The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2018, 01:57 PM
tealsteam tealsteam is offline
Registered User
tealsteam's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 987365
tealsteam Reputation: 10
Default VENGEANCE RGB PRO DDR4 Lighting Enhancement Kit Blue Screen

Hi All, having blue screen issues with the new lighting kit,

My Rig is,
MSI Z370 GAMING PRO CARBON
Intel 8086K
VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 4000MHz C19 Memory Kit
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3

For Christmas I got the lighting enhancement kit, ever since installing it, my computer blue screens, different error codes pretty much every time.

Tried the usual reseating didn't work, reset cmos didn't work, reinstalled windows, didn't work. any ideas?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-09-2019, 01:29 AM
Corsair Rick Corsair Rick is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Rick's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 205
POST ID # = 988937
Corsair Rick Reputation: 10
Default

Hello tealsteam,

Sorry for the late response. We've been a bit delayed due to the holidays. Sorry to hear about the issue. Have you tried a clean install of iCUE with a third party utility that cleans up after the fact? They often clean up things that the uninstaller won't get.

You may also want to try swapping the slots of the memory and the lighting enhancement kit. Otherwise I'd suggest reaching out to our Technical Support team at support.corsair.com
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-15-2019, 09:48 AM
tealsteam tealsteam is offline
Registered User
tealsteam's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 989985
tealsteam Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Rick, thanks for the response,

Whilst I didn't think this would work, I had attempted it anyway and this doesn't work, this causes the machine to not post.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-17-2019, 12:30 PM
Corsair Rick Corsair Rick is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Rick's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 205
POST ID # = 990278
Corsair Rick Reputation: 10
Default

Hello tealsteam,

Sorry to hear that didn't work. It was a bit of a long shot. I'd suggest cleanly uninstalling the software again and using the version we recently released. I have spoken with a few people who had their detection issues resolved, but that was with full kits of memory.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-17-2019, 02:14 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 486
POST ID # = 990301
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Hi tealsteam,

Could you submit a ticket on our support site so we may replace this kit for you? Once you have a ticket created, please let me know the ticket number. Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-18-2019, 01:12 PM
tealsteam tealsteam is offline
Registered User
tealsteam's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 990396
tealsteam Reputation: 10
Default

StormShadow, I bought a second lighting kit for another PC, and it doesn't work with that either, so i am unsure as to whether replacing the lighting kit will help, I've disabled the XMP profile and its working fine, it just seems to be when i pump the memory up to 4000mhz,

And i've already had this ram replaced 5 times. and you've(not you corsair) upgraded it to the pro ram.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-21-2019, 02:19 AM
Bianca391 Bianca391 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 990764
Bianca391 Reputation: 10
Default

That's actually not a bad idea, bad idea tho is this price, 40 bucks for dummies, lol, for $60 you can buy 8GB more ram.
mybkexperience

Last edited by Bianca391; 01-22-2019 at 05:30 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-22-2019, 07:27 AM
tealsteam tealsteam is offline
Registered User
tealsteam's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 990948
tealsteam Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bianca391 View Post
That's actually not a bad idea, bad idea tho is this price, 40 bucks for dummies, lol, for $60 you can buy 8GB more ram.
mybkexperience
That all depends, i have 16gb(2x8) 4000mhz which even though my motherboard has 4 slots, for 4000mhz maximum i can only run 2 sticks, leaving 2 empty ports,

Its also inadvisable to run different memory/sizes/speeds due to instability issues this can cause, Running 3 sticks won't allow dual channel to be run,
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-22-2019, 08:53 AM
Gabbatek Gabbatek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 990961
Gabbatek Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tealsteam View Post
That all depends, i have 16gb(2x8) 4000mhz which even though my motherboard has 4 slots, for 4000mhz maximum i can only run 2 sticks, leaving 2 empty ports,

Its also inadvisable to run different memory/sizes/speeds due to instability issues this can cause, Running 3 sticks won't allow dual channel to be run,
Hmm i have the pro 4000mhz rgb and with what you've said i think i'll check my mobo can run an extra 2 8gb sticks.

Also, it may not help but check your bios is upto date.

XMP might be causing the issue if you have it set. With my mobo i can set xmp per channel so maybe if you can turn it off for the dummy rgb sticks it might help. Could be voltage related or something too
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-06-2019, 05:22 PM
tealsteam tealsteam is offline
Registered User
tealsteam's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 992953
tealsteam Reputation: 10
Default

well with hesitation i pumped the dram voltage up to 1.4v from 1.35 and so far no crashes.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
blue screen, lighting enhancement kit, rgb pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.