The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2019, 09:53 AM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 997231
siphex Reputation: 10
Default Corsair AX1200i Problems? Computer Shutting off once a day

Hello

I have a weird problem with my computer.

For the last 3 days the computer has lost all power and shuts off once every day between 12-1 pm.

It shuts off completely no BSOD or anything, like there is a power outage.
But there is no power outage cause the monitors stay on and so on that is connected to the same socket.
I also have a clock on a microwave that should reset if there is an outage.

I then get the Red light on my AX1200i, so I have to unplug power and wait for a bit and then I can turn it on again.

It then stays on for the rest of the day without any problems. Can play games and use it like normal for 12-14hours without having it again.

So I am here to hear any ideas or thoughts, whatever you can think of.

What I have done so far:
Unplugged everything to the Power supply and done self-test and it works.

Rewired/unplugged everything to see if it was a connection problem somewhere.

Used a new power cable to the PSU to see if that was faulty from a different socket.

12V,5V and 3.3V looks good in multiple software’s while tests are going on.

Bios loaded optimal defaults, and reset with battery.

Stress tested CPU in Intelburn,OCCT and prime95. To see if I can trigger
another event. Did not work

Stress tested GPU in Heaven and FurMark. To see if I can trigger another event. Did not work.

Run OCCT with Furmark. Run OCCT with Heaven. Run IntelBurn with Heaven at the same time.

Temps: CPU Max:70 / GPU Max:60 / PSU Max:45 / Memory and Harddrive temps are ok also.

Tested memory with memtest86, no errors.

Updated bios

In the upcoming days im going to start the computer after 1 pm and see if it shuts down within a certain amount of time.
Also gonna start it early in the morning and see if it is still on when I come home from work.
Maybe get some software that logs/pings every second or minute. So I know when it does it.

So if you have any thoughts or ideas on what to test let me know cause I am at a loss.

Thanks.

Last edited by siphex; 03-11-2019 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-11-2019, 07:38 PM
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 97
POST ID # = 997309
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

Try and make sure you don't have a lot of high wattage devices running at the same time on that circuit you are plugged into.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-11-2019, 09:34 PM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 997327
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

The circuit is fine, Only thing connected to it is the computer.

The circuit breaker is fine and the RCD is fine as well.

Its just the computer that shuts off.
Monitors stays on.

And they are plugged in on the same circuit.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-12-2019, 01:36 AM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 149
POST ID # = 997343
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

I wonder if there is too much of the load on the breaker box itself
__________________

Corsair SPEC-1 chassis with AX860i PSU

Hardcore Games - Legenday of the Only Way to Play

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-12-2019, 09:00 AM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 997370
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

It might be.
I will try and connect a heater to the circuit.

I think its on 1800W, that should make it unstable.
If there is something wrong with that phase or breaker box itself.

Thanks for the ideas.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-14-2019, 02:56 PM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 997729
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

On Tuesday and Wednesday it did not shut down.

And on Thursday today, it changed and shut down at 7:32pm Much later then normal. Before it was around 1pm.

So when it happened I plugged in a Microwave of 1200w to test if the
Circuit would break. Nothing happened.

Then tested with a 1800w heater same nothing happened.

Also checked sockets with with a Eurotest XA to see that power is correct and it is.

Im starting to worry that some component in the PSU is breaking.

Last edited by siphex; 03-14-2019 at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:10 PM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 997771
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

Guess next step is installing one of my old PSU for a couple of days.

And see if the same **** happens.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-15-2019, 10:21 AM
weixifan weixifan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 997814
weixifan Reputation: 10
Default

My AX860i also had random shutdown problems, but I have finally figured out the issue. For me, it's because by default, the AX860i is set to operate in Multi Rail OCP (overcurrent protection). I believe the same is true for the AX1200i.

Select your PSU in the "Settings" category in iCUE to change this setting to Single OCP (or to higher per-rail shutdown thresholds). If you find that your PSU is by default configured to be in Multi Rail mode, this could be your problem.

From my understanding, what Multi Rail OCP means is that each CPU/GPU cable (and the SATA category as a whole?) that's plugged into the PSU will have their own power limit. If the hardware on any rail goes over that power consumption limit, it will cause the PSU to shut down.

What could be happening to you is that at a certain time of the day, your computer starts to do semi-scheduled things that increases the power consumption, which trips one or more of the rail limits in Multi Rail OCP.

I fixed my PSU's shutdown problems by changing the settings back to Single OCP mode, which means the PSU will shut down if the sum total of all hardware on your PSU (per voltage rail) exceeds a preset power limit (i.e., for the AX860i, 859W for the 12V pieces, 125W for the 5V pieces, 82.5W for the 3.3V pieces; for the AX1200i, 1204W for 12V, 150W for 5V, and 99W for 3.3V). You can also increase the per-rail threshold in Multi Rail, if you know for sure how much power the pieces on each rail should draw.

Corsair's choice to set the default to Multi Rail is probably a huge mistake in terms of user-friendliness. Ironically, the digital architecture (the "i" in AXi) is what allowed them to have this (admittedly quite advanced) feature in the first place. Reading around the internet I find that many people have random shutdown problems, and many of them have RMA'd their unit, but as far as I know they didn't test whether this setting is the cause.

Last edited by weixifan; 03-15-2019 at 10:33 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-15-2019, 12:17 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 149
POST ID # = 997826
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

You would have to attach the PSU to a USB 2.0 port and then use the Corsair software to check the settings and change it
__________________

Corsair SPEC-1 chassis with AX860i PSU

Hardcore Games - Legenday of the Only Way to Play

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-15-2019, 12:59 PM
weixifan weixifan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 997831
weixifan Reputation: 10
Default

By the way, I also read that many people found setting the PSU fan speed to a fixed percentage fixes the problem for them.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-15-2019, 02:43 PM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 997848
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for all the tips.

Will do the things weixifan have mentioned and see how it goes during the weekend.

And if it still does it I will then install my old ax750w and see if the problem continues.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-15-2019, 06:57 PM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 997877
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

I turned it to Single OCP
And I turned on the fan at 40%, temp was at around 30-35C. According to ICUE

Then about 2-3hours later it happened again.

Computer shuts off completely, no warning just everything turns black.
And Red light.

So I took the AX1200i out and when I did it felt really warm to my hand.
Which I think was weird since ICUE said 30-35C

So now I have an AX750 in there instead.

So lets see what happens in the next couple of days.

Is it dangerous to run the AX1200i with jump start mode for too long? Wanted to have it on with only a fan on load to see if it will shut down at some point.

Great Regards

Last edited by siphex; 03-15-2019 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-16-2019, 11:22 PM
weixifan weixifan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 998017
weixifan Reputation: 10
Default

One thing I am also currently having trouble with is that I can't control the fan on my AX860i with iCUE. I manually inspected them and noticed they weren't spinning at all. Did you make sure your fan was actually spinning? I uninstalled iCUE and used Corsair Link and it successfully turned on the fan.

I think the AXi series is really giving us a lot of trouble.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 03-17-2019, 07:01 AM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 998030
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

Yes it was running, I looked at it.

It also went from 45C to 30-35C.

And yes it seems like the AX series is giving problems to alot of people, based on reading the forums.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 03-17-2019, 10:49 AM
siphex siphex is offline
Registered User
siphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 998037
siphex Reputation: 10
Default

Rightnow I have the AX750 running in my main system.

And I have the AX1200i running on an old mobo,cpu,ram half built system.

Gonna see if anything shuts down in the upcoming days.

So hard to pinpoint problems like this when you cant replicate them.
Does not matter how much I stress the system with running two different tests at the same time and so on.

Still cant replicate. I just happens sometimes (not even everyday) that the system just shuts down.

Sadface
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.