The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2017, 05:39 AM
bikerchris bikerchris is offline
Registered User
bikerchris's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 51
POST ID # = 899635
bikerchris Reputation: 15
Default M.2 NVMe MP500 got working on Windows 7 (partial success)

Hi all,

In case this was helpful, I thought I would share my early and not completed experience (more info given if needed).

Here's how:
  1. Install Windows 7 on non-M.2. drive (easiest when M.2. physically disconnected)
  2. Download and install relevant hotfix (to be given soon, but you can find it with a simple google search)
  3. Make disc image on other storage (ext. HDD or other internal HDD/SSD) using your preferred software, mine is Macrium.
  4. Switch off
  5. Plug M.2. Drive in
  6. Turn on
  7. The M.2 will be (should be) visible now
  8. use disc image software to transfer the Windows 7 image to the M.2.
  9. Once complete, shutdown and unplug the original Windows 7 storage.
  10. It 'should' boot up via the M.2.

I'm still not happy with the performance and that 'may' be resolved once all drivers and software updates are installed.

Cheers!
Chris
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-19-2017, 05:49 AM
bikerchris bikerchris is offline
Registered User
bikerchris's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 51
POST ID # = 899856
bikerchris Reputation: 15
Default

Just an addition, but the update was called 477475.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...server-2008-r2

On the downside, the Windows 7 install doesn't display the temp's via the Corsair Toolbox S/W :-(
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-19-2017, 08:43 AM
Links Links is offline
Registered User
Links's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 899867
Links Reputation: 10
Default

Corsair SSD toolbox doesn't yet (still....) support the MP500.
Don't know why Corsair leaves this hanging for so long!?
Their top-end drive and no toolbox/firmware/driver update!
"support"
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-19-2017, 09:32 AM
bikerchris bikerchris is offline
Registered User
bikerchris's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 51
POST ID # = 899872
bikerchris Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Links View Post
Corsair SSD toolbox doesn't yet (still....) support the MP500.
Don't know why Corsair leaves this hanging for so long!?
Their top-end drive and no toolbox/firmware/driver update!
"support"
I think it might - here's a screenshot of the stuff on Windows 10 (where the temp and other info is given). Some features don't seem to work though, such as TRIM...although I keep thinking that MVNe drives don't do that, my memory is really bad on the subject!
Attached Images
File Type: png Windows10-Corsair-Toolbox.png (68.9 KB, 280 views)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-19-2017, 01:33 PM
Links Links is offline
Registered User
Links's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 899897
Links Reputation: 10
Default

Doesn't matter nvme or not.
Most, if not all SSDs do trim.
I think it's a feature of Windows, not the drive itself.
It's a fact that MP500 is not fully supported by the toolbox.

Btw, does Firmware upodate work?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-20-2017, 05:47 AM
bikerchris bikerchris is offline
Registered User
bikerchris's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 51
POST ID # = 899982
bikerchris Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Links View Post
Doesn't matter nvme or not.
Most, if not all SSDs do trim.
I think it's a feature of Windows, not the drive itself.
It's a fact that MP500 is not fully supported by the toolbox.

Btw, does Firmware upodate work?
I had seen most SSD's do trim, I just thought the connection type might make it redundant, perhaps not.

Here's it checking for firmware updates...I'd be interested if it's correct.

Attached Images
File Type: png Windows10-Corsair-Toolbox-firmware-check.png (116.4 KB, 271 views)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-20-2017, 12:25 PM
Links Links is offline
Registered User
Links's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 900021
Links Reputation: 10
Default

Interesting, a few months ago the firmware update button was inactive.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-20-2017, 12:55 PM
bikerchris bikerchris is offline
Registered User
bikerchris's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 51
POST ID # = 900026
bikerchris Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Links View Post
Interesting, a few months ago the firmware update button was inactive.
May be the version of MP500 is different, I could check if that helps?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-21-2017, 07:48 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17,858
POST ID # = 900101
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Links View Post
Interesting, a few months ago the firmware update button was inactive.
The latest version of SSD toolbox now supports the drive.
Quote:
03/23/2017 - Corsair SSD Toolbox v1.2.5.5

What's new (from v1.2.4.7):
The integration of Corsair SSD Toolbox to support NVMe PCIe SSD interface.
Firmware update support enhancements for Force LE200 drives.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=136305
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #10  
Old 04-21-2017, 02:11 PM
Links Links is offline
Registered User
Links's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 900163
Links Reputation: 10
Default

Finally!
Thank you.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.