The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2019, 07:18 PM
one_boi one_boi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 990051
one_boi Reputation: 10
Question Corsair Hydro Series H100i suddenly dead

Hello everyone,

Im with this situation with my corsair H100i.

It worked fine for about 4 years and now after a 2 months PC break with no powerup , im booting it up and im getting CPU fan error and CPU overtemperature error. Also the pump unit LED flashes through colors(white,blue,red). PC wont get to windows due to overtemperature.

Inside BIOS, CPU temperature rises from 50°C and higher ´till the system shuts down itself.

I ve always ran it with the CPU_FAN 3 to 4 pin port on the motherboard.

Specs:
ASUS P6T
I7 920 (was running oc @3.6ghz ,tried default settings too)
G.Skill 6gb
XFX750W
GTX780
bunch of WD and an EVO

I cound´t find the FAN control on BIOS to set it to 12v, but for 4 years, the unit worked very well.

Is the pump dead? Could it be that the 2 month break stucked the fluid or so?

Thank in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:23 AM
Corsair Jam Corsair Jam is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 141
POST ID # = 990081
Corsair Jam Reputation: 17
Default

Hello,

Hmm, it could be the pump. If it's indeed with 5 years, you're under warranty. Get a support ticket at https://support.corsair.com. We can look into getting it replaced for you.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-16-2019, 04:22 PM
one_boi one_boi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 990186
one_boi Reputation: 10
Default

But could it be for it to stop working just like that after 2 months of NO use at all?
I mean, what if I leave it running just SATA plugged for a while, will it help to move around the cooling fluid and i dont know, maybe flick some internal piece or so? Im not in the USA so the RMA option is complicated. Im trying to be sure its dead before thinking of a replacement.
Cheers
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-16-2019, 06:03 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,489
POST ID # = 990200
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Generally speaking, most electronic failures are going to occur at power on. If you did not have the CPU_FAN error, I would suggest trying to shake things up a bit and see if this was a temporary blockage of some type. However, the lack of feedback signal from the CPU fan header means something has gone wrong electronically or mechanically. Contact Corsair through the link provided above or start shopping for a new one. Obviously you are in a zero use state at this point.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-17-2019, 11:27 AM
one_boi one_boi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 990270
one_boi Reputation: 10
Default

Tried relocating with new thermal paste and it´s the same result. Im amazed how this unit died so suddenly. Worked wonderfully for 4 years and so.

I will consider a replacement.

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-17-2019, 11:39 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,489
POST ID # = 990273
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Yes, it's not the paste. The CPU fan error is the smoking gun. Those rarely end well. Unfortunately, this is often what happens when an electronic device goes. One day fine, the next day poof. Mechanical failures usually give you some warning with odd noises and diminishing performance, but electric failures are sudden. Your model lasted 4 years which is not bad. I've had other branded models do this at 6 months -- twice in a row.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-21-2019, 03:52 PM
one_boi one_boi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 990871
one_boi Reputation: 10
Default

yeah i know it lasted for a while but this kind of stuff are too expensive when you dont live in the USA so im always trying to save-repair before even thinking in a replacement.

I might even relocate once more an literally shake the pump unit to make sure its not mechanical issue. Not even a word about open it and cleaning the pump what im not going to do.

Thanks for replying.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
cpu fan error, hydro h100i, pump dead

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.