The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2013, 05:38 PM
Miu Miu is offline
Registered User
Miu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 685447
Miu Reputation: 10
Default GT 120Gb problems with updating firmware

Hello, I have some problems with updating my GT 120Gb SSD. I wanted to enable TRIM on my drive and thought that I should update my SSD, I read what I had to do etc... Since my SSD is in some weird single raid mode I took it out of my computer and put it in another pc where AHCI was enabled.

I Started the process there, but as soon as I had opened the Field Updater everything quickly came to an halt. It said my drive signature was 142.142.27474 and none of the files provided with the 120Gb GT folder did not have any of those numbers.

So I humbly ask for some serious help :)

Best regards Miu.

Last edited by Miu; 12-04-2013 at 04:24 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-02-2013, 09:24 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,265
POST ID # = 685477
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Please post a pic of the software showing the signature. Also, what firmware does it say you currently have?
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-03-2013, 03:09 PM
Miu Miu is offline
Registered User
Miu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 685592
Miu Reputation: 10
Default

The Corsair SSD Toolbox v1.0 says the firmware of the drive is 5.06. I can't provide a screenshot/picture of the signature for the moment. The signature numbers is in my first post.

Last edited by Miu; 12-03-2013 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-03-2013, 05:30 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 685628
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

What do you mean " I wanted to enable TRIM on my drive..."? TRIM is a part of your OS, not your drive. Your drive is compatible with TRIM.

Also, why can you not post a screenshot? That would be helpful to us.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-03-2013, 06:16 PM
Miu Miu is offline
Registered User
Miu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 685635
Miu Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
What do you mean " I wanted to enable TRIM on my drive..."? TRIM is a part of your OS, not your drive. Your drive is compatible with TRIM.

Also, why can you not post a screenshot? That would be helpful to us.

I ment that I would like to enable TRIM support, your SSD tool says my drive is not compatible with TRIM so I thought that the SSD firmware needed an update. I can't give you a screenshot of the field updater because I would need to remove my ssd from my computer, then install it in another computer. And for the time being I don't have the time to remove it again to give you a screenshot.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-04-2013, 01:09 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 685691
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miu View Post
I ment that I would like to enable TRIM support, your SSD tool says my drive is not compatible with TRIM so I thought that the SSD firmware needed an update. I can't give you a screenshot of the field updater because I would need to remove my ssd from my computer, then install it in another computer. And for the time being I don't have the time to remove it again to give you a screenshot.
Can't you just run the SSD Toolbox on the machine the drive is in now?

As for TRIM support, you are interpreting the message incorrectly. The toolbox is telling you that the toolbox cannot perform TRIM operations on the drive because it is marked as part of a RAID array. Not 100% sure about AMD yet but Intel has TRIM support for drives in RAID mode.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-04-2013, 03:05 AM
Miu Miu is offline
Registered User
Miu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 685696
Miu Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
Can't you just run the SSD Toolbox on the machine the drive is in now?

As for TRIM support, you are interpreting the message incorrectly. The toolbox is telling you that the toolbox cannot perform TRIM operations on the drive because it is marked as part of a RAID array. Not 100% sure about AMD yet but Intel has TRIM support for drives in RAID mode.
Thats just what I wrote... I have run the SSD toolbox on my computer. Well it obous doesnt support it. But none of you have answered my question. I told you that the last numbers of the signature does not fit with any of the files provided.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-04-2013, 03:55 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,265
POST ID # = 685714
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

If your question is why can't you update the firmware, I then have to ask you to please follow my previous instructions:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Please post a pic of the software showing the signature.
Yes, I'm aware that your signature is 142.142.27474, but I still need the screenshot.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-04-2013, 03:57 AM
Miu Miu is offline
Registered User
Miu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 685720
Miu Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
If your question is why can't you update the firmware, I then have to ask you to please follow my previous instructions:
Yes, I'm aware that your signature is 142.142.27474, but I still need the screenshot.
Could you plase tell me why you need the screenshot? Just want to know what you will be looking for. :)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-04-2013, 03:59 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 685721
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

We maintain a database of firmwares for our SSDs. This is where the updates come from. We want to verify what firmware your drive requires and make sure that the problem with updating is not on our end.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-21-2014, 12:03 PM
Miu Miu is offline
Registered User
Miu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 693758
Miu Reputation: 10
Default

Here you go.
Attached Images
File Type: png Corsair SSD FW1.PNG (103.9 KB, 482 views)
File Type: png Corsair SSD FW2.PNG (132.2 KB, 436 views)
File Type: png Corsair SSD FW3.PNG (126.1 KB, 414 views)
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-22-2014, 01:37 PM
Miu Miu is offline
Registered User
Miu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 698626
Miu Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
We maintain a database of firmwares for our SSDs. This is where the updates come from. We want to verify what firmware your drive requires and make sure that the problem with updating is not on our end.
It's been over 1 month since I gave you the screenshots you guys insisted on having. Have you verified what firmware my drive requires?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-05-2014, 05:58 AM
levar197 levar197 is offline
Registered User
levar197's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 713955
levar197 Reputation: 10
Default

Well, I'm interested on this post. (And in all its possible answers)

Yesterday I received a new ForceGT with the same signature than you (142-142-27474) and the 5.24 firmware.

The SSD Case is not the same it used to be (it's weaker and very thin). Furthermore, I thought that the latest firmware for CORSAIR FORCEGT drives was the 5.05 (as it appears in corsair's web).

A little bit strange, isn't it?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.