The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2017, 02:58 PM
Breaker1818 Breaker1818 is offline
Registered User
Breaker1818's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 901126
Breaker1818 Reputation: 10
Default SP120 RGB Flicker with LNP

Before I begin, I would like to say thanks in advance for any and all assistance.

I recently purchased a Corsair Crystal 570X, six HD120 RGB fans (with controller), and a Lighting Node Pro. I am waiting for the final three HD120 fans to get here, so I decided to use the SP120 RGB fans included in the case until the HD120s arrive. My setup is as follows:

LNP Port 1 --->RGB Controller(came with case)--->SP120 RGB x 3
LNP Port 2 --->RGB Controller(came with fans)--->HD120 RGB x 3

I am using C-Link 4.6.0.86, and the LNP is using firmware 0.2.65.

The LEDs in the HD120s work as they are supposed to, but the SP120 LEDs do not.

I searched through these forums, and I found other folks mention flickering SP120 RGB issues, but none of their symptom descriptions seems to match what I am experiencing. I downloaded SIV to better control the hardware, and to gather data that may be useful.

So, on to the symptom: The SP120 fans flicker when connected to the LNP. They are on their own controller, and it doesn't matter which LNP port I plug them into - the result is the same. The flicker isn't caused my EMI, as it does not exhibit that type of symptom (rapid, rythmic flickering). This flicker is like that of an old neon light. The LEDs are off more than they are on, and when they do energize, it is brief, sporadic, and the flickering is not in sync between the fans. The colors I input into either SIV or C-Link are accurately displayed, but the LEDs just flicker. As a side note, there is no flickering when using the included button controller instead of the LNP.

I have included screenshots of some of the SIV windows in the event they are helpful.

Thanks!

Breaker

P.S. - The flicker is similar to .gif attached to this post.
Attached Images
File Type: png 2017-04-28 (1).png (48.7 KB, 750 views)
File Type: png 2017-04-28 (2).png (18.5 KB, 346 views)
File Type: png 2017-04-28 (4).png (50.8 KB, 207 views)
File Type: png 2017-04-28 (5).png (47.5 KB, 186 views)
File Type: png 2017-04-28 (6).png (27.1 KB, 241 views)
File Type: png 2017-04-28 (7).png (25.9 KB, 195 views)
File Type: png 2017-04-28.png (58.5 KB, 2850 views)
File Type: gif tumblr_ng32mhhedv1u32qb5o1_500.gif (1,016.0 KB, 964 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-28-2017, 03:20 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 901129
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

The names you used make it tricky to know which screen shot is which and names such as [Link Setup].png would be better.

I need to see [Link Setup], but can't find it.

If you interpose the ports what happens?

Are you using SIV or CL4 to control the LNP? What happens if you use CL4? I don't have any SP LED fans, but have been told SIV controls them OK.

Last edited by red-ray; 04-28-2017 at 03:27 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-28-2017, 03:32 PM
Breaker1818 Breaker1818 is offline
Registered User
Breaker1818's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 901131
Breaker1818 Reputation: 10
Default

Red-Ray,

Thanks for the quick reply! I have attached a screenshot of Link Setup. My apologies for the naming confusion. I have tried swapping the ports of the LNP, I have used only one controller connected to it for the SP120s (disconnecting the HD120s and their associated controller), using both ports with the aforementioned single controller, switching the SP120s to the controller that the HD120s were on - after removing the HD120s, of course. Nothing has resolved the issue. As an aside, the HD120s work perfectly well on either controller. The SP120s do not work on either controller, unless the button pad is used instead of the LNP. Again, thank you for your assistance!

Best Regards,
Breaker

Edit: I realized I didn't answer everything! I was using CL4, but have moved to using SIV. It happens no matter which software I use, however. SIV, like CL4, changes the LEDs to the correct color, but the flickering remains.
Attached Images
File Type: png Link Setup.png (29.7 KB, 2997 views)

Last edited by Breaker1818; 04-28-2017 at 03:43 PM. Reason: Additional information
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-28-2017, 03:42 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 901133
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Where did V0.2.65 come from?

By controller do you mean the box with ports 1 to 6? If so it's called a hub.

[Link Setup] is correct, but as I don't have any SP LED fans I can't check if it works here.

What happens if you use CL 4.6.0.86 to control the LNP?

Quote:
I only have the V0.2.54 LNP firmware, where did V0.2.65 come from?

Last edited by red-ray; 04-28-2017 at 03:48 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-28-2017, 03:49 PM
Breaker1818 Breaker1818 is offline
Registered User
Breaker1818's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 901135
Breaker1818 Reputation: 10
Default

It would be the hub, then. CL4 and SIV both have the identical issue, so I believe the LNP is probably to blame - the SP120s work fine when it is out of the loop. I have found SIV to be superior to CL4, so I am moving to it exclusively. CL4 is nice for what it is, and I was happy with it when I had only a H100i GTX, but times have changed, and so has my hardware! As always, thank you!

EDIT:
0.2.65 came from CL4. I have posted a copy here.

Last edited by Technobeard; 04-28-2017 at 08:54 PM.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #6  
Old 04-28-2017, 03:54 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 901136
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

OK, can you copy the V0.2.65 firmware, then ZIP and post it please.

I feel it would be worth you trying the 0.2.54 firmware, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=892389 for how I did this.

Last edited by red-ray; 04-29-2017 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-28-2017, 03:56 PM
Breaker1818 Breaker1818 is offline
Registered User
Breaker1818's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 901137
Breaker1818 Reputation: 10
Default

Please see my previous edit for the LNP 0.2.65 firmware. And thank you!

EDIT: Geez, I am editing a lot in order to not double post. The link you provided had a link in it somewhere (I scrolled a lot) that is pretty much identical to the issue I am having. There didn't seem to be resolution. I'll just have to deal with it until the HD120s come in, I suppose. Thank you!

Last edited by Breaker1818; 04-28-2017 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-28-2017, 04:04 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 901139
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea it must have been already in the LNP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breaker1818 View Post
0.2.65 came from CL4. I have posted a copy here.
Thank you, but I think it must have been already in the LNP as CL 4.6.0.86 came with 0.2.54.

What is in C:\ProgramData\CLink4\FirmwareUpdates\?

I need to go out, so it will be tomorrow before I can look at the new firmware.

Last edited by red-ray; 04-28-2017 at 04:10 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-28-2017, 04:11 PM
Breaker1818 Breaker1818 is offline
Registered User
Breaker1818's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 901143
Breaker1818 Reputation: 10
Default

After reading your last message, I see where I was unclear. 4.6.86 did initally ask me to upgrade my LNP with 0.2.54. My LNP came with 0.1.46. I put off the 0.2.54 update because it seems like a decent amount of people were/are having issues with it. But, once I realized my SP120 fans weren't showing up in CL4 due to the LNP having 0.1.46 firmware, I decided to update, and the 0.2.54 firmware was replaced by 0.2.65 (in CL4>Options>Devices) in the 3-4 days I have had this new hardware.

Screenshot of C:\ProgramData\CLink4\FirmwareUpdates attached.
Attached Images
File Type: png Firmware Folder.png (41.6 KB, 158 views)

Last edited by Breaker1818; 04-28-2017 at 04:18 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-28-2017, 07:11 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 901161
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea Install the 0.2.54 firmware in your LNP and check what happens

Looking at http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=167508 it seems an update was pushed, but as to what it actually does it about an clear as mud !

I feel it would be informative to install the 0.2.54 firmware in your LNP and check what happens
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-28-2017, 07:54 PM
Breaker1818 Breaker1818 is offline
Registered User
Breaker1818's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 901164
Breaker1818 Reputation: 10
Default

I loaded the 0.2.54 firmware and, unfortunately, it didn't resolve the issue. I may be wrong, of course, but I do believe it is a firmware issue. When I saw the *.54 firmware didn't work, I just used CL4 to update it to *.65 again. The install hanged, and all three fans turned on to the correct color, NO flickering! However, since the update didn't go past 26% for over 30 minutes, I did a manual update, rebooted, and back came the flickering. I should receive the three HD120s to replace these tomorrow, but I'll be out of town for the weekend, so I'll see if there are any issues with them on Monday. I suspect this is isolated to the SP120s. After praying to lord Google, it seems the two of us in the forums that are having this issue aren't the only ones. Thanks again for your help, Red-Ray!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-29-2017, 09:46 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 901217
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea I should add ASRock Z75 Pro3 support to SIV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breaker1818 View Post


I have found SIV to be superior to CL4, so I am moving to it exclusively.
I guess I should add ASRock Z75 Pro3 support to SIV as the voltages are obviously wonky. This would be much easier if I had the SIV save files, see http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=788225 for what I would need/like.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-29-2017, 12:47 PM
Breaker1818 Breaker1818 is offline
Registered User
Breaker1818's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 901225
Breaker1818 Reputation: 10
Default

I'll get the info you need when I return home on Monday. Thank you!
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-29-2017, 04:43 PM
whuber97 whuber97 is offline
Registered User
whuber97's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 901256
whuber97 Reputation: 10
Default

I unfortunately have the exact same problem with no resolution: see here:

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=167374

I've replaced the LNP as well, same exact issue, so I agree it tends to point to a firmware issue.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-29-2017, 04:55 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 901258
red-ray Reputation: 81
Sigh.. I suspect Corsair will take several attempts to fix this

Quote:
Originally Posted by whuber97 View Post
I've replaced the LNP as well, same exact issue, so I agree it tends to point to a firmware issue.
I half wish I had an SP fan so I could check this out myself.

I suspect Corsair will take several attempts to fix this
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
flicker, flickering, link node pro, lnp, sp120 rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.