The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:01 AM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990078
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default LNP and LL120 RGB Issues

Let me preface this by I've been searching for a couple hours trying to sort this out.

So, I'm having issues with ICUE not controlling my 4 LL120 Fans.

The fans work, they light up also. ICUE sees my LNP, ICUE also controls the RGB's on my Vengeance RAM.

Ive tried uninstall and reinstall, Ive tried using LINK, Ive tried manually installing and old firmware to the LNP and updating the unit to no avail. I also have USB Legacy Support and XHCI Handoff enabled in my BIOS.

Also a fresh install of windows as this was part of my rebuild project.

I've attached a photo of what my fans are doing as well as the ICUE program screen. They are just holding static random colors.

They are hooked up in sequence, the LNP is hooked to the fan hub, both units are hooked to the same run of SATA connectors.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190115_214149.jpg (2.46 MB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg screen.jpg (133.8 KB, 28 views)
File Type: png screen2.png (892.3 KB, 26 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:27 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,106
POST ID # = 990085
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

The rear looks like spiral rainbow. The rest ... not so much.
Is the rear on port 1? Have you tried rearranging them?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:29 AM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990086
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The rear looks like spiral rainbow. The rest ... not so much.
Is the rear on port 1? Have you tried rearranging them?
Ive tried rearranging them as well. So spiral, all the fans are just static with random colors. Rear fan is on number 4. Front fans are 1-3, top to bottom.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:37 AM
Corsair Jam Corsair Jam is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 137
POST ID # = 990090
Corsair Jam Reputation: 17
Default

Try hooking them up individually. Same results?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:38 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,106
POST ID # = 990091
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Well, that's not quite what I expected. Typically when 1 fan behaves and the rest don't, that fan is on port 1.
How much slack do you have on the cables? Outside of that, it may be necessary to exchange them.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-16-2019, 12:55 AM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990092
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Well, that's not quite what I expected. Typically when 1 fan behaves and the rest don't, that fan is on port 1.
How much slack do you have on the cables? Outside of that, it may be necessary to exchange them.
Plenty of slack on the main power cables and the RGB cables. Ive tried another fan I have in the box and still does the same thing. I reckon the LNP could be bad. I purchased the 3 fan kit plus two extra fans.


EDIT: No spiral on any fan, little typo on previous reply.

Last edited by LunaticConcepts; 01-16-2019 at 01:07 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-16-2019, 01:15 AM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990095
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default

Oh, also I tried two different USB headers.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-16-2019, 01:22 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,106
POST ID # = 990096
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LunaticConcepts View Post
Plenty of slack on the main power cables and the RGB cables. Ive tried another fan I have in the box and still does the same thing. I reckon the LNP could be bad. I purchased the 3 fan kit plus two extra fans.


EDIT: No spiral on any fan, little typo on previous reply.
mmm ... not sure that it's be the LNP or none of them would work correctly. It's odd that the last fan in the chain is the only one that works as the fans operate in series.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-16-2019, 01:39 AM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990097
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
mmm ... not sure that it's be the LNP or none of them would work correctly. It's odd that the last fan in the chain is the only one that works as the fans operate in series.
The last fan doesn't work, it just happens to be another combination of colors. Just to clarify none of the fans RGB functions change from the app. However the app will change the the Vengeance RGB's

Last edited by LunaticConcepts; 01-16-2019 at 01:41 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-16-2019, 01:49 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,106
POST ID # = 990099
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Hmmm ... ok then, perhaps it is the LNP. So if you put that last fan on the first fan hub port, it also goes wonky?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-16-2019, 01:55 AM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990100
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Hmmm ... ok then, perhaps it is the LNP. So if you put that last fan on the first fan hub port, it also goes wonky?
Thats correct.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-19-2019, 01:21 AM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990450
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default

Update, I purchased a commander pro(I want to add more corsair stuff in the future) and ICUE doesnt even detect the CP. USBDEVIEW sees Generic USB HUB when I unplug and plug it back in. I get the USB device sound from windows. I feel like I may have other issues but im stumped.

EDIT: I think I have terrible luck. Seems like my CP is DOA. It's not powering on. I plugged an extra fan into it and nothing. Odd thw windows would see it still. Still dont know why the LNP wont control my fans. Maybe all 5 of my fans are bad since they wont even default to the rainbow effect.

Last edited by LunaticConcepts; 01-19-2019 at 01:48 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-19-2019, 10:43 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,106
POST ID # = 990489
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

The CoPro shows up as two devices.
Question - how are you powering it? Molex to SATA adapter?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-19-2019, 02:15 PM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990518
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The CoPro shows up as two devices.
Question - how are you powering it? Molex to SATA adapter?
Straight SATA cable. No adapters.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-19-2019, 04:12 PM
LunaticConcepts LunaticConcepts is offline
Registered User
LunaticConcepts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 990534
LunaticConcepts Reputation: 10
Default

Si, I'm fairly certain I've got 5 bad fans and a bad copro. I picked up another 3 pack(on sale locally and wanted to add some more cooling) and I hooked them up and 2 of those three work. 1 popped immediately after plugging it in so only a couple of those leds work. This is highly frustrating. Pretty disappointed in Corsair products right about now.

However now with 2 of the good, properly function new fans plugged in to 1 & 2 of the hub, and the prior fans plugged in after that they only have 1 LED per fan lighting up.

I also confirmed my first LNP and Fan Hub works just fine.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.