The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-04-2004, 02:52 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 146877
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The link “I think I have a bad part!” will cover most of these questions, but once they are received we will ship new modules with in 24 hours usually by UPS 3 Day!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 10-06-2004, 07:27 AM
bwells46 bwells46 is offline
MPH, MSM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 147294
bwells46 Reputation: 10
Default

Ok - I have a friend who has a 875-based P4 system. He's going to test the memory on his system and, if it can't do 2-2-2-5-1T there, I'll know it's the memory because he currently has some Kingston RAM running at 2-2-2-5-1T.

Last edited by bwells46; 10-06-2004 at 07:29 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 10-06-2004, 12:42 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 147356
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please do let me know, but you will want to clear his bios before you start testing with our modules or at the least load setup defaults and then set the Dim Voltage to 2.8 Volts and set the timings manually!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 10-06-2004, 01:10 PM
bwells46 bwells46 is offline
MPH, MSM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 147364
bwells46 Reputation: 10
Default

When you test these modules at 2-2-2-5-1T at the factory, do you test them at 2.8V?
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 10-06-2004, 02:29 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 147398
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, if the MB does not support 2.75 Volts!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:09 AM
Zielm Zielm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 147593
Zielm Reputation: 10
Default Some help sorting out this issues

Reading on MSI forums I came across this thread:

http://forum.msi.com.tw/thread.php?threadid=62955

Hopefully it helps you sort out the compatibility issues with the Neo 2 plat and the corsair twinx XL's.


Z
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:55 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 147611
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

bwells46
Did you have a chance to test the modules on another system?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 10-07-2004, 12:29 PM
bwells46 bwells46 is offline
MPH, MSM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 147626
bwells46 Reputation: 10
Default

My friend is going to test them on his system tonight. I'm pretty sure one of the memory sticks is bad. One of them will run fine by itself at 2-2-2-5-1T but the other one generates errors at 2-2-2-5-1T.

I think that when these are tested on the 875P system, it will confirm my suspicions.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 10-07-2004, 12:31 PM
bwells46 bwells46 is offline
MPH, MSM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 147628
bwells46 Reputation: 10
Default

Zielm,

Thanks for the thread link! Unfortunatly, I've tried every possible safe combination of AGP, processor, and memory voltages. I think I've just got a bad pack of memory.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 10-07-2004, 12:32 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 147629
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

O.K. well if you do indeed find one is failing, or if you just want try replacing the modules, then please follow the link in my signature “I think I have a bad part!” and we will be happy to replace them or it!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 10-08-2004, 12:58 PM
bwells46 bwells46 is offline
MPH, MSM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 147784
bwells46 Reputation: 10
Default

Well, the memory failed the 2-2-2-5-1T test at 2.75V, 2.80V, and 2.85V on an i875P system. It's not stable at anything beyond 2-3-2-5-1T. I'll start the RMA process on Friday, October 15th.

Thank you for your assistance.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 10-08-2004, 01:24 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 147786
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please let us know how you make out! But that is not uncommon to find MB's that will not run at Cass 2-2-2-5!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:02 PM
bwells46 bwells46 is offline
MPH, MSM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 147861
bwells46 Reputation: 10
Default

I think you missed an earlier post of mine. I said he has Kingston memory running in dual channel at 2-2-2-5-1T. This TwinX Corsair stuff just can't handle 2-2-2-5-1T. One of the sticks works fine at this timing but the other one generates several hundred errors when run by itself.

I understand you test them at the factory at 2-2-2-5-1T but as someone with a Masters degree in Business Administration, I know it is virtually impossible, statistically speaking, to guarantee a 0% defect rate. I was just unlucky enough to get a defective module.

Do you think it would be better for me to hang on to the module that works at 2-2-2-5-1T and RMA the other or should I send in both modules and get a new TwinX set since this is what I paid for?

Again, thanks for your assistance and I will start the RMA process on Sunday, October 17th.

Last edited by bwells46; 10-08-2004 at 07:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:06 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 147862
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

O.K. no problem, please let me know!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:37 PM
bwells46 bwells46 is offline
MPH, MSM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 147866
bwells46 Reputation: 10
Default

Do you think it would be better for me to hang on to the module that works at 2-2-2-5-1T and RMA the other or should I send in both modules and get a new TwinX set?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.