The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2018, 02:19 PM
CoolnessGuy CoolnessGuy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 937014
CoolnessGuy Reputation: 10
Default Dead CPUs due to RAM ( CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R ) ?

I had 2 x 8GB of Vengance 1.35v DDR4 sticks in an MSI motherboard.. part no. CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R.

During sleep mode in windows (XMP turned on) and whilst waking from sleep, there was a high chance the system would fry the CPU (i7 7800X)... could the RAM sticks have been the problem ?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:50 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,195
POST ID # = 937088
Technobeard Reputation: 65
Default

Memory takes what voltages the motherboard gives it. More than likely it's your PSU or motherboard with the issue, or possibly a grounding issue as well.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-24-2018, 09:19 AM
CoolnessGuy CoolnessGuy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 937170
CoolnessGuy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Memory takes what voltages the motherboard gives it. More than likely it's your PSU or motherboard with the issue, or possibly a grounding issue as well.
I changed the motherboard (MSI X299 SLI PLUS) and power supply and CPU.

Yet when I went to sleep and woke it up there was a high chance the CPU would die.

I think it was the motherboard.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-24-2018, 10:52 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 883
POST ID # = 937174
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

What do you mean when you say "the CPU would die"?

IF the system fails to boot or the OS crashes upon loading, that does not mean your CPU is dead.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-24-2018, 03:09 PM
CoolnessGuy CoolnessGuy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 937212
CoolnessGuy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
What do you mean when you say "the CPU would die"?

IF the system fails to boot or the OS crashes upon loading, that does not mean your CPU is dead.
No signal to display.

Motherboard Debug LEDs CODES showing "00" and never moving.

EZDebug LED showing no CPU detected.

Clearing CMOS = no change.

Inserting new CPU = everything works.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-13-2018, 03:49 PM
Paul S's Avatar
Paul S Paul S is offline
Registered User
Paul S's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Great Britian
Posts: 256
POST ID # = 940403
Paul S Reputation: 10
Default

Ram will never fry the cpu no matter how much of a mismatch there is, but inexperienced overclocking WILL, also a corrupted bios will stop it booting, AND a corrupt bios CAN destroy a cpu.

Last edited by Paul S; 02-13-2018 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.