The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 14 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 12-10-2009, 04:38 PM
MarkKelly MarkKelly is offline
Registered User
MarkKelly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 430339
MarkKelly Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lfdal54 View Post
Heve you checked out my thread "http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=83014"

Same type of issue and I'm still sitting at the 4 choices I outlined in my last post.
Not exactly a lot of options open for us is there?

I figure I will just have to go with the replacement sticks and hope it doesn't happen again, while keeping an eye open here to see if there's any news on the cause and what elusive setting might be required to prevent it (once it happens the ram is stuck with the problem so it just might be preventable while the system is still stable if we only knew how).
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 12-10-2009, 08:19 PM
WAPC WAPC is offline
Registered User
WAPC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 430388
WAPC Reputation: 10
Default

ASUS Tech Department had the P5Q-E motherboard running on 2 kits of the TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF with everything set to Auto. DDR2-1066MHz and the timing set to 5-5-5-15 using 1.8V

I had a look at the IC manufacturer's website and it states to run at 1.8V which gets me thinking.... does running the RAM at 2.1V on an Intel board fry the RAM?
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 12-10-2009, 09:59 PM
MarkKelly MarkKelly is offline
Registered User
MarkKelly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 430401
MarkKelly Reputation: 10
Default

This is happening to AMD based boards as well so if the ram running at 2.1 is somehow causing this issue it's not unique to Intel boards.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 12-11-2009, 02:30 AM
lexie_1 lexie_1 is offline
Registered User
lexie_1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 430420
lexie_1 Reputation: 10
Default

Yesterday another BSOD here... it driving me nuts.....
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 12-11-2009, 07:29 AM
lexie_1 lexie_1 is offline
Registered User
lexie_1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 430430
lexie_1 Reputation: 10
Default

If corsair does not come with a propper sollution i will buy myself some other memmory and never buy Corsair mem again. I tryed so many different settings but they all result in bsod. When you change a setting the system can run fine for weeks, so you think you have it solved. but a lillte later the bleu screen appears again.
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 12-11-2009, 08:40 AM
lfdal54 lfdal54 is offline
Registered User
lfdal54's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 430433
lfdal54 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkKelly View Post
This is happening to AMD based boards as well so if the ram running at 2.1 is somehow causing this issue it's not unique to Intel boards.
Corsair is the one specifying the 2.1v, its stamped right on the stick...... so if 2.1 is frying the RAM, something is seriously wrong.

Wait, we all know something is seriously wrong, just not what.......
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 12-11-2009, 09:46 AM
MarkKelly MarkKelly is offline
Registered User
MarkKelly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 430443
MarkKelly Reputation: 10
Default

I would guess (and this is very much a guess) from the symptoms that some small component involved in how the power is handled within the stick gets damaged over time. That the BSOD's often occur near idle or coming out of idle rather than during stress tests, and only a full power cycle (cold boot) will restore stable functionality (until the next inevitable crash) seems to suggest that our systems entering a lower power state is where things have/do gone wrong: Maybe something on the sticks gets overloaded when the pc is left running for a time and the power cycle clears that issue for a spell?

Whatever the case, I think I might try running the replacement ram at 1.8 (standard 800Mhz SPD) until more information on this comes to light. If the 2.1v setting is causing the damage then I would hope Corsair will be looking into a solution. After all, we know it's not our boards, CPU's or any other hardware to blame, not when this ram is the only common factor in all our cases.

Btw, the cheapo 1gb stick I popped in is running fine. Left on overnight, no crash. I'm running slower, but at least it's stable.
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 12-11-2009, 11:35 AM
WAPC WAPC is offline
Registered User
WAPC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 430459
WAPC Reputation: 10
Default

I found the same... its when the system is at idle that problems occur, no idea what it is..... but anytime the system crashed and RAID screwed up, I reverted back to the el cheapo to rebuild it. The only thing I can thing of is that it just doesn't make any logical sense what so ever (to me anyway)..... why is it doing this? Why is it when the system is idle? What's happening? Is it the latest power technology that reduces power consumption to try and be green causing the problems? Does the RAM not like Voltage flucuations in an effort to save the environment and lower carbon emissions by reducing the voltage when the system is not in use? Maybe that's the problem...... its another theory at least.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 12-11-2009, 12:22 PM
Jahren Jahren is offline
Registered User
Jahren's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 430467
Jahren Reputation: 10
Default

I RMAed 3 times the 2048 model 4X1GB for the exact same symptoms
tested in 3 differents hardware (everything has changed except the tower)
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 12-11-2009, 12:37 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 430473
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

This has been posted many times with using 4 modules and we can only guarantee 4 up when they are purchased in a set of 4 at the rated speeds.
And WAPC just for example with your MB and CPU you have listed DDR667 would be suggested when all four slots are filled.
Quote:
With 4 modules I would suggest setting the memory frequency at DDR667 and set the memory Voltage to 2.1 Volts and set the NB/MCH/SPP Voltage to +.2 Volts as well and test the system with www.memtest.org. In addition, with some MB's (Mostly ASUS) you have to disable legacy USB in the bios when running any memory test.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 12-11-2009, 01:20 PM
lfdal54 lfdal54 is offline
Registered User
lfdal54's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 430477
lfdal54 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkKelly View Post
......Btw, the cheapo 1gb stick I popped in is running fine. Left on overnight, no crash. I'm running slower, but at least it's stable.
That's my case, so far I can't kill the 1 gbyte stick, I've memtest'd it to death and run Prime95 over 8 hours, it just won't die. It is at 800Mhz and only 1 gbyte so I can't run Win 7 - 64bit any more but XP-Pro and Win7 - 32bit are bulletproof again. The settings its running at are all from Auto detect.

I'm working with Gigabyte now to try a bunch of (painful) stuff before I RMA the motherboard.
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 12-11-2009, 04:11 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 430502
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What were the BIOS settings for this module and what was the modules part number and how many were installed?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 12-11-2009, 06:42 PM
aenski aenski is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 430524
aenski Reputation: 10
Default

Guys do you use azureus?!
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 12-11-2009, 07:23 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,184
POST ID # = 430530
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aenski View Post
Guys do you use azureus?!
What does that have to do with anything? do you think it's throttling the system... in memtest?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 12-12-2009, 01:44 AM
WAPC WAPC is offline
Registered User
WAPC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 430561
WAPC Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aenski View Post
Guys do you use azureus?!
The issue is hardware, not software related.
If it were software related, we'd be able to run the system without crashing. If what we are experiencing is associated with an application then the system will crash when the application is running. Not to mention that the memory dumps will point out that azureus.exe is the faulty behind the system crash. I only have Windows & Office installed without any other applications and the system crashing.

However, I'm not excluding this as the cause of the fault that we're discussing as it could very well be for someone else but I don't think it applies to the other people in this particular thread.

Last edited by WAPC; 12-12-2009 at 02:00 AM. Reason: Bad Gramma
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.