The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.11 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2014, 01:41 PM
Danidasanic Danidasanic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 710188
Danidasanic Reputation: 10
Default AX860i Tier 2 Caps\ downgrade

Hi

Why the ax860i reviewed on johnyguru.com site got all japanese caps and mine (bought only few days later) have some caps changed rated@ 85ºc ?

Whats the point to review one product and deliver a downgrade version to consumers ? thats what i call a scam, i paid more than 200€ for this downgrade psu thinking that i was getting a premium psu just like i saw on johnyguru.com.. i'm very disapointed

Last edited by Danidasanic; 05-08-2014 at 01:43 PM.


  #2  
Old 05-08-2014, 02:16 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 710195
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

What caps are 85°C? Can you take pictures?

The small caps on the modular interface can be either NCC brand (brown) or Taicon brand (mint green), but as far as I know they should always be 105°C.

Last edited by jonnyguru; 05-08-2014 at 02:24 PM.


  #3  
Old 05-08-2014, 02:54 PM
Danidasanic Danidasanic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 710200
Danidasanic Reputation: 10
Default

it's a bit hard to take a picture



its like this capxon . i can't see the brand , just the ref: p1230vent gs85ºc , not like a nippon chemi-con


  #4  
Old 05-08-2014, 03:13 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 710203
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

It's "like" that CapXon or it "is" that CapXon that's in yours?

Still can't see that it's an 85°C vs. 105°C based on Xbit's picture.

I hadn't seen the CapXon yet, but where that cap is is the one lone Taicon cap usually is (other than the ones on the modular interface).

And you're sure you can read "p1230vent gs85ºc" across the top of the cap?

I can find out exactly what the AVL is for the capacitors used at C1A4 and what it's job is. If Flextronics has a longer AVL for this one particular cap, it's probably like the ones on the modular interface and are relatively low stress.

Last edited by jonnyguru; 05-08-2014 at 03:29 PM.


  #5  
Old 05-08-2014, 03:23 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,265
POST ID # = 710204
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Also, how did you identify your caps? Can you see it through the vents, or did you take apart the PSU?
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett


  #6  
Old 05-08-2014, 03:32 PM
Danidasanic Danidasanic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 710208
Danidasanic Reputation: 10
Default

mine looks like a capxon cap (purple) , obvious isn't a nippon chemi-con cap.

like i said , i can see GS 85ºc on the cap .

low stress or not , it's in fact diferent from what i saw on johnyguru.com review

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Also, how did you identify your caps? Can you see it through the vents, or did you take apart the PSU?
through the vents


  #7  
Old 05-08-2014, 03:47 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 710211
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Well... GS is certainly an 85°C rated CapXon.

We did review the AX860i and that unit does have an NCC cap in that location, but it's a totally different PSU than the one in the Xbit labs picture and the cap is even a different value (2.2uF vs. 4.7uF). So you're saying that you have the AX860i, but it has the CapXon cap in it like the AX760i that Xbit labs opened up?

I wonder if they found a problem with using the smaller NCC cap that using a bigger cap solved. I'll have to ask the engineers.

Last edited by jonnyguru; 05-08-2014 at 03:49 PM.


  #8  
Old 05-08-2014, 03:48 PM
Danidasanic Danidasanic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 710212
Danidasanic Reputation: 10
Default

mine have that reference on it . 1230 VENT .. GS 85ºc (can't see more than this) . AX860i psu , bought mid november 2012 i think

johny , what cap is this ? at c1a4

http://www.jonnyguru.com/spaw/plugin...AX860i-055.jpg

edit: nvm ... u already answered

Last edited by Danidasanic; 05-08-2014 at 03:59 PM.


  #9  
Old 05-08-2014, 04:46 PM
ram1220 ram1220 is offline
Registered User
ram1220's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 71
POST ID # = 710214
ram1220 Reputation: 10
Default

I can't get that site to even load. Looks like jonnyguru is down.


  #10  
Old 05-09-2014, 12:33 PM
Danidasanic Danidasanic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 710320
Danidasanic Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
What caps are 85°C? Can you take pictures?

The small caps on the modular interface can be either NCC brand (brown) or Taicon brand (mint green), but as far as I know they should always be 105°C.
If they sould be 105ºc caps , will corsair replace my psu ?

btw

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/blog/20...acitor-q-and-a

Quote:
Q: When does Corsair decide to use Japanese capacitors?

In higher end units,...
this is just to show off\ review samples , right ? maybe "axi" aren't high-end models..

Last edited by Danidasanic; 05-09-2014 at 12:56 PM.


  #11  
Old 05-09-2014, 01:03 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 710323
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danidasanic View Post
If they sould be 105ºc caps , will corsair replace my psu ?
We have a query in with Flextronics. Hopefully they'll get back to us over the weekend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danidasanic View Post
btw

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/blog/20...acitor-q-and-a



this is just to show off\ review samples , right ? maybe "axi" aren't high-end models..
BTW: I wrote that article.

And your comment is borderline trolling. Corsair doesn't send out "golden samples" to reviewers and don't do "bait and switch" tactics. AXi is actually Corsair's top of the line series.

So cool your jets and wait for a response. Is your PSU broken? No. Is it going to burst into flames? No. So just wait, please.


  #12  
Old 05-09-2014, 01:16 PM
Danidasanic Danidasanic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 710327
Danidasanic Reputation: 10
Default

I'm wondering how many costumers have capxon caps. inside this high-end psu's without knowing..

Ok , i'll wait

Thank you Johnyguru


  #13  
Old 05-09-2014, 06:22 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 710368
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Probably not many. I wasn't aware of it and when I brought it up with engineering, they didn't know about it either.

Stay tuned. We're waiting to hear from people in China, so they're half way around the world and probably still in bed.


  #14  
Old 05-16-2014, 09:49 AM
Danidasanic Danidasanic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 711173
Danidasanic Reputation: 10
Default

Johny

any news from china ?


  #15  
Old 05-19-2014, 01:56 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 711442
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Sorry for the delay. I was travelling. Flex did confirm there were CapXons in some units. I'm still waiting to find out why, what units, etc.


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.