The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2016, 07:48 AM
HonorBound HonorBound is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 863198
HonorBound Reputation: 10
Default Problems with New LED Vengenance

Posting here because I don't know how to proceed.

I have put together an X99 system using the Vengeance LED RAM. I picked out a 4x16gb kit. Part no. CMU64GX4M4A2666C16.

The system went together with no issues. After 2 days the system refused to post with one of the 4 RAM modules in. Removing the module allowed me to continue with 3, until the next day when a second stick died.

I then began an RMA process with Corsair, as they currently did not have any in stock to send me, I returned the RAM to NewEgg for an identical Quad Channel kit.

I got replacement kit on 7/18. First stick died yesterday on the replacement kit after some light gaming and a reboot. Second stick dies shortly after.

I do not know what is causing this issue, and I find it hard to believe that two sticks in both kits have gone faulty.

So do I RMA with Corsair? Return to Newegg again for another kit? Return the Motherboard? PSU? Just don't know where to go here.

Some more info:
Doesn't seem to care whether XMP is on or off I have had sticks go both ways.

Hardware:
GA-X99-Gaming-Ultra
i7-6800k
AX1200i Power Supply

I do have a small overclock on the CPU, but RAM doesn't post whether it is overclocked or not.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-20-2016, 10:28 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 552
POST ID # = 863217
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonorBound View Post
Posting here because I don't know how to proceed.

I have put together an X99 system using the Vengeance LED RAM. I picked out a 4x16gb kit. Part no. CMU64GX4M4A2666C16.

The system went together with no issues. After 2 days the system refused to post with one of the 4 RAM modules in. Removing the module allowed me to continue with 3, until the next day when a second stick died.

I then began an RMA process with Corsair, as they currently did not have any in stock to send me, I returned the RAM to NewEgg for an identical Quad Channel kit.

I got replacement kit on 7/18. First stick died yesterday on the replacement kit after some light gaming and a reboot. Second stick dies shortly after.

I do not know what is causing this issue, and I find it hard to believe that two sticks in both kits have gone faulty.

So do I RMA with Corsair? Return to Newegg again for another kit? Return the Motherboard? PSU? Just don't know where to go here.

Some more info:
Doesn't seem to care whether XMP is on or off I have had sticks go both ways.

Hardware:
GA-X99-Gaming-Ultra
i7-6800k
AX1200i Power Supply

I do have a small overclock on the CPU, but RAM doesn't post whether it is overclocked or not.
Are the sticks that are dying on the same slots? From what you've described this is looking like a motherboard issue.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-20-2016, 11:06 AM
HonorBound HonorBound is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 863222
HonorBound Reputation: 10
Default

It has been different slots every time.

One other thing I have noticed, I don't know if this is related or not, but usually right before one of the sticks went bad I would notice that the LED pulse effect would start going really slow.

I would then reboot, and soon after I would have problems with the build posting.

I have a ticket opened with Gigabyte, the board shows compatibility with 2666 mhz memory and with similar timings.

BIOS shows DRAM voltage as 1.22v but cpu-z says voltage for that xmp profile should be 1.20v. I tried setting the voltage manually to 1.20v but still shows 1.22.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-20-2016, 11:40 AM
HonorBound HonorBound is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 863225
HonorBound Reputation: 10
Default

I am returning both the board and RAM. Will try with a new board in a week or so when it gets here.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-21-2016, 10:43 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 552
POST ID # = 863369
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonorBound View Post
I am returning both the board and RAM. Will try with a new board in a week or so when it gets here.
Keep me updated. Are you going with the same board?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-21-2016, 11:47 AM
HonorBound HonorBound is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 863376
HonorBound Reputation: 10
Default

I am getting the same model board. I actually really like the bios and the performance was great, when it was working properly. I just can't overlook that it destroyed two ram kits in less than two weeks, so hopefully it was just a bad board.

FedEx picked up the stuff today, has to go to California than 2-5 days processing on the replacement.

Might not hear back from me for a bit, but I will keep this updated.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-29-2016, 10:39 AM
HonorBound HonorBound is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 864713
HonorBound Reputation: 10
Default

Okay here is an update.

Decided not to go with the same board, but instead went with the

GA-X99-Designare EX (rev. 1.0), another new X99 board that supports broadwell-e out of the box.

System is up and running with the same memory kit as before (my 3rd one).

i7-6800k oc'd to 4.1 ghz at 1.276 vcore
Ram is at 2666 mhz and timings are set manually (don't think xmp support on this board is great yet.

One thing I noticed is that with auto voltage on the DRAM they were bouncing between 1.210 v and 1.221v and sometimes would not be the same voltage.

I went into DRAM voltage settings and even though i set 1.200v manually on both channel it was the same as auto bouncing between 1.21 and 1.22. So I lowered it until the bios properly read 1.200v.

Gamed quite a bit last night everything seems stable, one thing has been bothering me though. This has happened on all the LED vengeance kits that I have had including the two that I burned up already. They all seem to pulse fine in bios, and at the windows login screen, but occasionally sometimes after login, sometimes after a moderate work load, the lighting effects malfunction. Usually one stick or another, they start to pulse VERY slow. I have uploaded this video. Take a Look. The Right most RAM stick lights up at 37 secs, and then does not shut off the led until 2:45 secs. I have found that power cycling the system will sometimes get rid of this, until it happens again.

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-29-2016, 03:03 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,489
POST ID # = 864771
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

It's fairly normal to see some voltage fluctuation on the two AB and CD sides of memory bank. My X99 does this as well across three different kits and two boards as measured by AIDA. Whether or not the fluctuations are really so dramatic and whether the reading is that precise is another matter. Voltage is never completely static anyway. I also see a 0.01 variance for the memory voltage and it has not been an obstacle. I suspect it would only become an issue when using XMP, with a pre-assigned voltage that was just barely enough to be stable. Yours is on the plus side, so if it really is that precise, you would be on the safe zone anyway.

Last edited by c-attack; 07-29-2016 at 03:05 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-07-2016, 03:39 PM
bevgar bevgar is offline
Registered User
bevgar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 866100
bevgar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonorBound View Post
Okay here is an update.

Decided not to go with the same board, but instead went with the

GA-X99-Designare EX (rev. 1.0), another new X99 board that supports broadwell-e out of the box.

System is up and running with the same memory kit as before (my 3rd one).

i7-6800k oc'd to 4.1 ghz at 1.276 vcore
Ram is at 2666 mhz and timings are set manually (don't think xmp support on this board is great yet.

One thing I noticed is that with auto voltage on the DRAM they were bouncing between 1.210 v and 1.221v and sometimes would not be the same voltage.

I went into DRAM voltage settings and even though i set 1.200v manually on both channel it was the same as auto bouncing between 1.21 and 1.22. So I lowered it until the bios properly read 1.200v.

Gamed quite a bit last night everything seems stable, one thing has been bothering me though. This has happened on all the LED vengeance kits that I have had including the two that I burned up already. They all seem to pulse fine in bios, and at the windows login screen, but occasionally sometimes after login, sometimes after a moderate work load, the lighting effects malfunction. Usually one stick or another, they start to pulse VERY slow. I have uploaded this video. Take a Look. The Right most RAM stick lights up at 37 secs, and then does not shut off the led until 2:45 secs. I have found that power cycling the system will sometimes get rid of this, until it happens again.

https://youtu.be/rA0ZKr1s-z8
I just want to mention I'm having the same issue. With the very slow pulsate, I'm running 4x8GB 32GB kit. With XMP turned on in BIOS, the stick in slot DIMM A1 would have this issue. Turned off XMP reboot, stick in A1 would pulsate correctly, however, stick in DIMM C1 would pulsate extremely slow eventually not even light up anymore.

I'm not sure if I should RMA the memory or if there might be a fix down the road with managing the LED with corsair link or some other method? Sounds like this is happening to a lot of kits?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-09-2016, 02:57 PM
babovand babovand is offline
Registered User
babovand's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 866364
babovand Reputation: 10
Default

Im experiencing same problem with the LED's as the Video posted above. Also two of my four sticks died, Not showing up in UEFI, but will make a new thread about it.

Last edited by babovand; 08-09-2016 at 03:43 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-09-2016, 09:08 PM
Qqu Qqu is offline
Registered User
Qqu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 102
POST ID # = 866427
Qqu Reputation: 10
Default

Yep, that is exactly what one of my sticks is doing...
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 08-11-2016, 04:10 PM
HonorBound HonorBound is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 866740
HonorBound Reputation: 10
Default

Ya still having this issue. It is intermittent. Sometimes the pulse effects work properly, other times it acts like the video.

Are any of you having the same issue using gigabyte mobos?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-12-2016, 03:26 PM
babovand babovand is offline
Registered User
babovand's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 866925
babovand Reputation: 10
Default

Same issues, But Asus X99 Deluxe II
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-12-2016, 04:29 PM
V84x4 V84x4 is offline
Registered User
V84x4's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 866937
V84x4 Reputation: 10
Default

Same Issue on EVGA Micro 2 X99

Any fixes for this yet????



Regards, Rick
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-12-2016, 06:35 PM
Qqu Qqu is offline
Registered User
Qqu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 102
POST ID # = 866957
Qqu Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonorBound View Post
Ya still having this issue. It is intermittent. Sometimes the pulse effects work properly, other times it acts like the video.

Are any of you having the same issue using gigabyte mobos?
Same issue in Asus Rampage Edition 10 and now with 2 sticks.... I want them to be on all the time so hoping for lighting modes to be released soon but it seems there is an issue with the LED controller so these may have to go back.... Disappointing Corsair hasn't kept up with this thread and offered some kind of update as many seem to be having same issue.

Last edited by Qqu; 08-12-2016 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.