The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2018, 11:53 PM
QuorthonRhar's Avatar
QuorthonRhar QuorthonRhar is offline
Registered User
QuorthonRhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 944980
QuorthonRhar Reputation: 10
Default DDR4 recommendations for Ryzen 5 1600 and Rog Strix B350-F

Hello you wonderful forum members! I know this has been discussed numerous times probably, but I can never find exactly the same scenario as my own.

After tons of years, I finally decided to move from my beloved i5-3570K. It served me really well in every single task I needed it to do for me, but time has come to move on and upgrade.

So, I just purchased AMD Ryzen 5 1600, and ASUS ROG STRIX B350-F motherboard. I have everything else I need (my H80i v2 with AM4 bracket among other components), and the only item that's left for me to buy... DDR4.

Could some nice soul recommend what would work without any hick-ups with my CPU/MB configuration ? I just want to stress out, I am not looking into any kind of overclocking or anything like that. Even with factory speeds, this new machine will be quite faster than my old one... and believe me, there was nothing I wasn't able to do with it (3D modeling, animations, motion graphics, even some heavy gaming from time to time). I just need it to work stable without crashing or causing any kind of system/OS failure.

Oh yes, I am looking to get DDR4 16Gb, possibly two RAM modules.

I am quite aware that memory prices are raging at the moment, but I found couple of items on sale. These are 2666, 3000 and 3200 units currently on sale here in Canada:

http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...5%2C6&rebate=1

Anything in there worth spending money on, or should I wait until prices calm down a bit (who knows when though)?

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

EDIT: they updated that sale page since I posted last night, and added some new listings. These caught my eye, any info if they would work would be appreciated:

http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=098797
http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=090226
http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=103816
http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=105004

Last edited by QuorthonRhar; 03-16-2018 at 09:53 AM. Reason: Added couple of links
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-16-2018, 05:19 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 620
POST ID # = 945072
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Default

The Vengeance LPX and LED listings you posted should work just fine. Ryzen can push up to 3200MHz DDR4 depending on the config. 3000MHz seems to be fairly easy to get to on most boards with a two up module config, 2666MHz is going to be safest of course. It's up to you if you want LED lighting, or want to save a few bucks and go for the LPX model.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-16-2018, 07:21 PM
QuorthonRhar's Avatar
QuorthonRhar QuorthonRhar is offline
Registered User
QuorthonRhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 945102
QuorthonRhar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair CJ View Post
The Vengeance LPX and LED listings you posted should work just fine. Ryzen can push up to 3200MHz DDR4 depending on the config. 3000MHz seems to be fairly easy to get to on most boards with a two up module config, 2666MHz is going to be safest of course. It's up to you if you want LED lighting, or want to save a few bucks and go for the LPX model.
Thank you so much! I just purchased LPX 3000MHz (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15), literally came back home 10 minutes ago from the store. They had quite a good deal on it, so I didn't want to miss it, and also since it's listed here (QVL), it gave me some kind of piece of mind :)
ROG-STRIX-B350-F-GAMING_Memory_QVL_180125

As far as LEDs go... I love them, but since I already have my Phanteks P400 decorated, DDR4 LEDs would be little over the top anyway.

My remaining question would be... Once I update Rog Strix B350-F bios, is there anything specific I need to set in BIOS in order to get the best out of these two sticks (2x8Gb)? I am not so interested to push it to its limits, or overclock, or whatever it's called. I am only interested to have good speeds enabled while being proven stable. What are the gains of having X.M.P enabled? Sorry for all these questions, just trying to get a firm understanding of all this new technology (at least for me, coming from ZX Spectrum age).

Thank you so much once again!


Last edited by QuorthonRhar; 01-04-2019 at 09:42 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-17-2018, 06:37 PM
QuorthonRhar's Avatar
QuorthonRhar QuorthonRhar is offline
Registered User
QuorthonRhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 945229
QuorthonRhar Reputation: 10
Default

Just a little update for all those who might have same or similar questions. With literally no effort, after updating my ASUS ROG Strix B350-F to the most recent BIOS firmware as of now (3803), I simply went under Ai Tweaker and changed AI OVERCLOCK TUNER from AUTO to D.O.C.P, and adjusted MEMORY FREQUENCY manually to DDR4-3000MHz. Absolutely no other options have I touched and changed.

That's literally all I did, and after the reboot, I was instantly able to see the speed of my memory set as 3000MHz. It's running super stable, whole last evening, night, and almost whole day today.

So to resume... anyone who might have questions regarding the Ryzen 5 1600, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F and Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3000MHz CL15 Memory Kit Black (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15) linked here: http://www.canadacomputers.com/produ...item_id=090226

I confirm, it works beautifully!



Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-19-2018, 02:36 AM
1c3 1c3 is offline
Registered User
1c3's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 945427
1c3 Reputation: 10
Default

Hello there, I'm planning to buy same kit. I have problems with cmk8gx cl15 for over 4months.. I read on corsair am4 qvl that ram cmk16gx needs to be v5.39, can you confirm to me that your modul is the same version? I dont need even that 3000mhz i just want stabe system even on spd 2133 how desperate I am... /joking tho, i want stable on max mhz i can achieve.

Tnx in advance!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-19-2018, 08:35 AM
QuorthonRhar's Avatar
QuorthonRhar QuorthonRhar is offline
Registered User
QuorthonRhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 945445
QuorthonRhar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1c3 View Post
Hello there, I'm planning to buy same kit. I have problems with cmk8gx cl15 for over 4months.. I read on corsair am4 qvl that ram cmk16gx needs to be v5.39, can you confirm to me that your modul is the same version? I dont need even that 3000mhz i just want stabe system even on spd 2133 how desperate I am... /joking tho, i want stable on max mhz i can achieve.

Tnx in advance!
Mine is CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 (2 x 8 Gb sticks)

As I mentioned in my previous post, I simply changed from AUTO to D.O.C.P inside the AI OVERCLOCK TUNER, and adjusted MEMORY FREQUENCY manually to DDR4-3000MHz. That is all I did. Version of the memory, I am not sure how can I check that.

My system runs super stable with this memory (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15) set at 3000 MHz.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-19-2018, 10:53 AM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 620
POST ID # = 945473
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1c3 View Post
Hello there, I'm planning to buy same kit. I have problems with cmk8gx cl15 for over 4months.. I read on corsair am4 qvl that ram cmk16gx needs to be v5.39, can you confirm to me that your modul is the same version? I dont need even that 3000mhz i just want stabe system even on spd 2133 how desperate I am... /joking tho, i want stable on max mhz i can achieve.

Tnx in advance!
I recommend contacting our support team regarding your current kit if you're having issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuorthonRhar View Post
Mine is CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 (2 x 8 Gb sticks)

As I mentioned in my previous post, I simply changed from AUTO to D.O.C.P inside the AI OVERCLOCK TUNER, and adjusted MEMORY FREQUENCY manually to DDR4-3000MHz. That is all I did. Version of the memory, I am not sure how can I check that.

My system runs super stable with this memory (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15) set at 3000 MHz.
Memory version can be found on the label on each module. Different versions can use different ICs depending on availability (the market tends to fluctuate from time to time), but they are validated and tested for the rated speed advertised.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-19-2018, 11:17 AM
QuorthonRhar's Avatar
QuorthonRhar QuorthonRhar is offline
Registered User
QuorthonRhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 945482
QuorthonRhar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair CJ View Post

...
...
Memory version can be found on the label on each module. Different versions can use different ICs depending on availability (the market tends to fluctuate from time to time), but they are validated and tested for the rated speed advertised.
I was afraid that's the case, I am trying not to take them out. The way they're sitting inside right now, I am not sure if I'd be able to see any labels. Will have to try when I get home (at work right now).

Is there any "memory modules info kind of application" available that would reveal that information, or it has to be taken directly from the label?

Cheers!
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-19-2018, 09:46 PM
QuorthonRhar's Avatar
QuorthonRhar QuorthonRhar is offline
Registered User
QuorthonRhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 945587
QuorthonRhar Reputation: 10
Default

I did not remove the memory from the slots, I simply took the picture with my phone. I'm posting smaller version (pic you can see below), but also providing the link for full size photo at the bottom of this message. I hope someone can recognize the version number. To me it looks borderline weird. Either it's 5.30, or 6.30. It looks more like 6, but not sure...

I placed two images next to each other, the one on the right is more zoomed in.

Can someone from Corsair confirm please?



Original size image can be seen if you use this link:
https://i.imgur.com/3KlPoCb.jpg

Last edited by QuorthonRhar; 01-04-2019 at 09:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-19-2018, 09:55 PM
QuorthonRhar's Avatar
QuorthonRhar QuorthonRhar is offline
Registered User
QuorthonRhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 945588
QuorthonRhar Reputation: 10
Default

OK, so what I don't understand, is these information CPU-Z is showing me. Am I reading this correct? Because if that's correct, why BIOS is showing differently? Plus shouldn't it at least be 2133MHz?

EDIT:

It's all good. It is actually running at close to 3000 MHz. Explanation here:
http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...-5mhz-cpu.html

In this guy's case, he was getting 1066.5 MHz...

Quote:
...thats normal. What you are seeing is the frequency, since you have DDR (doubkle data rate) RAM you have to multiply the frequency by two to get your data rate (1066.5X2=2133)...
So, in my case, that is 2 x 1496.4 = 2992.8 MHz


Last edited by QuorthonRhar; 03-20-2018 at 10:11 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-04-2019, 04:38 PM
QuorthonRhar's Avatar
QuorthonRhar QuorthonRhar is offline
Registered User
QuorthonRhar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
POST ID # = 988282
QuorthonRhar Reputation: 10
Default

...and reviving this old thread...

I purchased another two sticks (2 x 8 GB) of this same memory ( CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 ), so I have 32 GB total in my system now.

Again, I'm using this with my Ryzen 5 1600 and ASUS Rog Strix B350-F motherboard.

While I've had no problems running two memory modules (2 x 8 GB, total of 16 GB) at 3000 MHz as advertised, I've noticed I'm getting trouble running 4 of them (4 x 8 GB, total of 32 GB) at 3000 MHz. PC beeps three times after I need to restart it, or in case I want to shut it down.

I've checked every single module and it's in perfectly good working condition. Nothing ever happens when I run 2 of them only (any combination in between those 4 sticks). It's only with 4 of them plugged all in the same time. Note, this happens while I still had D.O.C.P enabled, and Memory Frequency set to 3000 MHz.

Instead of doing nothing and panic in fear that one of my new memory modules is faulty, I simply went to my BIOS, and switched off AI Overclock Tuner and that D.O.C.P with DDR4 3000 MHz set, and instead set Memory Frequency to AUTO. Memory Frequency automatically went down to 2133 MHz.

After that, three beeps never happened again. I was testing my system for 3 days straight. Never happened, not a single time.

@Corsair CJ - is there something about running all 4 modules in my configuration that makes them not being able to run at advertised speeds? It's not like I must have it at 3000 MHz, difference between what I run now (2133 MHz) and those 3000 MHz, is probably not that big in real life anyway, more on the paper.

It's just that I am trying to understand this whole concept much better. I want to learn what is the reason for 32 GB not to run as smoothly at those advertised speeds, as opposed to how 16 GB was running. I am guessing 32 GB will never run at 3000 MHz, my logic tells me... it's just I want to understand what is that that's preventing it.

Cheers!


Last edited by QuorthonRhar; 02-13-2019 at 10:15 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
am4, amd, rog strix b350-f, ryzen, ryzen 5 1600

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.