The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2013, 04:55 PM
400r 400r is offline
Registered User
400r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 634999
400r Reputation: 10
Default 2 LED intake fans 400R..

hello!

I am a novice builder, building my first computer using the 400r as my case.

I have noticed that the 2 front panel 120mm LED intake fans are connected together from a 3 pin connector to the front control panel of the 400r (presumably to give control to the switch that turns the LED's on/off) and then out to a molex connector.

Can these fans only be connected directly to the PSU via molex and run on full speed?

I am wondering wether running these fans on full speed will be noisey and would it be better to run them off my motherboard so they can be controlled via the bios?

If i was to unplug the 3 pin connections and run them straight to my motherboard, would they then be controlled via bios and would the LED's still turn on? (obviously they would be constantly on as there is no switch anymore)

My motherboard (when i buy it) will be Asus P8Z77-V PRO.

I will have 2 extract fans, and 3 intake fans and one CPU cooler, however this is 1 fan over the 5 fan slots i have on the board...

Thanks for any help!!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-20-2013, 06:36 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 635175
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
Can these fans only be connected directly to the PSU via molex and run on full speed?
Sure, they are just a standard fan connector .so you would need a molex to 3 pin fan adapter.
Yes, you can control them with the MB and yes the LEDS will be on all the time.
Quote:
I will have 2 extract fans, and 3 intake fans and one CPU cooler, however this is 1 fan over the 5 fan slots i have on the board...
You can run more than one fan off of a Mb header. You would just need to use splitters.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-20-2013, 03:17 PM
400r 400r is offline
Registered User
400r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 635251
400r Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply!

Is there not a maximum voltage that the MB can supply to each fan connection?

Say 5V for instance, just so i dont overload a fan connection with the draw of more than 1 fan

Sorry if there obvious questions, just dont want to ruin anything!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-20-2013, 04:51 PM
G50EED's Avatar
G50EED G50EED is offline
Registered User
G50EED's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 339
POST ID # = 635279
G50EED Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
Sure, they are just a standard fan connector.
Well my 500R fans are definitely not a standard connector so unless the 400R is different they will not plug into a normal fan header.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.