The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > System Builds, Modding, Custom Components, and Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2018, 10:05 AM
NonEventHorizon NonEventHorizon is offline
Registered User
NonEventHorizon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 971101
NonEventHorizon Reputation: 10
Default Cutting Lighting Node Pro RGB Strip

Hi Everyone,
Hoping someone can help. I need to shorten a single lighting node pro rgb strip to fit in an EK ex res 250 rgb multiport.
I've confirmed the strip fits as the original and doesn't change or hinder the connection to the res tube, so all good there.

I would like to know if anyone has cut one of these strips successfully and at what point on the strip they cut?

I can cut, from the 3 pin connector forwards, between the 6th and 7th led.

Thanks in advance for any help and advice
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-23-2018, 05:57 PM
Guyver Guyver is offline
Registered User
Guyver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 973919
Guyver Reputation: 10
Default

i would like to know this aswell as i am modding my case and for the length i need id have to use 2 strips but the second strip is 3 leds over, i noticed there are small white lines every few leds, are these cut lines?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-25-2018, 05:10 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 611
POST ID # = 974178
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

I wouldn't use the Corsair strips for this purpose, though it might work. I thought the IP coating would cause an issue. Most strips have cut lines and cutting it randomly could prevent some or all of them not to work, if they are a standard ws2812 LED. The ws2812b can work properly, if they used that type. Without knowing what type and where the cut line is, it is hard to know. I would use non-IP rated strips that have cut marks and with more LEDs on them solder some wires and terminate the other end with the 2.54mm latch connector.
__________________
Open Source Project: Sync Gigabyte MB w/ Corsair iCue
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-26-2018, 06:54 AM
Whisky Lima's Avatar
Whisky Lima Whisky Lima is offline
Gaming Geek - Beta Team
Whisky Lima's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 140
POST ID # = 974259
Whisky Lima Reputation: 13
Default

I have cut the corsair strips a number of times and I don't have any issues using them this way. Basically if you look closely at the strip you can see there are tracks along the length of the strips. If you want to solder a cable between a split up strip to extend it then you will need to make sure you cut the strip in the middle of the two LEDs.

This gives you plenty of room to expose the track, I use a craft blade to scrape the paint away until I see the copper exposed. I will include a pic and show you where the easy points are to cut. Where the magnets are and the corsair logo, the tracks take a different route so avoid cutting there. Also, you can remove the clear material covering the strips carefully, and this will take the magnets right off the strip. If you do this, be careful not to bend the strip at sharp angles as this will break the tracks and also make sure you insulate the strip again to stop anything shorting.

Finally if you don't need to use the extra LEDs you remove from the strip, you don't have to do anything to the cut end, just make sure it's insulated. iCue has no problem addressing the LEDs even if you only have 1 LED left on the strip.



Good luck, and be careful. Please also note this is to be done at your own risk, I take no responsibility for damage to the strip!
__________________
==================
| Get your Game Face on! |
==================
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-26-2018, 07:16 AM
Whisky Lima's Avatar
Whisky Lima Whisky Lima is offline
Gaming Geek - Beta Team
Whisky Lima's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 140
POST ID # = 974263
Whisky Lima Reputation: 13
Default

In case you are interested, these are a couple of pics of my current rig with the cut LED strips from corsair. The first image shows the power button where I replaced the stock white LED with a single LED from the corsair strip.



The second image, is actually the remainder of the same strip cut in half and used for a front panel mod I made with a custom logo.

Without the front panel you can see it is two shorter strips



And With the front panel:



The astute among you will have worked out that I must have cut the strip across a magnet and through the corsair logo so you can see even that is possible however it is more complicated to wire it all back together because you have to use the tracks on both sides of the strip.
__________________
==================
| Get your Game Face on! |
==================
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-27-2018, 06:34 PM
Guyver Guyver is offline
Registered User
Guyver's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 974476
Guyver Reputation: 10
Default

nice, i just want to crop them down so i can extend the strips to the ends of the case like the original leds.

as you can see im a few inches off

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-27-2018, 07:09 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,070
POST ID # = 974477
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

For a minute, I thought you had the Enthoo Primo there and I was like ... how'd he get the LED's like that??? I wanna do that!!

But then I saw that it was the Primo's little brother, the Luxe.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
lighting node pro, mod cables, rgb modding

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.