The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2019, 08:49 PM
IronCrossMac IronCrossMac is offline
Registered User
IronCrossMac's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 988910
IronCrossMac Reputation: 10
Default 500D RGB SE Manufacturing/Assembly Issue

So, I purchased this case the other day to transplant my system into it for a refresh. I had to wait for a motherboard, but now, in between work and everything else, I've been slowly working on it.

I just now came to a point where I realized that the Commander Pro that came PRE-MOUNTED on the inside of the tempered glass, is going to need to be disconnected and reconnected every single time I need to open the case, unless I just crack it open a bit. I called technical support, and the answer I got was that it's a manufacturing issue, and it was suggested I use a hair dryer to heat the adhesive to safely remove it and place it somewhere else.

Now, call me crazy if you like, but I expected a bit more assistance from a company that I just bought a $250 case from (granted, on Amazon, but I chose this case over all others, and I have so many Corsair parts already). Seriously though, a hair dryer to remove a part that came mounted in the wrong spot in my $250 case? I asked if they would consider sending out a new side panel and Commander Pro separately, but I was told they don't really do that. I could check with returns to see if I could RMA it, but apparently that's not a thing that is done to remedy a KNOWN MANUFACTURING PROBLEM.

I'm upset, that's why I'm taking a break before attempting to use a hair dryer to fix a problem caused by Corsair to type this up. I'm just severely disappointed in Corsair. Nearly my whole build is centered around Corsair and Asus because I knew the products are top quality. I simply expected more from Corsair.

I guess I'll end my long-winded rant here. Ultimately, I'm going to do what I can to remedy this situation myself because at this point it would be more work to tear everything out again and start over with another case. Plus, the fancy new Corsair H115i Pro RGB Platinum AIO won't fit in my old case.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-08-2019, 09:16 PM
IronCrossMac IronCrossMac is offline
Registered User
IronCrossMac's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 988916
IronCrossMac Reputation: 10
Default

The more research I do on here on Zotty's amazing posts regarding the case, I'm also noticing that the Commander Pro, RGB Hub, and three provided fans were only plugged into the RGB Hub, with the Commander Pro being left out completely. This is a pretty huge error on Corsair's part, and a glaring quality control issue. I can't be the only person contacting them with this issue since the tech I talked to immediately knew what I was describing and mentioned the hair dryer right away.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-09-2019, 01:30 AM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 127
POST ID # = 988939
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

The Q&A on these cases is extremely poor. There's a lot of threads about the CoPro and/or NoPro coming loose and sticking to various parts of the case. Mine was stuck to the PSU shroud. Like who wants it in the visible side of the case?

Anyway, the double sided tape Corsair uses is junk. You won't need a heat gun to remove it.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-09-2019, 12:33 PM
Androme13 Androme13 is offline
Registered User
Androme13's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 988992
Androme13 Reputation: 10
Default

Same problem for me, CoPro was sticked on the glass.
Like cheap chinese products .......... serious quality control problem for 250€

I gently but firmly pulled a side of Copro and i was able to take it off.

Last edited by Androme13; 01-09-2019 at 12:56 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-09-2019, 10:07 PM
IronCrossMac IronCrossMac is offline
Registered User
IronCrossMac's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 989062
IronCrossMac Reputation: 10
Default

I used a hairdryer to remove mine. I had tugged on it a few times but it was stuck on there very well, and I was worried about damaging it by pulling on it. It appears to be working as intended now, in a much better location.

I still think it's a huge pain to deal with, especially given the premium price for the case and how critical placement and wiring is for the RGB Hub and Commander Pro.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.