The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2018, 09:51 PM
ovnis31 ovnis31 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 974593
ovnis31 Reputation: 10
Thumbs down My hard drives make lots of clicks when Icue is installed

When Icue is uninstalled, my hard drives don't make clicks. When icue is installed, there is lots of noise (all 10 sec). When will you do fix this annoying issue, please ?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-28-2018, 11:53 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,203
POST ID # = 974605
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

So ...
The clicking is from the hard drive monitoring. Some drives do it - apparently there's a large crop of WD drives that do it - and some drives don't.

It's something that was complained about loudly. Corsair pulled the functionality to investigate. What they found was what I just described - and there didn't seem to be a way it.

But a bunch of folks complained loudly that the monitoring was removed. The clicking didn't affect them but they wanted their drive temperatures.

With that said, it is my understanding that the plan is to allow users to enabled/disable hard drive monitoring. I do not have an ETA on this. This should hopefully make everyone happy but I'm sure that there will be at least someone that's angry over it.

Finally ... you either go to an earlier version (that still has monitoring removed) or you can renamed CPUIDSDK.dll to something else (like CPUIDSDK.bak). This will, however, remove ALL system variable monitoring; you'll only be able to monitor readings from Corsair devices (Commander Pro, any i-Series cooler). So it's really taking a sledgehammer to the problem.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-29-2018, 06:38 PM
Aysberg Aysberg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 974685
Aysberg Reputation: 10
Default

I have a clicking hard drive (Seagate Exos 10TB) when iCue is running too. Had to disable one service at a time to find the cause. Having every few seconds drive access is simply annoying.

That there is no option to disable a specific drive in first place is disappointing on top. HWInfo can be configured and all the other tools I use too. Corsair is the only company using customers as test bed for unfinished software.

Thanks that you software, which is part of your unfinished products is trashing my much more expensive drives and data.

PS Removing CPUIDSDK (removed the *64 file too) did the trick, but it shouldn't have been to hard to implement an option and to put this fact in a readme or even a warning when running your software. Unticking monitoring in settings should have done the trick too in working product?

PPS Last time for me that I did chose a Corsair product.

Soory wrong thread, I am on v3.7.99 and it' still not fixed :(

Last edited by Aysberg; 09-29-2018 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.