The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:44 PM
inanitas inanitas is offline
Registered User
inanitas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 379574
inanitas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
Please follow these instructions exactly.
Download Memtest86+ V2.01 from--->Here
and extract the ISO image. Burn the ISO image to an CD-ROM disk.
Download CPU-z from Here .
Shut the system down. Remove the second stick of DRAM and leave only the first one in slot 1. Restart the system and enter your BIOS. Load Setup Defaults. Save Setup Defaults. On the main BIOS screen press Ctrl + F1. You will see the screen flicker. Next select the MB Intelligent Tweaker option. On that screen you will see many additional settings that were not there before. Enter these values:

Code:
MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)
Robust Graphics Booster: Auto
CPU Clock Ratio: 9.5
Fine CPU Clock Ratio: 0

Clock Chip Control

Standard Clock Control
CPU Host Clock Control: Disabled
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz): 333
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz): 100
C.I.A.2: Disabled

Advanced Clock Control

CPU Clock Drive: Auto
PCI Express Clock Drive: Auto

CPU Clock Skew (ps): Auto

MCH Clock Skew (ps): 50-150

DRAM Performance Control

Performance Enhance: Standard
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.): Disabled
(G)MCH Frequency Latch: Auto
System Memory Multiplier: 2.4
Memory Frequency (Mhz): 800
Dram Timing Selectable: Manual

Standard Timing Control
DRAM Timing Selectable: Manual

CAS Latency Time: 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 15

Advanced Timing Control

tRRD: 4
tWTR: 5
tWR: 5
tRFC: 62
tRTP: 5
Command Rate (CMD): 2

Driving Strength Profiles
Driving Strength: 1066

Channel A
Static tRead Value: Set to 8 (test from 7 - 10)
tRD Phase0 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase2 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase3 Adjustment: Auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank): Auto
Twr2wr(Different Rank): Auto
Twr2rd(Different Rank): Auto
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank): Auto
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control: Auto
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control: Auto

Channel B
Static tRead Value: Set to 8 (test from 7 - 10)
tRD Phase0 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase2 Adjustment : Auto
tRD Phase3 Adjustment: Auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank): Auto
Twr2wr(Different Rank): Auto
Twr2rd(Different Rank): Auto
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank): Auto
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control: Auto
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control: Auto


Motherboard Voltage Control
Voltage Type: Manual

CPU Vcore: Auto
CPU Termination: 1.2v
CPU PLL: 1.5v
CPU Reference: .9v
CPU Reference2: .76v

MCH/ICH
MCH/ICH: 1.24v
MCH Core: .76v
MCH Reference: .9v
MCH/DRAM Ref: 1.5v
ICH I/O: 1.55v
ICH Core: 1.1v

DRAM
DRAM Voltage: 2.1v 
DRAM Termination: 0.9v
Channel A Reference: 0.9v
Channel B Reference: 0.9v

Advanced Settings

Limit CPUID Max. to 3: Disabled
No-Execute Memory Protect: Enabled
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E): Enabled
C2/C2E State Support: Disabled
x C4/C4E State Support: Disabled
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) : Enabled
CPU EIST Function: Disabled
Virtualization Technology: Enabled

Integrated Peripherals

Legacy USB Storage Detect: Enabled
Run Memtest for two full passes. Shut the system down. If the stick is stable, remove the first stick and insert it into the third slot and retest. If stable, Insert the second stick in the first slot and retest. When assured of stable DRAM, then enter Windows and Run CPU-z and post screenshots of CPU-z's CPU, Memory and SPD tabs.

Results?
I tested my modules during the weekend and I am posting the results. I used your settings listed above, and the results are:

Memtest stable for one module slot#1 – two passes
Memtest stable for one module slot#3 – two passes
Memtest stable for two modules slot #1&3 – two passes

I attached also screen shots of Linpack results – stable 6 passes
I attached screen shots of CPU-Z.
What will be the second step, please advise?

Thanks for your help and patience.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cpu.jpg (48.2 KB, 180 views)
File Type: jpg memory.jpg (35.0 KB, 180 views)
File Type: jpg SPD1.jpg (43.9 KB, 170 views)
File Type: jpg SPD3.jpg (41.8 KB, 172 views)
File Type: jpg linpak.jpg (107.8 KB, 173 views)
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 12-09-2008, 01:42 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 379658
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Looks like you are good to go!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 12-09-2008, 05:54 AM
inanitas inanitas is offline
Registered User
inanitas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 379697
inanitas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Looks like you are good to go!
Thanks
but go where . If I set RAM clock to 1066MHz it is unstable again. Please advise.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:06 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 379699
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Set to these values but be sure that the last value you set is the MCH Latch Value. Leave it on Auto until you set all other values. Then set the Latch to 333Mhz, save, restart and run Memetest.

Code:
MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)
Robust Graphics Booster: Auto
CPU Clock Ratio: 9.5
Fine CPU Clock Ratio: 0

Clock Chip Control

Standard Clock Control
CPU Host Clock Control: Disabled
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz): 333
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz): 100
C.I.A.2: Disabled

Advanced Clock Control

CPU Clock Drive: Auto
PCI Express Clock Drive: Auto

CPU Clock Skew (ps): Auto

MCH Clock Skew (ps): 50-150

DRAM Performance Control

Performance Enhance: Standard
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.): Disabled
(G)MCH Frequency Latch: 333
System Memory Multiplier: 3.2
Memory Frequency (Mhz): 1066
Dram Timing Selectable: Manual

Standard Timing Control
DRAM Timing Selectable: Manual

CAS Latency Time: 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 15

Advanced Timing Control

tRRD: 4
tWTR: 5
tWR: 5
tRFC: 62
tRTP: 5
Command Rate (CMD): 2

Driving Strength Profiles
Driving Strength: 1066

Channel A
Static tRead Value: 10
tRD Phase0 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase2 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase3 Adjustment: Auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank): Auto
Twr2wr(Different Rank): Auto
Twr2rd(Different Rank): Auto
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank): Auto
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control: Auto
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control: Auto

Channel B
Static tRead Value: 10
tRD Phase0 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase1 Adjustment: Auto
tRD Phase2 Adjustment : Auto
tRD Phase3 Adjustment: Auto
Trd2rd(Different Rank): Auto
Twr2wr(Different Rank): Auto
Twr2rd(Different Rank): Auto
Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank): Auto
Dimm1 Clock Skew Control: Auto
Dimm2 Clock Skew Control: Auto


Motherboard Voltage Control
Voltage Type: Manual

CPU Vcore: Auto
CPU Termination: 1.2v
CPU PLL: 1.5v
CPU Reference: .9v
CPU Reference2: .76v

MCH/ICH
MCH/ICH: 1.24v
MCH Core: .76v
MCH Reference: .9v
MCH/DRAM Ref: 1.5v
ICH I/O: 1.55v
ICH Core: 1.1v

DRAM
DRAM Voltage: 2.1v 
DRAM Termination: 0.9v
Channel A Reference: 0.9v
Channel B Reference: 0.9v

Advanced Settings

Limit CPUID Max. to 3: Disabled
No-Execute Memory Protect: Enabled
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E): Enabled
C2/C2E State Support: Disabled
x C4/C4E State Support: Disabled
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) : Enabled
CPU EIST Function: Disabled
Virtualization Technology: Enabled

Integrated Peripherals

Legacy USB Storage Detect: Enabled
Run Memtest for two full passes singly on a stick in the first slot. Shut the system down. If the stick is stable, remove the first stick and insert it into the third slot and retest. If stable, Insert the second stick in the first slot and retest as Dual Channel. If stable, enter Windows and Run CPU-z and post screenshots of CPU-z's CPU, Memory and SPD tabs.

If both sticks error out singly, then you very likely have an issue with your motherboard memory controller. If a stick errors out in one slot and passes in another, then you have DRAM slot issues. If a single stick errors out then you have a DRAM issue.
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:41 AM
inanitas inanitas is offline
Registered User
inanitas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 379701
inanitas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
Set to these values but be sure that the last value you set is the MCH Latch Value. Leave it on Auto until you set all other values. Then set the Latch to 333Mhz, save, restart and run Memetest.

Run Memtest for two full passes singly on a stick in the first slot. Shut the system down. If the stick is stable, remove the first stick and insert it into the third slot and retest. If stable, Insert the second stick in the first slot and retest as Dual Channel. If stable, enter Windows and Run CPU-z and post screenshots of CPU-z's CPU, Memory and SPD tabs.

If both sticks error out singly, then you very likely have an issue with your motherboard memory controller. If a stick errors out in one slot and passes in another, then you have DRAM slot issues. If a single stick errors out then you have a DRAM issue.
Will do it. Give me some time. Probably the results will be ready by the end of the week.

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 12-09-2008, 02:07 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 379744
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP Please let us know how you make out!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:27 PM
inanitas inanitas is offline
Registered User
inanitas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 379820
inanitas Reputation: 10
Default

I set my BIOS according your suggestion with frequency 1066Mhz. So far tested 2 modules separately in slot #1 and #3. First module went through 2 passes without errors. Unfortunately 2nd module is an issue. During test in 1st slot 9216 errors occurred, during test in 3rd slot 495 errors occurred in total (2 passes for slot 1 and 3). I had not enough time to run additional test with two modules installed in 1 and 3 but will do it next day. I can expect that it will detect errors since one module showed abnormal operation.
What do you think about these results?

More to come.
Bye now.
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 12-10-2008, 03:09 AM
FEAR6655 FEAR6655 is offline
Registered User
FEAR6655's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 249
POST ID # = 379857
FEAR6655 Reputation: 10
Default

I think one module is bad. Corsair will supply an RMA for them.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:21 AM
inanitas inanitas is offline
Registered User
inanitas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 379876
inanitas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FEAR6655 View Post
I think one module is bad. Corsair will supply an RMA for them.
What should I do right now to replace the modules ASAP? RAM GUY could you advise? I am located in Europe and even do not know if there is Corsair representative in my country.
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:57 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 379879
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FEAR6655 View Post
I think one module is bad. Corsair will supply an RMA for them.
I agree.

Quote:
Originally Posted by inanitas View Post
What should I do right now to replace the modules ASAP? RAM GUY could you advise? I am located in Europe and even do not know if there is Corsair representative in my country.
Can you return them to the place of purchase? That would be the fastest method. Otherwise you will have to ship to California.
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 12-10-2008, 07:21 AM
inanitas inanitas is offline
Registered User
inanitas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 379882
inanitas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
I agree.



Can you return them to the place of purchase? That would be the fastest method. Otherwise you will have to ship to California.
I talked to salesman, he asked me to give the modules back and they will send them to authorized Corsair service for diagnostics. If the modules are bad they will replace them. It will take 2 weeks. I am not very satisfied :-(
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 12-10-2008, 01:09 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 379918
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Let's get them replaced, please use the On Line RMA Request Form and we will be happy to replace them.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 12-10-2008, 05:15 PM
inanitas inanitas is offline
Registered User
inanitas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 379965
inanitas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
Set to these values but be sure that the last value you set is the MCH Latch Value. Leave it on Auto until you set all other values. Then set the Latch to 333Mhz, save, restart and run Memetest.


Run Memtest for two full passes singly on a stick in the first slot. Shut the system down. If the stick is stable, remove the first stick and insert it into the third slot and retest. If stable, Insert the second stick in the first slot and retest as Dual Channel. If stable, enter Windows and Run CPU-z and post screenshots of CPU-z's CPU, Memory and SPD tabs.

If both sticks error out singly, then you very likely have an issue with your motherboard memory controller. If a stick errors out in one slot and passes in another, then you have DRAM slot issues. If a single stick errors out then you have a DRAM issue.
I completed all testing, and both modules tested in slot 1 and 3 were also unstable and Memtest showed errors. Modules ran at 1066Mhz did not allow me to start OS properly showng crushes and blue screens so I cannot post CPU-Z screens for you.
I filled RMA replacement form (as RAM GUY sugested) and awaiting e-mail with shipent procedure.

Thank you for your support
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:19 PM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 379969
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inanitas View Post
I completed all testing, and both modules tested in slot 1 and 3 were also unstable and Memtest showed errors. Modules ran at 1066Mhz did not allow me to start OS properly showng crushes and blue screens so I cannot post CPU-Z screens for you.
I filled RMA replacement form (as RAM GUY sugested) and awaiting e-mail with shipent procedure.

Thank you for your support
I don't think you have a DRAM issue. If both modules are issuing errors when tested singly, then I would place the problem at motherboard level.

I think you will find the issues repeats with the new DRAM.
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 12-11-2008, 07:14 AM
inanitas inanitas is offline
Registered User
inanitas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 380031
inanitas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
I don't think you have a DRAM issue. If both modules are issuing errors when tested singly, then I would place the problem at motherboard level.

I think you will find the issues repeats with the new DRAM.
Probably I confused you a bit. First of all I tested these modules singly. One showed errors second didn't. Module first and second were tested in slots 1 and 3 singly. Bad DRAM showed errors in both slots. Good module passed testing without any errors in both slots. When I went through single tests I decided to run test with both modules installed, just to make sure that my approach was good.
So I installed both modules and tested them as dual-chanel twin DRAM, and as I expected they failed. I expected that, because if only one module is bad then it will cause errors during dual-chanel twin DRAM testing. Do I understand it in correct way?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.