The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2010, 12:51 PM
529th 529th is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 445449
529th Reputation: 10
Default 800D needs SATA 3 hot swap...

I am considering a C300 SATA III SSD card for my 800D to use in my hot swap bay. I just read on New Egg that the hot swap bay is SATA II.

It looks like the parts can be updated for the hot swap bays.

Corsair, will yo be making replacement parts for the SATA II brackets so we can update them to SATA III

Thanks,

529th
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-29-2010, 02:30 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 445720
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Currently the hot swap backplanes would not be compatible with SATA III. Unfortunately I have not heard of any plans to update the backplanes. You can still use the drives in the hot swap bays, but you may need to remove the backplane, making a hotswap a little less convenient.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-08-2010, 01:04 PM
00011011 00011011 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 446945
00011011 Reputation: 10
Default

I just designed "2" liquid cooled i7-980X computers (totaling $9,600) using this chassis, but now I'm holding until I get more info from Corsair on this; or until I become impatient and go with the Thermaltake Armor + LCS or another instead. I already bought the CPUs too... so I don't think I will be able to last that long...

Is there any ballpark time frame? I would have to assume that its in the works, so could you atleast guesstimate for us... 1 month, 3 months, never...?

Last edited by 00011011; 04-08-2010 at 01:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-08-2010, 07:54 PM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 429
POST ID # = 447017
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00011011 View Post
I just designed "2" liquid cooled i7-980X computers (totaling $9,600) using this chassis, but now I'm holding until I get more info from Corsair on this; or until I become impatient and go with the Thermaltake Armor + LCS or another instead. I already bought the CPUs too... so I don't think I will be able to last that long...

Is there any ballpark time frame? I would have to assume that its in the works, so could you atleast guesstimate for us... 1 month, 3 months, never...?
Hey, binary guy. I can sympathize with your request for information, but no vendor can give you that sort of information, at least no responsible employee would do that. There is nothing worse from a business viewpoint than "pre-announcing" a product. Great way to (1) dry up sales of the existing product and (2) tip off the competition.

There is even a term for this sort of thing: "Osborne effect" Look it up on Google. Hate to say that I remember when this happened. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Osborne_effect
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-09-2010, 11:12 AM
jmn2519 jmn2519 is offline
Registered User
jmn2519's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 447081
jmn2519 Reputation: 10
Default

Here's the deal. If I'm going to plop down $300.00 for a case I want it to last for like five years. For the most part the 800D is pretty much future proof. The exception here is the backplane. This is a red flag and I won't buy until it is addressed.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-10-2010, 11:36 PM
curlysir curlysir is offline
Registered User
curlysir's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 218
POST ID # = 450682
curlysir Reputation: 10
Default

Sata III is here and there needs to be a way to update these backplanes at a nominal cost. I too plan to keep this case for quiet some time and I already have the need for SATA III with a SSD. For now I will mount it in the lower bays. NOT a good decision not to support SATA III.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-14-2010, 06:13 PM
Zone55555 Zone55555 is offline
Registered User
Zone55555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 451099
Zone55555 Reputation: 10
Default

Add me to the list of 800D owners both ready and willing to shell over some cash for some SATAIII compatible backplane replacements.

I'm not looking for a handout guys, I realize the costs involved. I'm quite willing to pay for upgraded backplanes as an optional replacement item.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-17-2010, 03:37 PM
wshinds wshinds is offline
Registered User
wshinds's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario - But I am American, damnit!
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 451340
wshinds Reputation: 10
Default

Same. Own a 800d, and a slew of corsair SSDs and a newer, SATA 3.0 SSD. Had to remove backplane. Fine with that. Though I also plan to have the PC for a few years.

// Signed //
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-25-2010, 02:02 PM
john_d john_d is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 452204
john_d Reputation: 10
Default

Corsair advertizes the 800D as a "great" case. No way is it any where near great without SATA 3 support in the hot swap bay. SATA 3 is now and I hope Corsair will fully support it soon.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-25-2010, 09:33 PM
hmz hmz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 452256
hmz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmn2519 View Post
Here's the deal. If I'm going to plop down $300.00 for a case I want it to last for like five years. For the most part the 800D is pretty much future proof. The exception here is the backplane. This is a red flag and I won't buy until it is addressed.
I agree, if one does a purchase of $300-$400 case one would like it to last for a few years.

I also just want to add, USB 3.0 ports. Currently the 700/800D cases have USB 2.0 ports in the front not 3.0 ports.

I would like if it would be possible to buy an "upgraded" front part for USB 3.0

I recon with Sata III and USB 3, the two cases = WIN
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-26-2010, 12:07 PM
Gixbit Gixbit is offline
Registered User
Gixbit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 452317
Gixbit Reputation: 10
Default

I agree. This case is missing Sata 3 and USB 3.

Its too bad though because it's going to be short lived when Sata 3 and USB 3 really start reaching mainstream. USB 3 way before that. But, Sata 3 will be there.

It's too bad too because I would definitely put $300 down on this case if it werent for that.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-26-2010, 01:33 PM
DBoone DBoone is offline
Registered User
DBoone's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 452331
DBoone Reputation: 10
Default

It is a great case even with the backplane limitation. I'm confident Corsair will work something out on that for us. In the meantime I can install the SATA III drives in the lower hard drive cage.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-24-2011, 02:30 PM
tgdragos tgdragos is offline
Registered User
tgdragos's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 503847
tgdragos Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBoone View Post
It is a great case even with the backplane limitation. I'm confident Corsair will work something out on that for us. In the meantime I can install the SATA III drives in the lower hard drive cage.
i was "lucky" i guess , my case shiped with the new hotswap backplate.
But i still can't figure out what was the problem with the old one?
The cables didn't change, the connectors didn't change,same power connector, only the interface changed...(mobo's job anyway...)
What could have been the problem connectig the cables from the hot swap backplate to the mobo's sata3 data connectors?

maybe i don't understand exactly what a "hot swap" is...tehnicaly.

what was done differently this time with the new back plate?

Except the physical differences...
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-26-2011, 12:32 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 504245
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

All of the cases manufactured since about December of last year will be USB3 and S-ATA3 compatible, if you have an older case you can order the upgrade kit form the on-line store off of the web site.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.