The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-25-2017, 02:35 PM
Trueboss345 Trueboss345 is offline
Registered User
Trueboss345's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 927725
Trueboss345 Reputation: 10
Default

Anyone please?
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 11-25-2017, 06:55 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,467
POST ID # = 927759
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Unfortunately, what you posted doesn't really tell us much except that it crashed. A stack trace (which will look like my example) will tell us exactly where it crashed and that's exceedingly useful for root cause analysis. For .NET applications, there usually will be a stack trace in the event viewer as a separate event, with a source as ".NET Runtime", around the same time.
So ... I got nothin'.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 12-12-2017, 09:46 PM
Trueboss345 Trueboss345 is offline
Registered User
Trueboss345's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 930290
Trueboss345 Reputation: 10
Default

I've been trying to do a little experiment. I went to Windows power options > Choose what the power buttons do > Change settings that are unavailable > Turn off Fast startup. Now aside from that, every time before I shut down the computer, I right click on the Corsair system tray icon and choose Exit. I've been doing this for about 2 weeks now. And there has been a difference! I only see it occuring twice during the past 2 weeks, probably because I forgot to shut it down via context menu.

So instead of letting Windows handle quitting the program, I have to do it manually. And maybe also that fast startup was the reason why I've been getting those errors. Now that I've narrowed the problem (or so I think) can the developers do something so that it can shut down properly with Windows?

Last edited by Trueboss345; 12-12-2017 at 09:52 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 12-12-2017, 09:52 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,467
POST ID # = 930291
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

That's ... interesting.
Question: have you updated to the latest version? Do you see the same behavior?
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 12-13-2017, 12:29 AM
Trueboss345 Trueboss345 is offline
Registered User
Trueboss345's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 930306
Trueboss345 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
That's ... interesting.
Question: have you updated to the latest version? Do you see the same behavior?
No, this has been done using the same version (4.9.1.23 ). I might update it later this week.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 03-08-2018, 01:59 AM
Trueboss345 Trueboss345 is offline
Registered User
Trueboss345's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 943923
Trueboss345 Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah so I have had fast-startup turned off for a few months now. My reliability monitor has come clean. I'm using the latest version of Link now (4.9.5.25) I have seen no problems occur. So it wasn't until then I recently turned Fast-startup back on, and then later my computer just randomly shut down. Couldn't tell if it was the program causing it or the setting with Fast-startup, but it was really odd.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 03-13-2018, 12:42 PM
vkone vkone is offline
Registered User
vkone's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 944677
vkone Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trueboss345 View Post
Yeah so I have had fast-startup turned off for a few months now. My reliability monitor has come clean. I'm using the latest version of Link now (4.9.5.25) I have seen no problems occur. So it wasn't until then I recently turned Fast-startup back on, and then later my computer just randomly shut down. Couldn't tell if it was the program causing it or the setting with Fast-startup, but it was really odd.
Hi, I created an account just to say thanks! I have been having the same issue (4.9.5.25) and I can confirm the solution that fixed it for me was turning off fast startup under windows / power options.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.