Corsair Community

toooo sensitive, quick help on product advice?

gxsingh

Hi first posting here

I own

Corsair 16gb 3200 RAM, Corsair 750d airflow

now the k70 rapidfire keyboard.

I bought k70 rapidfire 2 weeks ago and i am feeling its too sensitive for me.

little background:

I am not typer, nvr learned fast typing, most typing i do is by looking at keyboard and some from memory or w/e anyway I am done with college so no longer need to type papers. I am a software developer/programmer and a gamer. I am not a competitive player, most games i use a ps4 controller, keyboard/mouse on rts games like warcraft3 or some fps like cs1.6 surfing.

I got k70 rapidfire on sale and feel like its just too ****ing sensitive lol, accidentally turning on capslock, in chat 'kkkkkkkkkk' or 'aaaaa' or accident turning abilities on warcraft3a <--- **** pressed 'a' again.

so will I get the hang of it with time?

or is mx reds or mx browns a better choice for me??

i dont care about the key feedback, just the sensitivity part?

any advice will be helpful?

Yes, the K70 RGB LUX with brown Cherry switches would be the better choice. I go back and forth on this all the time, but I was eager to try the speed keys when they first came out. It requires adaptation and I needed to lighten my touch and thus pressed on. 18 months later I am going back to the brown keys on my K95P. I like the speed keys, but ultimately I needed more deliberate actuation. You will adapt, but if you are stubborn and you know it, make the change now while you can return it. Besides, twitchy keys may not be an asset in some games like MMOs where you want a decided single press. I have killed myself more than a few times by double tapping into a plunge to my doom on the WASD. If you don't like the higher initial force required for brown keys, the red might be better. Still linear but longer push to activate. Might be better if you feel like your finger get tired easily.