The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2018, 09:42 PM
Alan_the_great Alan_the_great is offline
Registered User
Alan_the_great's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 941718
Alan_the_great Reputation: 10
Default (Minor Issue) Link Displays Incorrect RAM Model

I'm a bit OCD with certain things and this just happens to be one of them. I've noticed that the product number of my RAM kit is incorrectly displayed on Link. I have G.Skill's F4-2400C15D-32GIS and it shows up as F4-2400C15-16GIS, not a real model number as well as it being the wrong capacity. Is there a way to change the names of displayed hardware, or will I have to wait for this specific RAM kit to be added to Link?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-21-2018, 11:58 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 4,734
POST ID # = 941725
DevBiker Reputation: 69
Default

Can you check to see how CPU-Z identifies the RAM kit?

Individual RAM kits are not "added" to link; it's typically read from the hardware itself (for memory, the SPD, if I'm not mistaken).
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-22-2018, 08:26 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,246
POST ID # = 941772
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

It sounds like the first part number is for the kit of memory and that's what's on the package, but they have a different part number for each individual stick. Ask the manufacturer of the memory to be sure.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-13-2018, 03:58 PM
Alan_the_great Alan_the_great is offline
Registered User
Alan_the_great's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 944699
Alan_the_great Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
It sounds like the first part number is for the kit of memory and that's what's on the package, but they have a different part number for each individual stick. Ask the manufacturer of the memory to be sure.
I checked each stick both physically and on G.Skill's site and they match, just not in Link. Now it doesn't even have a name for the RAM it just lists the measurements.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-13-2018, 05:24 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 4,734
POST ID # = 944709
DevBiker Reputation: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan_the_great View Post
I checked each stick both physically and on G.Skill's site and they match, just not in Link. Now it doesn't even have a name for the RAM it just lists the measurements.
Understood ... but what does CPU-Z say that the model number is? Because that's also reading from the SPD.

It's a difference between a "marketing number" and a product number that they flash into the device.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.