The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2015, 09:28 AM
Parawhoar Parawhoar is offline
Registered User
Parawhoar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 817312
Parawhoar Reputation: 10
Sad H100i GTX isn't detected by LINK or Device Manager

Hello folks, I write on this forum so maybe you guys have a solution to my problem. Yesterday I bought a H100i GTX and the installation was easy as pie. As soon as I installed it I booted my pc and installed LINK and everything was wonderful, the device was detected and I could control the fans and led color.

However today I woke up and the device isn't detected anymore. I tried everything: Booting in safe mode, reinstalling Link, reinstalling an older version, testing compatibility mode... nothing works. My motherboard is a Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7 if that helps.

The cooler works perfectly, rocking a ~20ºC idle and the led glows but Corsair Link only shows the other devices/fans excepting the AIO liquid cooler.

Thanks for your support.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-31-2015, 10:47 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 817321
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Is a Corsair Hydro Series 7289 USB Device listed in the USB section of Device Manager?

How is the CPU_FAN configured in the BIOS? It needs to be set such that a constant +12 is delivered to the CPU_FAN header. Looking at page 53 I expect you need to set "Full Speed Allows the fan to run at full speeds."
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-31-2015, 11:22 AM
Parawhoar Parawhoar is offline
Registered User
Parawhoar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 817325
Parawhoar Reputation: 10
Default

It's not listed. It actually shows a "Unknown USB Device (request error device descriptor)"

Here are some of my BIOS config screenshots: http://imgur.com/a/oVL9t

Let me know if I can do something, thanks for your answer.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-31-2015, 06:25 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 817364
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Try changing the setting to full speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parawhoar View Post
Let me know if I can do something, thanks for your answer.
Try changing the setting from normal to full speed.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-31-2015, 09:10 PM
Parawhoar Parawhoar is offline
Registered User
Parawhoar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 817378
Parawhoar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Try changing the setting from normal to full speed.
No luck. I also formatted my pc this evening and it now appears on Device Manager but no way to get it detected by Corsair Link...
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-01-2015, 03:12 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 817405
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Post a screen shot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parawhoar View Post
No luck. I also formatted my pc this evening and it now appears on Device Manager but no way to get it detected by Corsair Link...
Is there a Yellow Triangle in device manager? If so and you Right/Clock and look at the properties what does it report? Post a screen shot.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-01-2015, 05:57 AM
Parawhoar Parawhoar is offline
Registered User
Parawhoar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 817416
Parawhoar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Is there a Yellow Triangle in device manager? If so and you Right/Clock and look at the properties what does it report? Post a screen shot.
I woke up right now and it isn't there anymore. Not even in hidden devices. I'm turning crazy

Corsair support accepted me to RMA it but I can't, I need this PC for study reasons this month or these two months and I don't have another cooler nearby (i5 6600k came without cooler)... I guess the logo will be staying white for all his life, lol.

Edit: I have a heartbeat that it's going to be a defective cable. I will get a new one and try my luck.
Edit 2: I connected a photo camera to the same cable that the h100i has and the PC detected it... it seems I have a faulty unit... or it's a windows 10 issue.

Last edited by Parawhoar; 11-01-2015 at 06:14 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-01-2015, 06:22 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 817419
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Devmgr_Show_Nonpresent_Devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parawhoar View Post
I woke up right now and it isn't there anymore. Not even in hidden devices. I'm turning crazy
Did you define Devmgr_Show_Nonpresent_Devices? See https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

There should be an express RMA option so they send the new cooler and when you get it return the old one.

Last edited by red-ray; 11-01-2015 at 06:24 AM. Reason: express RMA
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-01-2015, 08:33 AM
Parawhoar Parawhoar is offline
Registered User
Parawhoar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 817427
Parawhoar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Did you define Devmgr_Show_Nonpresent_Devices? See https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

There should be an express RMA option so they send the new cooler and when you get it return the old one.
Nothing. I can't still see the device there. I noticed that the mini-usb port in the cooler is kind of loose. After all, I believe it's a faulty unit.

I got offered that kind of express RMA by Amazon (the place where I got it). I receive the new one in about three days.

Thank you a lot for your support, pal. Very appreciated.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair link, gtx, h100i, undetected

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.