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,462
POST ID # = 898927
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Now I am unable to save any profiles to the K95. It comes back with a lack of storage space error. This persists even when I wipe the stored profiles. It then visually indicates the profile space is empty, I save, a graphic occupies the first space, but still with the "you did not save" error - not enough space.

Last edited by c-attack; 04-11-2017 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-11-2017, 03:43 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
βetα Nayn Cat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,286
POST ID # = 898938
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Im assuming you wiped the profile under general settings?

And the check is kinda broken right now. Its likes to think you have a different profile on when you dont.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-11-2017, 05:12 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,462
POST ID # = 898946
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Yes, the proper delete under settings and not simply deleting the profiles. At any rate, I decided to flash the firmware again (1.07) this afternoon and that seems to be working, at least across two reboots and one sleep session. This problem spans two firmware versions (1.06 & 1.07) and I only upgraded to the later a few days ago. I had another K95 Platinum with brown keys right after launch and this wasn't an issue. That was a few CUE versions ago and this one has only seen v2.11.

It's not really a serious problem and three clicks gets me on my way, but my first 30 days is about up and if this is a hardware problem, the easiest remedy is for me to deal with the vendor. I don't really feel I have enough evidence to say one way or the other, so I was in part fishing to see if anyone else has encountered this problem.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-11-2017, 08:27 PM
Cloud9 Cloud9 is offline
Registered User
Cloud9's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 898957
Cloud9 Reputation: 10
Default

I had about the same problem, conflicting profiles when I opened the cue utility engine. To solve the problem I created a folder in the cue utility and named it junk. I then moved the offending profile in there and my problem was solved.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-12-2017, 12:16 AM
Zardoz66's Avatar
Zardoz66 Zardoz66 is offline
Registered User
Zardoz66's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 898974
Zardoz66 Reputation: 10
Default

I have this happen form time to time, I just say yes. and it goes away till the next time. I think it's one of the many bugs that CUE has at this time.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-12-2017, 08:06 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,462
POST ID # = 899020
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

OK, sporadic I can live with and suggests software is at the heart of the matter. As long as I can generally preclude a hardware problem with the on board memory, I am content for now. No problems since flashing the firmware again, so hopefully that did the trick.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-12-2017, 12:59 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,423
POST ID # = 899050
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

This problem usually occurs if something was changed on the HW Profile but it wasn't saved. For example, the HW profile may have been set to Rain but the Lighting selected was Spiral Rainbow but never saved to the keyboard.

However, there was a rare issue where sometimes the profiles on the keyboard could be corrupted (for whatever reason). To reset the profiles, simply hold PAGE UP and PAGE DOWN while re-inserting USB and this will trigger our fail-safe to rebuild the defaults in those HW profiles. I would also recommend you purge all of the HW profiles from the system prior to doing this so you can start from a clean slate.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-12-2017, 04:55 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,462
POST ID # = 899108
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
This problem usually occurs if something was changed on the HW Profile but it wasn't saved. For example, the HW profile may have been set to Rain but the Lighting selected was Spiral Rainbow but never saved to the keyboard.
That would make sense, except that I was not using the HW profiles at all and had never modified them or tried to save new ones -- standard factory defaults. The next step seemed logical as well, but after wiping the memory the problem became worse and either the profile or something with the on board storage became corrupt and there was no lighting at all when CUE was inactive (boot, quit app, etc). I did not know the page up/down trick at the time. Regardless, flashing the firmware again appears to have resolved it. This was an each and every time kind of issue and it has not happened once since. I suppose timing is everything. I just noticed the new CUE 2.12 contains a one or two related notes. I am fairly confident it is not a hardware problem now, so that eliminates any urgency. Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-12-2017, 11:27 PM
Zardoz66's Avatar
Zardoz66 Zardoz66 is offline
Registered User
Zardoz66's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 899133
Zardoz66 Reputation: 10
Default

Hey James,

This seems to be an ongoing issue for me. I have made it stop but does come back. the new CUE v2.12.66 also seems to have the same issues,. I have not figued out what triggers it, but it might have to do with switching non-advice and advance modes, then it starts back up again.

--update

ok I can reproduce this. I think I found the problem.

ok I cleared the onboard storage.
re saved each HW profile in advanced mode.
closing CUE compleatly and restarting CUE works fine every time (advanced mode.)
The I switch to non- advanced mode then just click on each hardware profile (no saving or anything) then switch back to advanced.
restart CUE boom profile conflicts with each HW profile.

I can reproduce this every time. this does happen in CUE v2.12.66 as well.

Last edited by Zardoz66; 04-12-2017 at 11:44 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-13-2017, 08:40 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,462
POST ID # = 899159
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Damn, you are right. I had my error screen notice back this morning after upgrading to 2.12. I have been using basic mode the last few days as well. This time I only get one error notice and not one for each of the three hardware profiles. No special conditions necessary other than waking from sleep or booting and then making the CUE window active, when presumably the device is "re-detected".

EDIT: I rolled back to 2.11 and the behavior came along with it. It does the same thing, but like 2.12 now only gives one error message instead of three. I did not do a full clean and reinstall. This is minor glitch, now that the HW profile works on boot, in the BIOS, etc. This time, flashing the firmware in 2.11 did not resolve the issue. I should have left well enough alone.

Last edited by c-attack; 04-13-2017 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-13-2017, 01:02 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,423
POST ID # = 899173
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zardoz66 View Post
Hey James,

This seems to be an ongoing issue for me. I have made it stop but does come back. the new CUE v2.12.66 also seems to have the same issues,. I have not figued out what triggers it, but it might have to do with switching non-advice and advance modes, then it starts back up again.

--update

ok I can reproduce this. I think I found the problem.

ok I cleared the onboard storage.
re saved each HW profile in advanced mode.
closing CUE compleatly and restarting CUE works fine every time (advanced mode.)
The I switch to non- advanced mode then just click on each hardware profile (no saving or anything) then switch back to advanced.
restart CUE boom profile conflicts with each HW profile.

I can reproduce this every time. this does happen in CUE v2.12.66 as well.
Two questions:

1.) What FW are you using? Is it the latest (v1.07)?
2.) Did you try the EEPROM technique I mentioned above (and deleted all the profiles in %appdata%?

Thanks!
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-13-2017, 01:03 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,423
POST ID # = 899174
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Damn, you are right. I had my error screen notice back this morning after upgrading to 2.12. I have been using basic mode the last few days as well. This time I only get one error notice and not one for each of the three hardware profiles. No special conditions necessary other than waking from sleep or booting and then making the CUE window active, when presumably the device is "re-detected".

EDIT: I rolled back to 2.11 and the behavior came along with it. It does the same thing, but like 2.12 now only gives one error message instead of three. I did not do a full clean and reinstall. This is minor glitch, now that the HW profile works on boot, in the BIOS, etc. This time, flashing the firmware in 2.11 did not resolve the issue. I should have left well enough alone.
FW shouldn't affect 2.11 or 2.12. However you should be using 2.12. Try what I mentioned above again and do the EEPROM reset after you've deleted all the profiles in %appdata%. Make sure CUE is not running when you do both.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-13-2017, 03:57 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,462
POST ID # = 899185
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
FW shouldn't affect 2.11 or 2.12. However you should be using 2.12. Try what I mentioned above again and do the EEPROM reset after you've deleted all the profiles in %appdata%. Make sure CUE is not running when you do both.

This was not a good idea. Now I do not get the error when bring up CUE, however that is most likely because there are no HW profiles and I am no longer able to save any type of profile to the device. I have lost the ability to use that function.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-13-2017, 05:03 PM
Zardoz66's Avatar
Zardoz66 Zardoz66 is offline
Registered User
Zardoz66's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 899189
Zardoz66 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
Two questions:

1.) What FW are you using? Is it the latest (v1.07)?
2.) Did you try the EEPROM technique I mentioned above (and deleted all the profiles in %appdata%?

Thanks!
I will do this later tonight. what do I win for bug tracking :P
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.