The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2018, 05:53 PM
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 986139
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default VENGEANCE RGB PRO DDR4 Lighting Enhancement Kit

Many have asked, now ye shall receive! We are happy to announce the Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 Lighting Enhancement Kit.



Complete Your System’s Look: Light Enhancement Modules in your empty DDR4 slots feature the same RGB lighting effects of your existing VENGEANCE RGB PRO memory modules.

Dynamic Multi-Zone RGB Lighting: 10 ultra-bright RGB LEDs per module.

Intelligent Control, Unlimited Possibilities: CORSAIR iCUE software brings your system to life with dynamic RGB lighting control, synchronized across all your iCUE compatible products, including memory, fans, RGB LED light strips, keyboards, mice and more.

Create and Customize: Choose from dozens of pre-set lighting profiles, create your own, or experiment with millions of user adjustable patterns and colors.

Wide-ranging compatibility: Works with most Intel and AMD DDR4 motherboards.

Style that Matches: Constructed with the same aluminum heat spreader to match the look of your existing CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB PRO memory modules.


Additional Notes:

We have made the Lighting Enhancement modules to look identical to normal VENGEANCE RGB PRO memory modules, so it may be difficult to tell the difference at first glance. First, there are some notable differences you should be aware of, beyond not having any memory memory chips on the PCB. The most noticeable "tell" is the significantly reduced number of pins on the bottom of the PCB (see first image below). Additionally, the sticker on the back explicitly states "No DRAM."


Pin Comparison:



Sticker Comparison:



Module Comparison:
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-31-2018, 09:21 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: UK - England
Posts: 420
POST ID # = 987740
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default

Now if only the majority of us who just bought these could actually see these in iCUE and actually control them....
__________________

Last edited by Dicehunter; 01-01-2019 at 01:52 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-03-2019, 11:06 AM
Tigzyboi Tigzyboi is offline
Registered User
Tigzyboi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 988091
Tigzyboi Reputation: 10
Default

My exact issue. I have just brought two sets of these but the ICUE software is not detecting them so I am unable to edit the lighting.
I am running an:
ROG Asus x99 Strix
4 x 4gb standard Corsair ram with the addition of 4 RGB Vengeance RAM

I deleted the Asus Aura application to see if that conflicted with the ICUE but it seems to not have made a difference. Can you assist with why they are not being seen in ICUE?

Cheers
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-03-2019, 12:24 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: UK - England
Posts: 420
POST ID # = 988112
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigzyboi View Post
My exact issue. I have just brought two sets of these but the ICUE software is not detecting them so I am unable to edit the lighting.
I am running an:
ROG Asus x99 Strix
4 x 4gb standard Corsair ram with the addition of 4 RGB Vengeance RAM

I deleted the Asus Aura application to see if that conflicted with the ICUE but it seems to not have made a difference. Can you assist with why they are not being seen in ICUE?

Cheers
The only thing that worked for me was going back to an earlier bios AND going back to an older build of iCUE, 3.9.9.3 to be exact.

Corsair need to go work with Asus a little on this one as it's various AMD and Intel boards that the Vengeance RGB Pro and Light Enhancement Kits aren't working with.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-03-2019, 04:36 PM
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 988147
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigzyboi View Post
My exact issue. I have just brought two sets of these but the ICUE software is not detecting them so I am unable to edit the lighting.
I am running an:
ROG Asus x99 Strix
4 x 4gb standard Corsair ram with the addition of 4 RGB Vengeance RAM

I deleted the Asus Aura application to see if that conflicted with the ICUE but it seems to not have made a difference. Can you assist with why they are not being seen in ICUE?

Cheers

Hi Tigzy, have you attempted to only have the VENGEANCE RGB PRO RAM installed? X99 along with B450 seem to be the chipsets that I've seen the most issues with, compatibility-wise. I would suggest moving to the newest BIOS and going from there. If there's an option to enable "SPD Write" in the BIOS, make sure that's enabled.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-03-2019, 04:39 PM
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 988149
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
The only thing that worked for me was going back to an earlier bios AND going back to an older build of iCUE, 3.9.9.3 to be exact.

Corsair need to go work with Asus a little on this one as it's various AMD and Intel boards that the Vengeance RGB Pro and Light Enhancement Kits aren't working with.
When we develop stuff like this, we do our best to make sure it's compatible with as many systems as possible and we do work with manufacturers for compatibility to some degree. In the end, it's really up to the board manufacturers to enable certain settings in the BIOS. There are only really a handful of chipsets that don't play nicely with the RGB RAM, and that isn't exclusive to CORSAIR's products.

From my standpoint, I hope there's more cohesion also, solely for the benefit of the end user, because I, like you, get a bit frustrated when workarounds and quick fixes need to be made.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-03-2019, 04:59 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: UK - England
Posts: 420
POST ID # = 988153
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
When we develop stuff like this, we do our best to make sure it's compatible with as many systems as possible and we do work with manufacturers for compatibility to some degree. In the end, it's really up to the board manufacturers to enable certain settings in the BIOS. There are only really a handful of chipsets that don't play nicely with the RGB RAM, and that isn't exclusive to CORSAIR's products.

From my standpoint, I hope there's more cohesion also, solely for the benefit of the end user, because I, like you, get a bit frustrated when workarounds and quick fixes need to be made.
Understood and thank you for the reply, I hope Asus look at this problem and release an updated bios for affected motherboards.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-04-2019, 05:20 AM
Tigzyboi Tigzyboi is offline
Registered User
Tigzyboi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 988226
Tigzyboi Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
Hi Tigzy, have you attempted to only have the VENGEANCE RGB PRO RAM installed? X99 along with B450 seem to be the chipsets that I've seen the most issues with, compatibility-wise. I would suggest moving to the newest BIOS and going from there. If there's an option to enable "SPD Write" in the BIOS, make sure that's enabled.
I have the system on the latest BIOS and everything. Even have the SPD write set to enabled. Can’t only have the RGB RAM in as it’s the light enhancement set so system wouldn’t run if I took the Other RAM out, will keep trying things.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-04-2019, 05:25 AM
Tigzyboi Tigzyboi is offline
Registered User
Tigzyboi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 988227
Tigzyboi Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
The only thing that worked for me was going back to an earlier bios AND going back to an older build of iCUE, 3.9.9.3 to be exact.

Corsair need to go work with Asus a little on this one as it's various AMD and Intel boards that the Vengeance RGB Pro and Light Enhancement Kits aren't working with.
Am tempted to buy the 2x8gb RAM kit for it aswell but wanted to make sure I can get them to work with the light enhancement kit before I spend another £150
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-09-2019, 06:50 PM
Tigzyboi Tigzyboi is offline
Registered User
Tigzyboi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 989040
Tigzyboi Reputation: 10
Default

I have noticed when I am in the ICUE software and I say show devices even if not connected I do not seen an option for the Heading memory. I presume this is where the problem is. I see all other things like the keyboard and other parts but no RAM heading.... is there a plan to fix this soon. I have the latest ICUE software downloaded
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-16-2019, 04:07 PM
ksj4477 ksj4477 is offline
Registered User
ksj4477's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 990184
ksj4477 Reputation: 10
Default

Any idea when CMWLEKIT2 will be back in stock? I can only find the white kit online.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-17-2019, 06:53 AM
Tigzyboi Tigzyboi is offline
Registered User
Tigzyboi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 990248
Tigzyboi Reputation: 10
Default

I have just done the latest ICue update and the RGB RAM option is still not present in the application even when I click show items not connected it is still not in the list...… I presume this is a corsair issue?

To add the lights are working on the Dummy RAM so they are cycling through the colours but I am unable to control them in the app

Last edited by Tigzyboi; 01-17-2019 at 06:55 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-23-2019, 07:27 PM
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 991145
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigzyboi View Post
I have just done the latest ICue update and the RGB RAM option is still not present in the application even when I click show items not connected it is still not in the list...… I presume this is a corsair issue?

To add the lights are working on the Dummy RAM so they are cycling through the colours but I am unable to control them in the app
Hi Tigzyboi, have you downloaded iCUE directly from the site and tried either reinstalling or running a repair? There might be an issue with updating through the app. There have been a couple other instances where devices weren't found after using the update function in iCUE. Can you try that if you haven't and let me know if it works? Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-26-2019, 04:08 PM
Tigzyboi Tigzyboi is offline
Registered User
Tigzyboi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 991461
Tigzyboi Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Kevin. I did download direct from the main site.
I have finally been able to get my sticks to be viewable and edit them. I had to turn of X.M.P in the bios.... soon as I did that boom sees all sticks even my pretend Corsair RGB ones......

Been a right mare but got there in the end!!

Cheers Guys.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-31-2019, 06:32 PM
MrSprint MrSprint is offline
Registered User
MrSprint's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 992095
MrSprint Reputation: 10
Default

So I'm struggling to find clear confirmation of this, do these work with other Corsair ram, or JUST Vengeance RGB Pro?

I have a 32Gb Vengeance LPX Non RGB kit (2x16Gb sticks) (CMK32GX4M2F4000C19), leaving two dimms free. Can i still use these RGB Vengence Pro enhancement kits even though my other sticks are Vengeance LPX non RGB? (I might change to RGB Pro ram in the future to complete the look)

Thhhannks :)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.