The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2018, 12:04 PM
Boots Boots is offline
Registered User
Boots's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 961947
Boots Reputation: 10
Sigh.. Corsair H100i V2 Issues

I Recently Purchased new components to build myself a new PC and have had quite some trouble with this cooler.

PC Specs:

Mobo: MSI Z370A-Pro
CPU: Intel I5-8700k
Ram: Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz (2x4gb sticks)
PSU: 750w Gold rated Modular

The issue I've ran into is firstly the Fans and pump are running however, i can't seem to get them to show up in corsair link which lead me to check if it was displaying in the device manager, which i found is showing as an error code 43(USB Device Descriptor Failed) I've tried switching the cooler's USB port to the secondary, tried uninstalling the device, rebooting, uninstall Corsair link then reinstall, Move the Fan from CPU_Header to Pump_Header but none of these have changed anything. I have also gone into the bios to disable Smart Fan control on the CPU as well as enabling Legacy USB and the Dx?H?(i forgot the name of this) thingy which still did not work. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-03-2018, 01:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,534
POST ID # = 961969
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

What GPU do you have in there? Are you running EVGA XOC?

Are you running any other monitoring tools?

Have you looked at the Liquid Cooler FAQ? Are you powered correctly?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-03-2018, 02:39 PM
Boots Boots is offline
Registered User
Boots's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 961986
Boots Reputation: 10
Default

I am running a Gigabyte GTX1080

And nope, im not running EVGA precision X

And nope to any other monitoring programs (i removed anything inherently close after testing to eliminate anything causing interference)

I've Looked at the FAQ and havent noticed anything that points to the issue im experiencing, as for the powered correctly are you able to expand on that a little for me (im not Extremely PC Literate)

Last edited by Boots; 07-03-2018 at 02:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-03-2018, 02:59 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,534
POST ID # = 961993
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

The pump is powered through the fan header connection. This is typically connected to the CPU_FAN header. You'll need to go into your BIOS and set the header to be at 100% all the time.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-03-2018, 03:32 PM
Boots Boots is offline
Registered User
Boots's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 961997
Boots Reputation: 10
Default

I've double checked the connector its on, jsut to be sure i'll show a diagram of the motherboard incase im just stupid

https://gyazo.com/fd8f46e8e634250de1118637f06b0334

And inside the bios the only options i could find are PWM or DC (its set on pwm)

And 'All full speed' was the only option i could see
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-13-2018, 08:34 AM
Boots Boots is offline
Registered User
Boots's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 963305
Boots Reputation: 10
Default

Just an update, it turns out the cooler was a faulty product, 2 weeks later i got a new cooler due to RMA and plugged in and it was instantly recognised :D
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-13-2018, 09:28 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,017
POST ID # = 963312
c-attack Reputation: 96
Default

"Full Speed" is Asus EZ-BIOS language for 'disabled' and will keep the header at a constant 12v/100% all the time. That is what you want and it is necessary to prevent power saving features or other Asus fan tuning of the pump, none of which are desirable.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-13-2018, 03:51 PM
HeavyHemi HeavyHemi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 963361
HeavyHemi Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
"Full Speed" is Asus EZ-BIOS language for 'disabled' and will keep the header at a constant 12v/100% all the time. That is what you want and it is necessary to prevent power saving features or other Asus fan tuning of the pump, none of which are desirable.
As per the techs here, you should set the fan control to DC vice PWM in his case.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-14-2018, 09:34 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,017
POST ID # = 963435
c-attack Reputation: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
As per the techs here, you should set the fan control to DC vice PWM in his case.
Not accurate. You need a 12v signal. Even if the pump is a DC motor, it doesn't care if the header is set to PWM or DC to get the 12v - neither of which were mentioned in the quoted passage. The permutations are motherboard specific, but disabling the fan control is the more sure fire way of preventing unintended fan control changes. Most boards have power saving or tuning processes that will override manual fan settings.

Last edited by c-attack; 07-14-2018 at 09:40 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-14-2018, 10:40 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,534
POST ID # = 963443
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
As per the techs here, you should set the fan control to DC vice PWM in his case.
As c-attack mentioned, not accurate.

More than not accurate, setting your fan to DC control mode is a way to get yourself into trouble. DC control mode alters voltage to control fan speed - so the pump may not get the full 12V DC that it needs to operate properly. This will give you issues with the cooler and may lead to premature failure.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
h100i v2, help please, intel, unknown usb device, water cooling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.