The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2018, 04:54 PM
guschen802 guschen802 is offline
Registered User
guschen802's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 957158
guschen802 Reputation: 10
Default New to AIO, H100i v2 with i7-8700k stock speed prime95 over 80c

New to AIO, H100i v2 with i7-8700k stock speed prime95 over 80c

I am new to AIO, so wanna check whether this is normal.

Room temp is around 16~20c temp
Case is 460x, radiator mount at front
CPU using stock speed, MCE enabled

Boot up water pump temp around 30c

Using Prime95 stress test it reach to ~83c(performance mode) ~86(quite mode)

I have a pump issue at very beginning, the temp suddenly went over 80c during casual work. Pump temp over 40c. So I reapply the pump head with new thermal paste then do the prime95 test with result post above.

Just wanna make sure I am right this time.

Thanks in advanced!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-02-2018, 05:04 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,816
POST ID # = 957160
c-attack Reputation: 96
Default

Make sure the motherboard header powering the H100i v2 is set to 100% or disabled. 30C sounds too high for non load. What is the pump speed right now? It should be about 2000 rpm for balanced.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-02-2018, 05:10 PM
guschen802 guschen802 is offline
Registered User
guschen802's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 957163
guschen802 Reputation: 10
Default

The test was done yesterday, today during morning, the pump start up at 25c with room temp around 18. Then after 10 minutes bootup time, it reach to 30c and stable. CPU package temp is ~35c idle time. And using quite mode, I can’t remember the rpm for pump, but I think its around 1800rpm

The cpu header is making sure 12V all the time.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-02-2018, 05:27 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,816
POST ID # = 957164
c-attack Reputation: 96
Default

OK, that sounds more like what I was expecting and 1800-2000 rpm is within the normal variance for the Balanced setting.

So, the cooler seems to be working properly. If you don't like the 83-86C number, you need to do a few things. 1) Turn off MCE. 2) Read the Asus OC guide, in particular the part about IA/DC load line level. 3) Probably not run Prime 95 unless you are actually hunting Mersenne factors. It's not good for the ego.

http://edgeup.asus.com/2017/kaby-lak...locking-guide/

This is for Z270, but it is effectively the same. The load line information is at the bottom of page 3. It is somewhat technical and it is not necessary to understand it all, but it should give you some idea of the issues in play.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-02-2018, 06:31 PM
guschen802 guschen802 is offline
Registered User
guschen802's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 957176
guschen802 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
OK, that sounds more like what I was expecting and 1800-2000 rpm is within the normal variance for the Balanced setting.

So, the cooler seems to be working properly. If you don't like the 83-86C number, you need to do a few things. 1) Turn off MCE. 2) Read the Asus OC guide, in particular the part about IA/DC load line level. 3) Probably not run Prime 95 unless you are actually hunting Mersenne factors. It's not good for the ego.

http://edgeup.asus.com/2017/kaby-lak...locking-guide/

This is for Z270, but it is effectively the same. The load line information is at the bottom of page 3. It is somewhat technical and it is not necessary to understand it all, but it should give you some idea of the issues in play.


Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-03-2018, 02:14 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,185
POST ID # = 957240
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Part of the issue is that Prime95 makes heavy use of AVX instructions. These run super-hot on Sky/Kaby/Coffee Lake processors (hence the introduction of the AVX offset for overclocking).
That said, > 80C is probably to be expected for a Prime95 session, especially if your chip hasn't been delidded. Intel's thermal paste sucks.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-03-2018, 07:38 PM
guschen802 guschen802 is offline
Registered User
guschen802's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 957265
guschen802 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks, I did some further test with other stress test, the pump seems to works fine.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-04-2018, 01:45 AM
cvearl cvearl is offline
Registered User
cvearl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 957288
cvearl Reputation: 10
Default

I have a Ryzen 5 2600X and I use a custom fan curve on my H100i v2. 40% FAN SPEED when water over 40C... (1500 RPM) and Quiet Pump mode (~1980 RPM).

Idle after 15 minutes desktop is 35C
Full load 1 Hour AIDA64 is 75C Average (H100i water temp 43C)
Gaming 1 Hour 53C average

I stopped using Prime95 years ago. Just AIDA64 now personally.

C.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-04-2018, 12:52 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,185
POST ID # = 957332
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvearl View Post
I have a Ryzen 5 2600X and I use a custom fan curve on my H100i v2. 40% FAN SPEED when water over 40C... (1500 RPM) and Quiet Pump mode (~1980 RPM).

Idle after 15 minutes desktop is 35C
Full load 1 Hour AIDA64 is 75C Average (H100i water temp 43C)
Gaming 1 Hour 53C average

I stopped using Prime95 years ago. Just AIDA64 now personally.

C.
I'd be concerned about that water temp; it seems a little high. What is your ambient temperature? Is your radiator intake or exhaust? If exhaust, what's the internal case temperature?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-05-2018, 01:59 PM
cvearl cvearl is offline
Registered User
cvearl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 957637
cvearl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I'd be concerned about that water temp; it seems a little high. What is your ambient temperature? Is your radiator intake or exhaust? If exhaust, what's the internal case temperature?
It's Summer here in Canada. Room temp is 25C.

Radiator is TOP mounted (fans between case and Rad) in a Corsair Carbide 400C case set up to exhaust out the top through the screen. Fans set to run 40% or 45% as the MAX speed when water is over 40C.

Front of case has 2 AF140MM Corsair Fans as INTAKE. (Set to 840 RPM)

Rear of case is a Corsair ML120 120MM Fan as Exhaust out the back. Set to (1200 RPM).

Video card puts out a TON of heat. Asus ROG Strix RX 580 OC edition. I can cook an egg on the back plate when gaming.

Charles.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-05-2018, 02:18 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,185
POST ID # = 957641
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvearl View Post
It's Summer here in Canada. Room temp is 25C.

Radiator is TOP mounted (fans between case and Rad) in a Corsair Carbide 400C case set up to exhaust out the top through the screen. Fans set to run 40% or 45% as the MAX speed when water is over 40C.

Front of case has 2 AF140MM Corsair Fans as INTAKE. (Set to 840 RPM)

Rear of case is a Corsair ML120 120MM Fan as Exhaust out the back. Set to (1200 RPM).

Video card puts out a TON of heat. Asus ROG Strix RX 580 OC edition. I can cook an egg on the back plate when gaming.

Charles.
So your internal case temperature is going to be high. This will actually warm up your coolant if it's higher than the coolant temperature.

I understand the desire for low fan speeds but you need to let them increase as your load (and resulting temperatures) increase. Otherwise you won't be able to move the heat out of the system fast enough. And with your configuration, I don't think that there's anywhere near enough airflow at load to keep the system at a reasonable temperature, regardless of the room temperature.

I'm gonna guess that the air coming out the back is quite warm as well, yes?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-05-2018, 03:59 PM
cvearl cvearl is offline
Registered User
cvearl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 957669
cvearl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
So your internal case temperature is going to be high. This will actually warm up your coolant if it's higher than the coolant temperature.

I understand the desire for low fan speeds but you need to let them increase as your load (and resulting temperatures) increase. Otherwise you won't be able to move the heat out of the system fast enough. And with your configuration, I don't think that there's anywhere near enough airflow at load to keep the system at a reasonable temperature, regardless of the room temperature.

I'm gonna guess that the air coming out the back is quite warm as well, yes?
Yup the top and rear air exhaust is definitely warm when gaming. Not so much when just "processing" or working.

Note: I did try the radiator front mounted (it is sexier that way) as an intake and moved the 140's to the top. CPU was 3 - 5 C cooler under Aida 64. Water was a few degrees cooler as well. But when gaming... The Strix would spin up the fans something awful. It did not like the warm intake. Top exhaust worked best in terms of balance.

Honestly. Set to the default profile, CPU and Water were cooler. Yup. But... Then I was not happy with the audio from the cooler which is why I lowered the max fan speed to 1500 RPM under load.

Would there be a more quiet model if I sold this? I like cooling. 2600X boosts higher the cooler I get it. With performance mode on the H100i, it will auto boost to 4.2 - 4.25 on all cores the whole time I am in PUBG. With 1500 RPM it is half the decibels but boosting only an average 4.125 GHz.

Charles.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-05-2018, 04:52 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,185
POST ID # = 957687
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Right now, the biggest thing that I think you need to do is increase the intake of cool air from the outside. What's the max speed on those AF fans? Do you have a Commander Pro? If so, you can use the thermistors on that to control fan speeds based on internal case temperature, which will be a much better control variable than your CPU. If not ... see what your motherboard has available. Some motherboards actually have a connector for a thermistor (you don't have your system specs listed in your profile so I don't know if yours does ... hint hint) that would allow you to do the same thing.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-05-2018, 05:36 PM
cvearl cvearl is offline
Registered User
cvearl's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 957704
cvearl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Right now, the biggest thing that I think you need to do is increase the intake of cool air from the outside. What's the max speed on those AF fans? Do you have a Commander Pro? If so, you can use the thermistors on that to control fan speeds based on internal case temperature, which will be a much better control variable than your CPU. If not ... see what your motherboard has available. Some motherboards actually have a connector for a thermistor (you don't have your system specs listed in your profile so I don't know if yours does ... hint hint) that would allow you to do the same thing.
Ahh...

Not sure on fan max speed for these. I was using SMART FAN mode on my motherboard. I can assign % speed based on CPU temp like you said. I will have to look into that thermistor.

Corsair Carbide 400C (with all them sweet fans) (1x120 and 2x140)
MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon motherboard
Ryzen 2600X with 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR 3200 CL16 RAM
ASUS Rog Strix RX 580 OC 8GB
Samsung 250 GB and 500 GB SSD's
Coolermaster 650 Watt modular PSU

C.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-05-2018, 05:51 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,185
POST ID # = 957706
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

If you can click "Edit System Specs" at the top and put that info in there, it'd be cool. It keeps it handy when questions come up.

It doesn't look like your motherboard has a connector for a thermistor. :(

Using CPU temp for chassis cooling fans isn't appropriate for a water-cooled system; your CPU isn't dumping waste heat into the system case. It's actually putting it into the coolant and then it's getting exhausted. The next thing to do is look and see if any additional onboard temperature sensors would be appropriate ... something to give you an indication of when things are heating up inside the case. Because that's what you really need to worry about cooling with the case fans, not the CPU.

Or, of course, a Commander Pro.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.