The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2007, 02:23 PM
b1z b1z is offline
Registered User
b1z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 311944
b1z Reputation: 10
Exclamation 2sets of TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX (8GB) on Asus Striker Extreme

Edit: Sorry was wrong thread title! It's 2x TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX actually
(QUAD2X4096-6400C5DHX is the 4GB set with 4 modules of 1G each)

Hi there,

I'm using 8GB (2 pairs) of TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX on an
Asus Striker Extreme. (64bit OS)

What are the suggested DRAM settings for this particular setup?
I did some research in the forums and am using these settings for now:
(The Striker Extreme gives a ****load of possible settings and I'm not really into it)

tCL: 5T
tRCD: 5T
tRP: 5T
tRAS: 15T
Command Per Clock (CMD): 2 clock

These are the timing-related settings I've found in the forum so far.
(See http://asktheramguy.com/v3/showthread.php?t=52351)

This is the voltage I've set manually:
DDR2 SDRAM Voltage: 1.9

BIOS is up-to-date (1305), legacy USB is disabled, the CPU is a QX6850, chipset nv 680i.

Last edited by b1z; 10-22-2007 at 08:56 AM. Reason: wrong title..
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-12-2007, 02:35 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 311953
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default Moved to Correct Section!

With 4 modules I would set the NB Core Voltage: to +.05 Volts and then set the memory frequency at DDR667 and test the system with www.memtest.org.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-12-2007, 03:33 PM
b1z b1z is offline
Registered User
b1z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 311971
b1z Reputation: 10
Default

Edit: Skip this and continue with post #8 since I've used the old memtest which doesn't know more recent chipsets...


Quote:
Thanks for your reply.

In addition to the above settings, have tested it with

NB Core Voltage: 1.25 V
MEM (DDR), Mhz: 667

Still hangs at memtest. I'm sorry I did not notice, but now it always
hangs at:

Test #0: [Address test, walking ones, no cache]
Testing 4096M - 6144M 8191M
Pattern: 00000000

The ranges from 0-2056 and 2056-4096 went so damn fast I didn't even see them. This is the point when the complete machine immediately hangs.

More Ideas?

In addition to your suggestion, I've tried it with these, no luck, same position = hang.


NB Core Voltage: 1.25 V
MEM (DDR), Mhz: 667
Memory Voltage: 1.9 up to 2.1
tRAS: 18T

Last edited by b1z; 10-22-2007 at 09:01 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-12-2007, 05:14 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 311987
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Test #0: [Address test, walking ones, no cache]
Testing 4096M - 6144M 8191M
Pattern: 00000000
What version of memory test are you using and did you select something other than the default tests?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-12-2007, 06:04 PM
b1z b1z is offline
Registered User
b1z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 311996
b1z Reputation: 10
Default

No, just the default tests of Memtest86 v3.2 ?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-12-2007, 06:13 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 311998
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please use www.memtest.org version 1.70 or newer. Also you need to disable legacy USB in the BIOS setup when running any memory test.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-13-2007, 06:08 AM
b1z b1z is offline
Registered User
b1z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 312065
b1z Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry for that, I was using memtest86, not memtest86+.

I'll give memtest86+ a try immediately.

By the way, I have just tested both of the dual channel enabled pairs on its own (which is 4 GB each) and it works without errors for around 3 hours (~3-4 passes) no problem...

I'll update the thread as soon as I've run memtest86+ on both pairs at once.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-13-2007, 06:45 AM
b1z b1z is offline
Registered User
b1z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 312066
b1z Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Did the test with memtest86+ v1.7 and 8 GB installed, exactly the same problem. As soon as more than 4 GB (>=50%) is addressed -> System hangs!

Quote:
Test 50% ###########
Test #0: [Address test, walking ones]
Testing 4096M - 6144M 8191M
Pattern: 00000000
Please help me out :-(
Edit:
Damn Folks. Since both memtest86 and memtest86+ stalled at the same position,
I began to rethink every setting and the way I've installed / used Memtest*.

I have compiled both from source using gcc 4.2.2, so I tried using the precompiled
binary of memtest86+ booting from an USB stick.

And guess what? Absolutely stable, 3rd pass just running by with 8191M usable memory;
without any errors. Don't know which compiler they've used, however there seems to
be a problem somewhere when using gcc 4.2.2 on x86_64.

For anyone encountering similar problems on the Asus Striker Extreme,
here are the settings (notice the low voltage) this RAM runs really stable on:
EDIT: Here comes the Phenomen: just for 5 days! read on..

(the latest BIOS v.1305 seems to set the voltage to 2.15 V when set to AUTO)

Quote:
Asus Striker Extreme + TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX + Intel QX6850
====================================================
Timing:

tCL: 5T
tRCD: 5T
tRP: 5T
tRAS: 18T
Command Per Clock (CMD): 2 clock
tRRD: Auto
tRC: Auto
tWR: Auto
tWTR: Auto
tREF: Auto
Async Latency: Auto


Voltage:

VCore Voltage: Auto
Memory Voltage: 1.85 V
1.2V HT Voltage: Auto
NB Core Voltage: Auto
SB Core Voltage: Auto
CPU VTT Voltage: Auto
DDR2 Controller Ref Voltage: Auto
DDR2 Channel A Ref Voltage: Auto
DDR2 Channel B Ref Voltage: Auto


Other (perhaps you want to know?):

USB Legacy Support: Disabled
SLI Ready Memory: Disabled

FSB - Memory Clock Mode: Auto
FSB - Memory Ratio: Auto
FSB (QDR), Mhz: 1333
MEM (DDR), Mhz: 800

ECC stuff: Disabled

====================================================
Thanks Ramguy for your help. Sorry for the problems which actually
were no problems ;-)

Cheers!

Last edited by b1z; 10-22-2007 at 09:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-13-2007, 11:55 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 312082
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1z View Post
I tried using the precompiled binary of memtest86+ booting from an USB stick.
It's always best to use a precompiled version. Glad to hear you are working fine and yes, that's a very good voltage for 800Mhz.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-16-2007, 04:58 PM
Levzi Levzi is offline
Registered User
Levzi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 121
POST ID # = 312569
Levzi Reputation: 10
Default

This was interesting reading, how do you get your Striker Extreme to boot from a USB stick ? All I see is removable, which is my floppy drive.

If I can run memtest off a USB stick would be a massive help, as the system hangs running it from a CD ROM (Not always but most of the time)

Did your system just hang, no BSOD, just literally freeze and only option was to power down ? And did it then hang again on POST ? DET DRAM in the LCD ? This could be the resolution im looking for. How stable is your system now ?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-16-2007, 06:59 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 312599
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

In the BIOS setup if the USB drive is in the system you will see the option under the Boot menu or in the USB menu to select the USB drive as a boot option with most ASUS MB's
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:45 PM
Levzi Levzi is offline
Registered User
Levzi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 121
POST ID # = 312609
Levzi Reputation: 10
Default

Right i'll be doing that, :)
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:55 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 312611
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP Please let us know if you have any more questions!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:11 PM
Levzi Levzi is offline
Registered User
Levzi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 121
POST ID # = 312614
Levzi Reputation: 10
Default

Although Biz is using 8 gig, im only on 4, am I ok to set those same values for the timings etc ?

I'll try it at 1.85 see if that helps, im currently using 1.9v
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-17-2007, 08:06 AM
b1z b1z is offline
Registered User
b1z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 312663
b1z Reputation: 10
Default

To boot from an USB drive with the A-SE you have to set the following:

In the boot priority list set Harddisk to the highest priority,
and the USB Stick / Drive is not under Removables but under Harddisk Drives along with real harddisks, you have to give it the higher priority.


I have another question, don't think I need another thread for it.
Just to get rid of every Auto-Detection this crappy Bios does,
what are the right settings for these advanced memory timings using the above-mentioned memory? I want to manually set everything memory related.

(If power fails, Asus' CRASHFREE Bios kicks in and sets everything to auto again,
so it won't boot anymore. This Bios just sucks...)

Quote:
Menu > Extreme Tweaker > Overclocking > Memory Timing Setting
tCL (CAS Latency): 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 15
Command Per Clock (CMD): 2

** Advanced Memory Settings **
tRRD: Auto
tRC: Auto
tWR: Auto
tWTR: Auto
tREF: Auto
tRD: Auto
tRFC: Auto
Async Latency: Auto
here is what I've found in the qualifying / testing thread, but its not all I need to know :-(

Quote:
Testing parameters for TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX:
Testing parameters for QUAD2X4096-6400C5DHX:
TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX Data Sheet
QUAD2X4096-6400C5DHX Data Sheet

Motherboard make and model: Asus M2N32-SLI Premium/Deluxe
Each pair is tested and packaged together using the following settings:
AI Over Clock Tuner: Manual
CPU External Frequency: Manually set to 200MHz/(266Mhz for Intel)
DDR2 SDRAM Clock: Manually set to 800MHz
PCI Express Freq: Auto
PCI Freq: 33.33
Performance Mode: User Define/Manual
DRAM Timing Selectable: Manual
SDRAM CAS Latency: 5T
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 5T
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 5T
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 15T
SDRAM Write Recovery Time: 5
Write to Precharge Delay: 15 (If it's Listed)
Command Rate: 2T
DDR2 SDRAM Voltage: 1.9
Advanced voltage control
CPU Vcore offset:_Disabled
DDR2 Termination: 0.5x
CPU to NB HT:____1.200V
NB to SB HT:_____AUTO
NB Core/PCI-E:___AUTO
SB Core/PCI-E:___AUTO
SB Standby core:_+1.500V
Output driver control
CKE:______AUTO
CS/ODT:__1.00X
ADD/CMD:_1.00X
MEMCLK:__1.00X
Chipset Core Voltage: Auto
All other settings are motherboard defaults.
Maximum DDR2 recommended VDIMM: 2.1 Volts
Please give me the remaining Auto settings :-)

Last edited by b1z; 10-17-2007 at 08:43 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.