The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2018, 11:15 PM
jgarcia jgarcia is offline
800D Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 953727
jgarcia Reputation: 10
Default New Corsair One Pro Plus Sounds like jet when playing games

Hello, I just unboxed and installed WoW on my new C1Pro+ and when in game my fans rpm goes nuts. I have looked into link and see no where to tune the fan speeds. I have updated the GPU Driver and also running the most current version of Corsair Link. I have seen other versions of Corsair link able to adjust fan speed but nothing in mine. I have run Link as Admin as well. I have attached an image of the 3k fan speed.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (441.3 KB, 216 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-08-2018, 03:09 AM
lreypei lreypei is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 953746
lreypei Reputation: 10
Default

The only fan you can tune is the 120mm on the top of the C1.
You have to click over the rpm icon in the LINK software and you can adjust to max speed only.
The GPU fan can only be tunned via 3rd party software.
From your pic, all temps seems ok, although 85degC from the CPU could be something
I guess you are running WoW at max setting in a big resolution screen, so the GPU is giving its max.
Try to lower the resolution to test if the temps gets down a bit.
Also you have to know your temps at idle to be sure if something happend to the GPU behavior.
I mean, the GPU fan cool the mosfets from the card. If they get hot the fan speed up to lower the temps.
Also you can try to view if the airflow intake from the left side of the C1 is obstructed. The C1 needs to breath.

Last edited by lreypei; 05-08-2018 at 04:39 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-08-2018, 08:20 AM
jgarcia jgarcia is offline
800D Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 953768
jgarcia Reputation: 10
Default

The tower is completely unobstructed from all sides. My idle temps are normal and she’s quite as a mouse during idle. Only when I launch any game it sounds like a jet taking off. I do use and Acer Predator 32 in monitor at max resolution however it seems this machine should eat that up easy. Also wow and hearthstone are not that demanding on the gpu. So this seems out of the ordinary.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-08-2018, 01:27 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 423
POST ID # = 953803
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

It's the resolution. The 1080Ti has a slightly higher temp. throttle point than any of its predecessor. The fan does run a bit loud during load, not something we can avoid unfortunately. But your temperatures all seem fine.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-08-2018, 02:59 PM
jgarcia jgarcia is offline
800D Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 953823
jgarcia Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
It's the resolution. The 1080Ti has a slightly higher temp. throttle point than any of its predecessor. The fan does run a bit loud during load, not something we can avoid unfortunately. But your temperatures all seem fine.
Well its so loud its hard to hear anything over it. 3k RPM is within normal specs / How loud should 3k RPM be with this model fan? Is there nothing to be done? I purchased this machine as it was advertised as quite. I watched lots of reviews and see even under load that there was little noise. Dont assume im being critical as ive played pc games for around 20 years now and this is easily the loudest.

Using an iphone app i paid for my house is about 20db right now phone on desk. C1Pro+ under load the Db in the room is about 75. So 55db is within reason?

Last edited by jgarcia; 05-08-2018 at 03:27 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-08-2018, 06:09 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 423
POST ID # = 953843
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgarcia View Post
Well its so loud its hard to hear anything over it. 3k RPM is within normal specs / How loud should 3k RPM be with this model fan? Is there nothing to be done? I purchased this machine as it was advertised as quite. I watched lots of reviews and see even under load that there was little noise. Dont assume im being critical as ive played pc games for around 20 years now and this is easily the loudest.

Using an iphone app i paid for my house is about 20db right now phone on desk. C1Pro+ under load the Db in the room is about 75. So 55db is within reason?
Given the size of CORSAIR ONE, yes. Until we're fortunate enough to have components that generate less heat or a revolutionary cooling solution that doesn't require fan, noise will always be a factor with small form factor PC with big performance. Moreover, noise is a subjective topic, can you submit a video recording of the noise you are describing? It's also good to keep in mind that using your mobile phone to measure noise level is not accurate so do take the number with a grain of salt.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-08-2018, 10:36 PM
jgarcia jgarcia is offline
800D Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 953880
jgarcia Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
Given the size of CORSAIR ONE, yes. Until we're fortunate enough to have components that generate less heat or a revolutionary cooling solution that doesn't require fan, noise will always be a factor with small form factor PC with big performance. Moreover, noise is a subjective topic, can you submit a video recording of the noise you are describing? It's also good to keep in mind that using your mobile phone to measure noise level is not accurate so do take the number with a grain of salt.
As you wish! Sorry its a terrible video lol but the noise is defiantly evident

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-10-2018, 08:38 AM
jgarcia jgarcia is offline
800D Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 954044
jgarcia Reputation: 10
Default

Storm shadow?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-10-2018, 02:40 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 423
POST ID # = 954122
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgarcia View Post
As you wish! Sorry its a terrible video lol but the noise is defiantly evident

https://youtu.be/7lLWpZpC704
Thanks for this. As soon as you launch the game, the fan is hitting really high RPM off the bat following some variable speed throughout. I can't say for sure what could be the cause without taking the system apart. I'm sorry to be the one to have to say this but it's best if you replace the system. Are you seeing the same behavior in other application or games?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-10-2018, 03:37 PM
Jsc149 Jsc149 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 954142
Jsc149 Reputation: 10
Default

Most likely have a crappy paste application. I don’t know if Corsair is thorough on application but most companies apply it like toothpaste on a brush and most have to reapply.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-10-2018, 06:21 PM
jgarcia jgarcia is offline
800D Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 954156
jgarcia Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
Thanks for this. As soon as you launch the game, the fan is hitting really high RPM off the bat following some variable speed throughout. I can't say for sure what could be the cause without taking the system apart. I'm sorry to be the one to have to say this but it's best if you replace the system. Are you seeing the same behavior in other application or games?
Its quite as a mouse until I launch a game. Even after i did as suggested and moved to my smaller monitor and lowered the res it still just was wide open. Can I RMA for another and how do I start this process?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:40 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 423
POST ID # = 954238
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgarcia View Post
Its quite as a mouse until I launch a game. Even after i did as suggested and moved to my smaller monitor and lowered the res it still just was wide open. Can I RMA for another and how do I start this process?
Please go to our support website to create an RMA ticket. Be sure to attach an invoice.

Last edited by Technobeard; 09-09-2018 at 05:58 PM. Reason: fixed link
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-15-2018, 02:31 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 423
POST ID # = 954756
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gelo View Post
How they hell can you say this guy's temperatures seem OK? His GPU is pegged at 85 and yet his coolant is at 36.3?? That is way too much of a delta. It looks like the water loop is not even attached to the GPU.

The loud fan we hear from the example he posted is from the video card air fan part that is only over the mosfets/memory and does not help the GPU temp.

Time to RMA for sure.
Please read the whole thread. Thanks.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.