The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46  
Old 12-11-2003, 04:22 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 92977
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

I have the same specs as you:
8KNXP rev.1
BIOS F8
P4 3.0Ghz
TWINX1024

I have my memory clock mulitplier at "Auto" and the BIOS sets it to 1.66. I have to set it manually to get it at 2.0, and when I set it to 2.0 the computer won't even boot. As of now I am running at SPD CAS timings, +.2v (because I have six modules), and 333Mhz; this is rock stable.

I tried increasing the system bus up from 200Mhz to 205Mhz, it boots, but wont go for long without crashing. Seems that this motherboard is very sensitive when the RAM goes even slightly over 333Mhz.
Reply With Quote


  #47  
Old 12-13-2003, 01:26 AM
Beaujames Beaujames is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 93313
Beaujames Reputation: 10
Default

when i tried the CAS timings they mentioned and the +2 voltage My system seemed to be stable, it booted fine and could run for hours without problems but when I played games it would crash after only a few minutes... changed the cas settings and the voltage to normal and ran memtest and let it do 11 full passes without error. I never tried memtest with the maual cas timings and voltage but I had this stup before i tried that and when it stopped working i was certain that that was causing the problem.

When I have my bios set to autodetect the memry speed it sets it to 400mhz, but as i think i said in my previous post it would reboot before windows could load.

you never said which ram you were using though. The part number helps. If we have the same memory model then on the same settings we *should* have the same stability. I reccomend trying the trying the auto cas latency it *should* be even more stable and the auto latency selects lower settings than the ones they reccomend, so there should also be a very small gain in preformance.

There are other differances that dont seem to make sense between our systems; you said auto detect selected 333mhz for you memory, mine selects 400. When i used the manual cas settings and +2 voltage my system was apparently stable until I ran games. You probobly have a different memory module than me, otherwise there *should* be no reason for it to be so different.

Last edited by Beaujames; 12-13-2003 at 01:51 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #48  
Old 12-23-2003, 08:18 PM
Harpo-74 Harpo-74 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 95205
Harpo-74 Reputation: 10
Question Memory Dramas?

OK I have a 8KNXP Ultra and some Corsair C2 3200Pro Ram.
I am currnetly using Bios F7.

My problem seems to be when running anything that puts excessive load on the system...

I get short busts of static from my speakers and if playing a game or running 3D Mark 2003 the animation skips at the same time.
This seems to happen at a set frequency or rate. About every 2 to 3 seconds.

Now I have run Memtest86 right through and no problems occure.

I am not Overclocking the system in any way.

With this memory there are the LED lights on each Dimm and what leads me to beleive that it is a memory problem is that the LED's flick off for a blink of a second at the same time I get the static and video skips.


My current timmings are 2 6 3 3.

Any help would be appreciated.
Also if anyone knows of a later Bios for the Ultra board please let me know.....


Thanks
Jeremey
Reply With Quote


  #49  
Old 12-24-2003, 12:27 PM
Beaujames Beaujames is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 95262
Beaujames Reputation: 10
Default

i have a similar problem with my 8knxp non ultra, my video does not skip but ever since I installed my agp card whenever i play games or even scroll with the mouse wheel I hear these low static sounds, not white noise. but is constant when i am playing games. I tried moving the cables and the surrond sound kit away from the video card as much as i could and I was unable to solve or even reduce the problem this way. Somehow the videocard is interfering with the signal. I bet if i had a weaker set of speakers i would not notice but with my 250 watt system it is easy to tell.
Reply With Quote


  #50  
Old 12-24-2003, 11:15 PM
Beaujames Beaujames is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 95309
Beaujames Reputation: 10
Default

I forgot to mention that whenever I am in 6 channel mode, and playing certain games (Neverwinter Nights, and Return to castle wolfenstein.) But not all (Halo, and homeworld 2 have no problems.) It will reboot after only a shot period of playing. for some reason it keeps forgetting to keep it on 6 channels and resets it to 2 and only because of that did i figure out the problem. I did not encounter this before I updated to F8 bios.
Reply With Quote


  #51  
Old 01-02-2004, 10:31 AM
ruudpel ruudpel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 96756
ruudpel Reputation: 10
Default

the gigabyte website is saying there are two versions of the GA-8KNXP

the Rev. 2.0 one, and the..eh..'normal' one i guess
does anybody know the difference?

i've only been able to find a difference in BIOS update identifications
Reply With Quote


  #52  
Old 01-02-2004, 09:28 PM
wingzero wingzero is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 96826
wingzero Reputation: 10
Default

Still running old F5 Bios on a 8KNXP rev 1.0 with DPS2 installed and two XMS3200 512MB modules in Dual Channel mode with no issues since last July.
I had some issues with some modules when I bought them and I had to get them exchanged for new ones.
I got two failing modules in a row, then the shop finally gave me another working module. MemTest86 3.0 tests passed correctly various times and they're still working so far, although I don't know if they'll pass next summer usual high temps..

Regarding currently sold 8KNXP boards they should all be PCB Rev. 2.0 and that's the reason why the GigaByte website reflects the difference. The newer revision probably adds some better components to better keep up with upcoming Prescott compatibility requirements.
If the manufacturer tells you that a Bios is meant for a specific PCB revision then you have to trust it and avoid installing the wrong Bios, it would be the same or worse than trying to use a Bios of a completely different motherboard on yours.

Latest 8KNXP Bios release should be F8 if I'm not wrong.
I'll soon upgrade and retest with newer Bios.

However after some weeks spent testing Corsair memory last summer (check my posts on these forums if they're still there for details) until having got another working module I learned that despite any compatibility issues that might still be there, if a Corsair XMS3200 is fully working then it has to give zero errors even at standard JEDEC settings with no overvolt under MemTest86 3.0. All my tests confirmed this, despite the known compatibility issues affecting some Corsair modules more than others with these boards.. the TWINX seem to have more issues than XMS ones.
Reply With Quote


  #53  
Old 01-04-2004, 07:49 PM
WoodDuck WoodDuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 97248
WoodDuck Reputation: 10
Default

Has anyone got any results with the F8 or F9 release BIOS updates from Gigabyte?

I have just flashed from F5 to F9 and am trialling now but, unfortunately, have discovered one of my paired TWINX-3200LL chips to be bad, so am in the process of replacing it.

I would also appreciate it if someone could also point me in the right direction as to how they are checking specific RAM CAS settings. Is it using the Gigabyte overclock utility supplied with the motherboard, or are there specific programs I should be grabbing???
Reply With Quote


  #54  
Old 01-04-2004, 09:05 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 97267
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

You can see/change the settings in the BIOS.

Hit CTRL+F1 to see the advanced settings.
Reply With Quote


  #55  
Old 01-12-2004, 06:22 AM
Donald24 Donald24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 98688
Donald24 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi folks,

I am wondering, if Gigabyte changed something in the newer revision regarding to the mem-ratios.

I currently waiting for the board to arrive, and I would like to oc my CPU with the 1.6 divider.

Though the mainboard PDF shows me the possibility of a 1.6 ratio (5:4), all folks here are talking about 1.66, what really would be a 5:6 and 5% less oc.

So the PDF is wrong, the 1.6 setting is really 1.666 on the 8KNXP? Or do revisions matter?

Don
Reply With Quote


  #56  
Old 01-12-2004, 04:25 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 98781
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

We (collectively talking about most of the people who have posted in this thread) have already contacted GB regarding the revision question.

The only difference between the revisions is the integrated sound card.
Reply With Quote


  #57  
Old 01-13-2004, 09:13 PM
delloite88 delloite88 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 99072
delloite88 Reputation: 10
Default 8KNXP & TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT

Just got the 8KNXP MB a few weeks ago and am trying my hand at first self built system.

Does anyone know if this supports registered memory? Is the Corsair TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT compatible with the 8KNXP? On startup is beeps and won't pass POST.

I pulled the above Corsair memory out and got the system to boot with a spare generic 512mb PC2100 I had around without any problems.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote


  #58  
Old 01-13-2004, 09:23 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 99074
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

No I dont believe it supports Registered or ECC memory.
Reply With Quote


  #59  
Old 01-13-2004, 09:44 PM
wingzero wingzero is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 99078
wingzero Reputation: 10
Default

8KNXP is based on i875 chipset so yes, it supports ECC memory modules.
I haven't checked i875 specs but I doubt it supports registered modules anyway. I think it can support non-registered ECC DDR modules only.
Reply With Quote


  #60  
Old 01-22-2004, 07:34 PM
DeathAdder DeathAdder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 100969
DeathAdder Reputation: 10
Sad Yet Another 8KNXP Issue...

System Specs:
PS: Enermax EG465P-VE (FCA) 430W (pretty sure)
CPU: Intel P4 3.2Ghz 800fsb HT
Memory: TWINX1024-3200LLPro (512x2)
Mobo: Gigabyte 8KNXP Rev 2.0 (Non-Ultra) DPS2 installed BIOS FG
Video: nVidia Geforce Ti4600 (soon to be a BFG 5950 Ultra)
Sound: SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ LiveDrive
HDs: 4xWD 30gig 7200Rpm ATA100 (IDE Raid 0+1)
NIC: On-board Intel Pro/1000 CT
Roms: 2x Lite-On CDRW(48x and 52x Masters on IDE 1 and 2)
Floppy: Generic
Misc: DigitalDoc5 Fan Controller

No Overclocking attempted or required.
Underclocking is unacceptable.

BIOS Settings: Reset everything to Optimized defaults, configured the IDE RAID - anything I'm not using is disabled (IE: COM Ports, LPT Port, SATA, USB 2.0 etc). Fresh WinXP Pro SP1 install. Latest and greatest drivers/updates for everything listed above.

For the most part, the system seems fairly stable, however:
Problem: Running MemTest86 v3.0
Mem stick 1 in slot1,2,3,4,5,6 tested ok
Mem stick 2 in slot 1,2,3,4,5,6 test 5 failed
Mem stick 1 slot 1,2,3 Mem stick 2 in slot 3,4,5 test 5 failed
Mem stick 2 slot 1,2,3 Mem stick 1 in slot 3,4,5 tests ok

MemTest86 reporting 1024Meg RAM @ 2563MB/s
Sandra SiSoft results attached (a little low?)
3dMark03 results, under 2000pts (horrible IMO)

I did a forum search for 8knxp and read every thread, saw multiple suggestions for different timings and voltages. There were so many suggestions and options, it's almost impossible to test them all without going crazy and ripping out the rest of my hair.

I know it's been mentioned that the 8KNXP is known for issues with the Corsair Memory.

My Questions:
1> Do you recommend a different memory config for this system? Maybe a different Corsair set or a different manufacture all together?
2> Since the one memory stick showed continuous failures, should I have the set RMA'd?
2a> If yes to the RMA - Would you suggest going via Corsair or NewEgg (if I can)?
3> What exactly is that "Top Performance" option in the advanced BIOS settings?
4> Also in the advanced BIOS settings is an option for: CIA: Cruse;Full Throttle;Turbo; etc... what is this, exactly?

I do not have another system qualified to test the memory in, nor do I have any other memory to test in this system.

I selected Corsair b/c I know their name and know their quality. I particularly liked this set of memory b/c of the black heat sinks and LED indicators (looks nice with the window kit and blue LED fans). I chose the 8KNXP simply b/c it has all the features I require, mainly the IDE Raid (0+1) and I liked the idea of the DPS2 6-phase power system. At the time of purchase, the only other option was a Soyo Dragon something or other, and according is multiple test sites, the 8KNXP out performed the Soyo board in all tests.

Performance and stability are a must... instability and BSOD are not optional. I do this work for a living and deal with enough of this crap at work, I don't not need to bring these issues home with me.

System operation includes intense gaming, heavy graphics work, image editing, and web site design...

Feel free to PM me, e-mail me directly or reply to this thread. Thanks for you time.
Attached Files
File Type: txt deathadder_sisoft.txt (1.6 KB, 165 views)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair XMS Compatibility with ASUS K8V Deluxe XaypocK Memory 1 05-27-2004 04:09 PM
Corsair XMS Memory Chip List mfjonny Overclocking and Benchmarking 2 02-26-2004 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.