The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2014, 03:34 AM
jr212 jr212 is offline
Registered User
jr212's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gent, Belgium
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 714470
jr212 Reputation: 10
Default force GT 240 no longer bootable

Hi,

I have updated mij ssd. now it is no longer recogniced by the bios and so not bootable.

I have used this link: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=107770
and the firmware: 22956_fw.vic

However. the drive works fine when connecting throu USB
but the firmware program finds no disk.

Please help

Jan

Last edited by jr212; 06-09-2014 at 03:38 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-09-2014, 04:12 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,350
POST ID # = 714484
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

What was the previous firmware on the drive? Did you attempt to downgrade the firmware?
Try a different SATA port and SATA data cable see if you can get the drive detected in the BIOS.
Try resetting the BIOS to defaults and see if that helps as well, Make sure AHCI is enabled after the reset.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-09-2014, 08:41 AM
jr212 jr212 is offline
Registered User
jr212's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gent, Belgium
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 714501
jr212 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
1. What was the previous firmware on the drive? Did you attempt to downgrade the firmware?
2. Try a different SATA port and SATA data cable see if you can get the drive detected in the BIOS.
3. Try resetting the BIOS to defaults and see if that helps as well, Make sure AHCI is enabled after the reset.
Hi
thanks for the replay.
1. latest firmware is 1.3.3. new is FGT_502
2. No help here :)
3. AHCI is on. only not default is the numlock=on.

Believe it or not: after connecting thru USB my disk was recognized in the bios.
However upgrading is still not possible. After 50 minutes I forced the PC on a reboot(reset switch) the manual say about 10 seconds.

Jan

Update: I tried it on a Win8 machine with 32GB
also no luck. but a very little bit more action. No hang of the machine, but still no update

Last edited by jr212; 06-09-2014 at 10:40 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-10-2014, 04:26 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,350
POST ID # = 714596
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Actually, the latest firmware is 5.05.
When did you get the SSD? 1.3.3 is a very very old FW.

When it's plugged into the computer via USB, What FW is the SSD on? Try CrystalDiskInfo and see if it can see the drive.
Have you tried installing the SSD toobox? Does it see the drive when its plugged in via USB?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-10-2014, 04:36 AM
jr212 jr212 is offline
Registered User
jr212's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gent, Belgium
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 714598
jr212 Reputation: 10
Default

Ordered on 9/12/2011
rapport christaldiskinfo :http://users.telenet.be/janr/corsair_force_gt_240.png found it yesterday :)
What is ssdtoolbox? GOOGLE finds many programs with that name. Version 3.2.1 from Intel find the drive, not tested on USB
I did some bios tests. My system do not boot when AHCi is enabled. So it is not on. stupid me!
Can I have the update some other way?
thru DOS maybe?

Jan

Last edited by jr212; 06-10-2014 at 04:47 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-11-2014, 04:14 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,350
POST ID # = 714734
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

You an download the Corsair SSD toolbox here
http://www.corsair.com/~/media/Corsa...SDT1209WIN.exe

Unfortunately, you cannot update the SSD firmware other than using a Windows computer with AHCI enabled. Can you enable AHCI in the BIOS, and restart. Does the BIOS detect the SSD normally?

There is a registry entry which needed to be changed to change before changing from IDE to AHCI to prevent a BSOD. Whether it still works or not, i'm not quite sure. So be warned, backup your important data incase anything happens if you do wish to try it.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
240, bios, failure, gt, no boot

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.