The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 17 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2013, 10:56 PM
Frank28's Avatar
Frank28 Frank28 is offline
Registered User
Frank28's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 54
POST ID # = 688993
Frank28 Reputation: 8
Default Corsair Force GS 360GB FW 5.24

OK after serious issues with the Corsair Force GS 360GB Fw5.20, I was happy to see a new firmware v5.24. i installed it without issues, the drive doesn't seem to freeze at start up anymore however, the speed does suffer quite a bit the read and write speeds became even lower "not as advertised". Corsair there's still an issue here!
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-23-2013, 10:58 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 688995
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

As noted, you may need to do a secure erase after any firmware update.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-23-2013, 11:17 PM
Frank28's Avatar
Frank28 Frank28 is offline
Registered User
Frank28's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 54
POST ID # = 688998
Frank28 Reputation: 8
Default

yikes wouldn't that require me to re-install the OS + all apps?
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-23-2013, 11:57 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 689013
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Not necessarily. With common backup software or the Corsair cloning function in the SSD toolbox, no need for a clean installation.

Last edited by Yellowbeard; 12-24-2013 at 12:03 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-24-2013, 12:03 AM
Frank28's Avatar
Frank28 Frank28 is offline
Registered User
Frank28's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 54
POST ID # = 689014
Frank28 Reputation: 8
Default

ill give it a try in a few days and post back the results. thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-27-2013, 06:57 PM
Frank28's Avatar
Frank28 Frank28 is offline
Registered User
Frank28's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 54
POST ID # = 689638
Frank28 Reputation: 8
Default

After further testing. The drive is still acting up. I've done a secure erase, with no luck. I tried secure erase then re-installing win 8.1 pro still acting up. I've also tried it with and without intel rapid storage technology with no luck. Corsair there's definitely an issue with the drive or firmware!
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-27-2013, 07:58 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 689646
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

What does "acting up" mean? Can you describe what issue(s) you are having?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-28-2013, 01:40 AM
Frank28's Avatar
Frank28 Frank28 is offline
Registered User
Frank28's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 54
POST ID # = 689677
Frank28 Reputation: 8
Default

Yes, The speeds on the drive are very inconsistent. I've seen the rated speed only about 4 times (regardless if the OS is on it or not) the drive seems to max out at ~520 read and ~500 write and is very inconsistent (sometimes its very low (490 and other times its in the 520 range). this drive is rated 555 read and 530 write. I've tried/checked everything I can think of to try to get the speeds up on this drive and no go. Bios is up to date, Intel driver up to date, tried different SATA 6g cables and ports, I also tried my Marvell controller (with even worse results), tried doing a secure erase, tried reinstalling windows 8.1 pro, updated SSD firmware to 5.24 (since I had the same issues from the get go with 5.20 speed and freezing at start up). Not sure what to do anymore with this less than 1 month old drive.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-03-2014, 12:12 PM
Stormwin Stormwin is offline
Registered User
Stormwin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 690643
Stormwin Reputation: 10
Big Grin

Salut , hi
je suis desoler je parle tres mal anglais
je suis Français

pour ce firmware 5.24 je suis desoler mais moi j'ai aucune baisse de performance de mon SSD force 3 GS 180Go
le probleme de reboot ou le ssd était pas detecter est resolue
j'ai rebooter +5 fois et aucun probleme

j'ai fais des teste ssd avec crystaldiskmark 3.0.2 x64
avec le drivers intel RST_12.8.6.1000 = meme performance test ok

avec le drivers intel intel_rst_12.9.0.1001 avec crystaldiskmark 3.0.2 x64 =
meme performance et aucun probleme

donc pour moi ce firmware 5.24 résolue le bug reboot du 5.20

@+
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-03-2014, 12:17 PM
Stormwin Stormwin is offline
Registered User
Stormwin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 690645
Stormwin Reputation: 10
Default

ces viens de votre drivers intel je pense pour que ca marche pas
j'ai meme pas fais de unreaser moi et tout marche bien
par contre ma carte mere est une maximus IV extreme-z en z68 SATAIII intel
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-03-2014, 05:43 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 690721
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank28 View Post
Yes, The speeds on the drive are very inconsistent. I've seen the rated speed only about 4 times (regardless if the OS is on it or not) the drive seems to max out at ~520 read and ~500 write and is very inconsistent (sometimes its very low (490 and other times its in the 520 range). this drive is rated 555 read and 530 write. I've tried/checked everything I can think of to try to get the speeds up on this drive and no go. Bios is up to date, Intel driver up to date, tried different SATA 6g cables and ports, I also tried my Marvell controller (with even worse results), tried doing a secure erase, tried reinstalling windows 8.1 pro, updated SSD firmware to 5.24 (since I had the same issues from the get go with 5.20 speed and freezing at start up). Not sure what to do anymore with this less than 1 month old drive.
NEVER use a Marvell controller if you don't have to.

Also, the variance you are talking about is less than 1%. Your drive is fine.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-03-2014, 09:31 PM
Frank28's Avatar
Frank28 Frank28 is offline
Registered User
Frank28's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 54
POST ID # = 690777
Frank28 Reputation: 8
Default

So you're saying these scores from ATTO are within spec of (555 read - 530 write) using Intel(z77) controller?
__________________

Last edited by Frank28; 01-03-2014 at 09:49 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-03-2014, 09:43 PM
Frank28's Avatar
Frank28 Frank28 is offline
Registered User
Frank28's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 54
POST ID # = 690779
Frank28 Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormwin View Post
Salut , hi
je suis desoler je parle tres mal anglais
je suis Français

pour ce firmware 5.24 je suis desoler mais moi j'ai aucune baisse de performance de mon SSD force 3 GS 180Go
le probleme de reboot ou le ssd était pas detecter est resolue
j'ai rebooter +5 fois et aucun probleme

j'ai fais des teste ssd avec crystaldiskmark 3.0.2 x64
avec le drivers intel RST_12.8.6.1000 = meme performance test ok

avec le drivers intel intel_rst_12.9.0.1001 avec crystaldiskmark 3.0.2 x64 =
meme performance et aucun probleme

donc pour moi ce firmware 5.24 résolue le bug reboot du 5.20

@+
Avez vous essaye les test avec ATTO? c'est le programme que Corsair utilise pour demontrer les performances de leur SSD (http://www.attotech.com/disk-benchmark/) Les autres donne des des resultats inconforme. votre ssd devrait obtenir ou depasser ses spec en utilisant ATTO car c'est de se programme dont corsair se base.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-03-2014, 11:22 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 690789
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank28 View Post
Yes, The speeds on the drive are very inconsistent. I've seen the rated speed only about 4 times (regardless if the OS is on it or not) the drive seems to max out at ~520 read and ~500 write and is very inconsistent (sometimes its very low (490 and other times its in the 520 range). this drive is rated 555 read and 530 write.
I was going by the original numbers you posted. NO drive is going to benchmark perfectly every time. There are many factors that can change your scores from one run to the next. Repeatedly benchmarking a drive serves no useful purpose. And, it can all change again the next time there is an Intel drive update or a controller update in your BIOS.

If it's stable, enjoy it.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-04-2014, 05:04 AM
Stormwin Stormwin is offline
Registered User
Stormwin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 690831
Stormwin Reputation: 10
Default

salut frank28
non desoler j'ai pas confiance au teste atto
j'ai confiance que a crystaldiskmark
j'utilise ce logiciel depuis le debut de mes ssd



mefier vous le 4k qd32 varie souvent sans raison
quelque sois le drivers et firmware
et sur un autre teste dans quelque jours il bas de record
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.