The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2018, 04:57 AM
sunde sunde is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 984322
sunde Reputation: 10
Default AX1200i Questions

Hi guys,

Long time corsair customer, first time poster. I have a couple of questions I'm hoping someone can help me with, many thanks in advance.

1. Would I be able to use the Type 4 CPU cable from a HX1200 with an AX1200i PSU?

2. If yes, would there be any performance loss in doing so?

3. Similarly, is there any performance loss associated with not using the digital link cables + software to monitor (and tweak?) the PSU?

4. Lastly, this question is more for a corsair employee: I've owned 4-5 high end corsair PSU's (along with all corsair peripherals) and I've never had a problem with any corsair products. Even if I had, being in Australia the warranty/RMA process seems very difficult. I had a work trip to PNG and returned last month but came home to discover the box containing just about all my cables gone/thrown away/nobody knows... Is there any chance Corsair would send me a new set of cables for the AX1200i? I have purchase proof and warranty information... Even if I could afford a new set of cables locally, the only supplier in my city can't give me an ETA, and there is not a single supplier for the digital link usb connector... I managed to scrounge together a few cables and I'm hoping I didn't make any mistakes but I'm mainly missing the ax1200i CPU cable and the link connector. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,
Brendan
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-08-2018, 01:37 PM
auskie auskie is offline
Registered User
auskie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 984381
auskie Reputation: 10
Default

Hey, check the link below. I am inclined to say no? the AX1200i, according to the chart, uses a Type3 24-pin ATX cable like the HXi while the HX1200 uses a Type4 24-pin ATX cable like the AX1600i.

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/psu-cable-compatibility

However, with that said, see this:



The pin out is the same... Hopefully someone more knowledgeable and wise than I can clarify. I know the primary difference between Type 3 and Type 4 PSU cables are the in-line capacitors... I don't know what/how this works effectually.

Edit: I just bought a Type3 AX1200/AXi cable for use with my HX1000i. Haven't tried it yet, but can't think of a reason it won't work.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-08-2018, 09:58 PM
sunde sunde is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 984454
sunde Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply. Just to clarify I have the AX1200i ATX 24pin cable but only a type 4 CPU cable from the HX1200. I know there are different generations of cables within the types as well (type 4 gen1/2/3 etc.) but I'm not sure how to check this or if it matters.

I have had a look at Corsair's compatibility page and according to that I would say they aren't compatible but when I google the same question I find people saying all type 3 and 4 cables except the ATX are interchangeable - this is not the case at all if you go by Corsair's own compatibility page you linked above.

So I don't know what to believe, if they are indeed interchangeable why would Corsair have such a misleading page? Either way I'm extremely confused at this point :S

Last edited by sunde; 12-08-2018 at 10:20 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-09-2018, 05:54 PM
auskie auskie is offline
Registered User
auskie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 984585
auskie Reputation: 10
Default

I looked closer at the compatibility page. I think you’re good to go to use type 3 or type 4 8 pin cables with the ax1200i. Looks like only the 24-pin is not comptible just like others have said.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-09-2018, 09:09 PM
sunde sunde is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 984607
sunde Reputation: 10
Default

You think so? If that is the case, do you think there is any performance loss in doing so?

I'm not sure how the capacitors in type 4 cables effect anything, as I understand this is the main difference between type 3 and 4 cables, or what the different generations (type 3, gen 1/2/3/4 etc) mean for the cable/pin-out.

Am I providing enough information with just the cable types I have? I can't see the generation labeled on the cable anywhere so I'm at a loss as to how to identify this.

Even the term "pin-out" is new to me so I'm trying to get as much confirmation as possible.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-09-2018, 10:18 PM
auskie auskie is offline
Registered User
auskie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 984610
auskie Reputation: 10
Default



That means "ALL AXI (EXCLUDES AX1600I)" are compatible with Type 4 - 8-pin EPS12V and Type 3 - 8-pin EPS12V. Or am I misreading it?

As far as a performance loss, what is your AX1200i rated at? Gold? Platinum? I would assume you should expect that level of efficiency.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-10-2018, 02:35 AM
sunde sunde is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 984625
sunde Reputation: 10
Default

My AX1200i is rated platinum, looking again at the corsair page it seems you're right, I'm not sure how I mis-read it, I was certain the chart said the cables weren't compatible.

I guess that answers that. My other questions were regarding performance loss using non-designated cables, hoping someone can answer this for me.

Many thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-10-2018, 03:56 PM
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 778
POST ID # = 984738
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

Hey there, you'll have no issues using the Type 4 8-pin EPS CPU cable with your AX1200i. The only one you'll need to discern is indeed the 24-pin cable, which you mentioned already having. The inline capacitor helps with ripple suppression and should have an affect on your performance.

In regards to extra cables, unfortunately, you'd want to get the part numbers and find a local retailer for them.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-11-2018, 04:10 AM
sunde sunde is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 984804
sunde Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Mint View Post
The inline capacitor helps with ripple suppression and should have an affect on your performance.
Is this to say it will have a positive or negative affect on performance? Are type 4 cables better than type 3? I have more type 4 cables available (PCIE, SATA etc.), should I swap these in over the type 3 ones I have that say "AXi 1200 only"?

I guess I should mention I have a very high end power board that supplies clean and stable power to my important electrical devices.

As I understand the AX1200i is a "better" model than the HX1200, but the AX1200i uses type 3 cables (and can be considered a type 3 PSU in terms of cables).

So with the AX1200i being a type 3 PSU whose cables were not released with inline capacitors, will type 4 cables including the capacitors have an affect on something? Hoping for clarification on this, as well as if *not* using the corsair digital link usb connection (don't have it anymore) would incur any performance loss i.e. what can be done fine-tuning wise in corsair link to your PSU to increase performance? anything? or is it just monitoring?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-12-2018, 08:24 PM
sunde sunde is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 985099
sunde Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Mint View Post
Hey there
Can I please get a more thorough answer to my questions above?

Last edited by sunde; 12-12-2018 at 10:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-13-2018, 04:03 PM
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 778
POST ID # = 985226
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

Sorry, I meant to say that it should not have an effect on your performance at all, you'll have no different with Type 3 or Type 4. Sorry for the confusion, was a typo.

Likewise with the Link connection, it's for mainly monitoring and control of the fans as well as adjusting the overcurrent protection on the 12V rails.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 12-15-2018, 11:05 PM
sunde sunde is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 985635
sunde Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you very much for the clarification, appreciate it.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.