Corsair Community

cloning from sata hdd to force 3 problem

hi,

i'm a complete noob to ssd's, so if this has been asked i'm really sorry,

basically i'm trying to clone my Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB (OS) drive with win 7 pro 64 bit on, of which only 80gb is used to my new force 3 120gb,

my MB is set up to us AHCI mode and also windows is set.

i have used acronis TI loads of times before now to clone drives, but having real probs with doing this now...

i have TI 2011 and 2012 version, both as boot cd's, but both give same error

so i booted into TI as normal from choose clone disc tell it what to do and then it said it was working, then "error clone disc operation failed.....

can anyone help please many thanks, a step by step guide would be amazing, i really dont want to do a clean install if possible will take ages.

i have heard you need to do certain things to get ssd alligned properly but how can i do any of that if it wont even start to clone?

Try reading this tutorial to image a disk.

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=85344.

You are running Windows 7, So you don't have to realign the SSD. If you were running Windows XP then you may have to realign it.

Hi,

thanks for the reply,

i was looking at that thread, but it seems to be for cloning a ssd already in use?? will it work the same way as i need it to??

like in B.1

"you will need a storage device like stated earlier and it should be bigger than the SSD your backing up in"

"Make sure you select the whole of the SSD you want to backup, including the "System Reserved" part as that part contains files needed to boot into the OS"

my os is on the 300gb VelociRaptor... not the ssd...

i have a spare 500gb sata ii drive, do i just use TI and create back up on there?? then copy the partitions back like in TUT?

sorry noob at ssd config's sorry if its sounds stupid lol