Corsair Community

Corsair Vengeance 1500V2 Feedback troubleshooting

RyanBrowne

Update-As I wrote this out I think I managed to fix it, but I'll still post the thread in case anyone else is stuck where I was.

I'm hoping I can get some advice on correcting a feedback issue I'm having with my new headset.

Backstory:

I've been using an HS1 headset for a few years and been very satisified with it, but recently the wiring near the volume buttons started to mess up, and I was losing audio to the left ear speaker, figuring my headset was long out of warranty, and a frayed wire not too unusual I figured I'd buy a replacement and it looked like the 1500 was the newer model to go with.

Specs:

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

i5-3570k

4 GB Ram

Nvidia gtx 460

(I can supply more if its needed)

Issue:

The headset seems to playback just fine, I installed the latest drivers (CorsairHeadsetSetup_Release_2.0.26.msi) from the corsair website and it seemingly configured everything successfully.

My problem is with something to do with the microphone and I'm having a hard time nailing down what it is. Even with the mic muted or disabled, its audibly feeding back into the headset (ie microphone muted in windows recording devices, blow into microphone and can hear feedback through headset) Moreover while I'm in recording devices there is a high pitched buzzing that becomes audible, and when I hit the mute button it actually gets louder. Once I close the window the buzzing goes away (or at least becomes inaudible to my ears)

The microphone does pickup my voice when you do an audio test, although it seems to echo, I hear the feedback loop immediately and then the "normal" microphone check play back shortly afterwords.

I've tried uninstalling the corsair drivers and letting windows try its default drivers, that made no difference.