The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 25 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 12-11-2004, 01:52 PM
m_pascar m_pascar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 160172
m_pascar Reputation: 10
Default

well, "F - me running".

This hole time it might have been my PSU. But I really like my Coolmax fanless power supply, its so silence. Does anyone know of another fanless PSU that will work for our systems?


System:
Windows XP Pro. SP2
Intel P4 3.6F (EM64T i.e... 64 bit)
Asus P5AD2 Premium (bios version 1008 and soon to be 1009)
Asus ATI X800 XT PE
Corsair TWIN2X1024-4300C3PRO (4 stick totaling 2gigs)
WD 36gig Raptors (2 of them using Intel Matrix Raid)
Zalman Reserator 1 (CPU and GPU liquid cooling)
Coolmax fanless PSU (480watts, 24 pin connector)
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:50 AM
Laser8302 Laser8302 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 160228
Laser8302 Reputation: 10
Default Stable system

I have had a simalar problem, but no stabitity issues when running my memory at 4300 speeds. The second I change my memory to run on the 600MHz bus, it crashes at POST. On top of it all, I can not access the hardware monitor in the mobos bios screen. I have tried very little overclocking, but to no avail. I think it is on Asus's end and they need to fix their bios before you RMA your memory. My system is as follows:

Asus P5AD2 Preimum bios 1009
Chaintech GeForce 6600GT
Pentium 550
Corsair TWIN2X1024-5400C4
Antec Neo Power 480W Power supply
250GB Maxtor SATA HD on IDE3
120GB Maxtor SATA HD on IDE4
TDK 48x24x48 CD-RW IDE1 slave
Pioneer A06 DVD+/-RW IDE1 master
Audigy 2 Plaitimum Pro
Mitsumi 3.5" Floppy
Koolance 601BLW case

the case reads 107 F, but Asus probe reads 111F
I have run 3Dmark05 sevreral times with no problems. Sandra 04 also has no problems.

Last edited by Laser8302; 12-12-2004 at 01:55 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 12-12-2004, 02:17 AM
JackNaylorPE JackNaylorPE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 160232
JackNaylorPE Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snek_one
i ordered 550w Antec PSU's with TruePower, if i have any problems i'll let you know.
Doesn't your MoBo has the 24 Pin Power Connector like the P5AD2-E that I have does, the Antec TruePower 550 won't match up. The plain TruePower has a 20 pin conenctor. I think you'll need the TruePower 550 Watt EPS12V or the Neopower 480.

Jack
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 12-12-2004, 02:48 AM
JackNaylorPE JackNaylorPE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 160233
JackNaylorPE Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_pascar
This hole time it might have been my PSU. But I really like my Coolmax fanless power supply, its so silence. Does anyone know of another fanless PSU that will work for our systems?
I never much trust what wattage it "says" it gets. Kinda like EPA mileage ratings <g>. The MoBo manaual should call out the minimum amps on each rail. For example, in the Asus P5DA2-E manual it says you can run everything off a 300 W power supply and says you will be OK as long as you can put 15 amps on the +12v rail . If memory serves, that's with twin IDE RAID, one sata drive, one scsi drive (2) CD's, a few odds and ends and an Asus 5750.

In reading various reviews on PS's , I often notice the reviewer give high marks to a 350 watter as compared to a 450 for the 350 putting out more amps where its needed.

I am gonna try and boot up a P5AD2-E tomorrow (P4-550, Asis EN6600GT) with an Antec SL350 and I'll see what happens.

here's some data:

P4-550/560 115w 9.6a +12v

nVidia 6800 Ultra 74 4.32 0.2a +3.3v 4.3a +5V
nVidia 5950 Ultra 73 2.7 5.6 5.2
nVidia 6800GT 57 3.0 0.2 4.0
ATI X800XT PE 65 3.3 2.7 3.3

Typical MoBo 24 0.3 3.0 2.0
Sound Card 5 0.0 0.5 0.5
SATA RAID 10 0.0 2.0 0.5
Hard Drive 9 - 13 0.7 0.0 0.7
DVD ROM / CD-RW 26 1.5 0.0 1.5
Fans 4 0.3 0.0 0.0

A system with a 550, 6800GT, twin HD's, and twin opticals, 4 fans outta top out at 3003 watts as long as the PS can reman stable at that level. The 12V rail oughta be at about 18.5. I am looking at about 257w and 15 amps on the box I'll fire up tomorrow....that is assuming I can get past any SATA only difficulties installing XP.

Jack
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 12-13-2004, 07:38 AM
oddlycalm oddlycalm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 160421
oddlycalm Reputation: 10
Exclamation The problem is the board, not the power supplies

Power supplies have an effect, but he early P5AD2 boards were buggy as a July picnic. I had two P5AD2 Premiums back in September and tried a several power supplies inlcuding a Antec TP380, Enermax Noisetaker ver2.0P 485, Fortron 480W and Antec TP550W. The one that worked best thogh was the Enermax EG701 600W. I got the board to where the only bug left was that it would boot uncommanded in response to network activity even though "boot on LAN" was disabled in BIOS.

The first P5AD2 went back and the second one would boot and go into bios fine, but it never even made it into Windows once. It too went back and I put in an Intel D925XCV and lived happily ever after, although without Firewire 800 and some other cool features. I have read numerous messages on forums from those having trouble, and was told that Asus revised the P4AD2 and that the new rev is working fine. If you are having trouble, make certain you determine if you have the most recent rev board. Very disappointing, best of luck to you all.

My final config with the Asus was:
P4 550
Asus P5AD2 Premium
1GB Corsair XMS2 5400 Pro
Asus X800 XT
WD 74GB Rapter
Maxtor 300GB Diamondmax 10
NEC 2510A
Enermax EG701 600W

oc
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 12-13-2004, 03:21 PM
JackNaylorPE JackNaylorPE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 160554
JackNaylorPE Reputation: 10
Default

I have the P5AD2-E up and running fine on a measley 350W PS. Of course it's a good one, according to Asus Manual, with more than 15v on the 12 volt rail (Antec 350Blue has 21). Voltages are

11.77 on 12 v
3.29 on 3.3 v
5.04 on 5 v

Not bad with house current down at 116.

Still concerened about temps which are 52C at idle and hit 70C under Prime 95. Intel coller just sucks....or better said doesn't suck enough air. I that respect sure wish I had a 4 bay (5.25) tower isntead of 3 as the Zalman 7700 misses fiitting by about 1/4 inch. It seems that:

1. Alum. heat sink on stock cooler don't suck enough heat of CPU and fan speed is too slow.

2. CPU cooler don't do squat for surrounding MoBo area. Some chip temps over 60 (using Laser Temp probe) .

I'm thinking of grabbing one of the 92 mm fan / mounts from Zalman that they use on their Series 6000 / 6500, mounting it off the card slot screws and blowing on the area.

jack
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:56 PM
gshfbk gshfbk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 161247
gshfbk Reputation: 10
Default

Was having stability problems with P5AD2 mobo. Replaced Thermaltake 560W Purepower supply with Enermax ATX 12V SFMA v.2.0 Noisetaker 485W PSU and now have stable system. My experience would seem to confirm possible compatibility issues with Thermaltake PSU's and ASUS P5AD2 mobo.

System:

ASUS P5AD2-Deluxe mobo(BIOS version 1006)
1GB DDR2 Corsair 5400 C4Pro RAM(twin2x-1024)
Zalman 7700-AlCu cooler
Intel P4 3.6 GHz cpu
2-WD Raptor 74 GB HDD
Lite-On 16x DVD ROM
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW
Teac 1.44 Floppy drive


CPU temps acceptable but still slightly higher than I would like, but dont think i can improve much on Zalman cooler without going to water cooling.
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 12-16-2004, 05:05 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 161248
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
CPU temps acceptable but still slightly higher than I would like, but dont think i can improve much on Zalman cooler without going to water cooling.
What are your temps like with that cooler? I may run a 775 soon and I like Zalmans. But, I am investigating many cooling options.

Thanks, Mike.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 12-16-2004, 09:46 PM
gshfbk gshfbk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 161281
gshfbk Reputation: 10
Default

Mike,

CPU core temp at 65 with full load. If you do decide on the Zalman 7700 cooler be sure it is compatible with your motherboard. These are big, but really sharp looking coolers. Zalman has a motherboard compatiblity table on their website that you can check-unfortunately, not all mobo's are listed. This cooler barely(literally by the width of a piece of printer paper) fit in my motherboard(ASUS P5AD2-Deluxe) and only because the Enermax PSU I have has a recessed metal fan bracket/cover.

You cannot have any motherboard component( as well as PSU/disk drive/RAM) with height of 39mm or greater within 68mm from the center of the CPU.

Gary
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 12-16-2004, 09:54 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 161282
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Thanks for the info. I actually went with an ABIT AA8 Duramax. I got a really good deal I could not pass up and I am going to stick some 5400s in it. But, I will apply the same ideas to shopping for ABIT cooling. As big as that Zalman is I will have to shop carefully.

Mike.
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 12-17-2004, 11:36 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 161370
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

If you are setting the memory Freq to 600 MHz that may be the issue. Please set the memory Freq to 533 and then over clock your CPU and see if the system is stable. And set the Dim Voltage to 1.9 Volts.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 12-22-2004, 09:39 AM
VX TheBear VX TheBear is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 162422
VX TheBear Reputation: 10
Default It lives!

I bought a 500 watt ultra x-connect power supply to replace my butterfly and my system is running beautifully. It's been a long 6 weeks without a computer but now I can enjoy it for the reason I bought it.

I'd just like to thank drheim for taking the time and the effort to send back parts and figure out what was wrong with his system; I can't imagine how annoying that must have been. Also, thanks to RamGuy and Corsair for helping out and providing a place for us to get tech support I only wish other companies did the same...

System Summary
Asus P5AD2 Premium Systemboard
Intel P4 3.4Ghz LGA775
Asus X800 XT PE Pci-Express video card
Ultra X-Connect 500watt Modular Power Supply
Corsair 5400 DDR2 XMS2 memory(CM2X512-5400C4)
1 10K SATA WD Raptor
Koolance Exos Liquid Cooling System
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 12-23-2004, 06:52 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 162786
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Well you are quite welcome, and thanks to drheim for taking the time to post his findings. This is what a forum is or should be for.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 12-25-2004, 01:11 PM
Josh Martin Josh Martin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 162940
Josh Martin Reputation: 10
Default

I had similar problems with random power-downs and reboots while using a Thermaltake 560w PSU. Following the advice of others here, I replaced it with an Ultra-X 500w PSU and haven't had a problem since. I think it's fair to say that the P5AD2 and Thermaltake PSUs are entirely incompatible.

I also would like to thank drheim for figuring this out. If you're ever in Dallas, send me an email and I'll buy you a drink.
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 01-06-2005, 09:23 PM
trav99ss trav99ss is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 165782
trav99ss Reputation: 10
Default

Big thanks drheim... this very problem had me pulling my hair out. I just replaced my Thermaltake 480W PSU with the Antec NeoPower 480W and everything works fine now. There definiately is a compatability problem. Wonder why these motherboard companies make such a secret of this stuff.

My current config that now works:

ASUS P5AD2-E Premium Motherboard
Intel 3.4Ghz Prescott
1 GB Corsair DDR2 Ram
Gigabyte Radeon X800 XT
Antec NeoPower 480W PSU
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Western Digital 74GB 10,000RPM Sata HD
Seagate Raptor 200GB 7,200RPM HD
Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers
Dual Dell 2005FPW 20.1 Widescreen Flatpanels
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.